We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OOOZZZIIINNNGGG Golden Bay Character”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Sandcastle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Sandcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Nelson
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“OOOZZZIIINNNGGG Golden Bay Character”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

These charming beach cottages - contain everything a small family or couple need to kick back, relax and inhale the unique Golden Bay environment and culture. Each cottage/batch is fully self-contained with kitchens, bathrooms and plenty of living area. They are well maintained, clean and bright. The sandcastle is located within walking distance of lovely Pohara beach and its village - with a couple of lovely cafes and restaurants.

The spa and sauna are functional - but probably quite old and dated. Lovely however to enjoy onsite..

The hosts were extremely friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rubybayNelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    24
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
34
30
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Greetings one and all. We had the pleasure of staying at The Sandcasle over Easter 2013. The accommadation was clean, the views are outstanding and the location is excellent. We enjoyed the use of the pizza oven to entertain friends with great results. We were a group of four and found the price to be very reasonable. This area is a jewel, also home to a bit of a micro climate. As we basked in sunshine, the western side (Collingwood area) had rain !! We went for the rock climbing available locally. Being sea cliff climbing, the atmaosphere is sublime. Thanks to Steve and the staff for an excellent holiday. Regards, Simon Courtois

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simonc934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

Steve at the Sandcastle took care of us completely. The cabins are spotless clean and contain everything that you need. There is wi fi and our cabin had a kitchen which was perfect for us. The cabins are nestled in the midst of mountains behind and ocean in front. The beach is about a 5 or 10 minute walk away and we could see the water from our cabin window. There is a wood burning pizza over there and Steve shared some amazing wood fired pizzas with us. The vibe is super friendly and peaceful. There are plenty of walks that you can go on and it is easy to lie in the sun or go for a swim at high tide. We needed some time to get away and rest, and it was perfect for us. It is the kind of place that you can take your partner and have a romantic time or bring your family and have some quality time together. The staff are so friendly and helpful. Golden Bay is such a beautiful spot. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there in every way. I highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AC649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

We have stayed many times over several years. Every time has been wonderful.It's a beautiful peaceful place, clean and cozy chalets, friendly and helpful staff. Sitting on the deck, looking out to sea and listening to the bird song, it's wonderful!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 539MarkP539
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

Thanks Steve for providing such a wonderful venue for our waka ama paddling weekend. The pizza oven provided a great communal focus for the Friday evening and it was uphill from there. Really well equipped - even has large plunger for coffee!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4CherieJ4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed at the Sandcastle in Pohara for 2 nights of the 5 nights we were in Golden Bay. We loved it! On our second night we decided to make pizza in the Outside wood fire stone pizza oven. The host heated the outside stone pizza oven up for a few hours before and he made pizza dough and offered us fresh tomatoes from his garden. Delicious.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kristy a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Lovely location in a sheltered rural setting about a 5-10 minute walk to the main beach at Pohara. The best thing is that you can take your dog which was brilliant. The pizza oven is a nice touch when you are on holiday but we were there for only one night and did not use it. Unfortunately the place could do with a proper clean and removal of mould in bathroom and around window ledges. We would stay here again if they improved the cleanness of the cabin because we can take the dog.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiwi-choc-a-holic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pohara
7.9 mi away
Awaroa Lodge
Awaroa Lodge
#2 of 2 in Abel Tasman National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ratanui Lodge
Ratanui Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pohara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
12.3 mi away
Adrift in Golden Bay
Adrift in Golden Bay
#1 of 4 in Takaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pohara Beach Top 10 Holiday Park
0.6 mi away
Sans Souci Inn
Sans Souci Inn
#1 of 5 in Pohara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pohara Beachfront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sandcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sandcastle

Property: The Sandcastle
Address: 32 Haile Lane, Pohara, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Golden Bay > Pohara
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Pohara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sandcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sandcastle holiday accommodation is perfect for couples and families wanting to get away from the crowds. We offer six fully self-contained cottages that are serviced daily. Each cottage has its own private deck and is set in two hectares of tranquil gardens. They overlook the sea which is a pleasant five minutes walk away. The Sandcastle's many extra features include our popular spa and sauna complex, a wood-fired pizza oven and BBQ area, and a hall where children can play table tennis or watch a movie on wet days. There is no extra charge for any of the above activities. We can deliver a delicious breakfast, mostly sourced from our organic gardens, direct to your cottage. We want your stay to be excellent value and unlimited wi fi is also free of charge. There are also yoga classes in our hall twice a week and we have our own purpose-built massage room where various treatments are available from experienced therapists. The Sandcastle is one of the closest holiday accommodation options to the beautiful, northern end of the Abel Tasman National Park. Golden Bay has many gorgeous beaches, walks and other attractions and we are happy to point you in the right direction to make your stay as enjoyable as possible.Our reception is open 24hrs for any questions you may have about The Sandcastle or Golden Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Sandcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sandcastle Pohara, New Zealand - Golden Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing