We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing last minute cancellation”
Review of The Bay Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Bay Lodge
Ranked #2 of 5 Pohara B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Disappointing last minute cancellation”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Just a word of warning that owners of this property have cancelled my reservation last minute even though I have booked it online (received a confirmation) and was exchanging emails with them on details of my arrival, etc. I think they received more attractive bookings some time after I booked. It was a great disappointment and inconvenience for me last minute. Just be aware it may happen to you too.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HappyAussieGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    2
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
46
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Shardlow, null, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We stayed at the Bay Lodge in early March 2013 as part of our tour around New Zealand. We paid somewhat more than we usually pay for accommodation, but never has the old adage 'You get what you pay for' been more apt. Bay Lodge is simply fantastic, our only complaint was that we had to leave.
It's the little things that make it so special. A personal welcome when you arrive with your first names on a chalkboard at the entrance with a welcome, fresh flowers in the bathroom, chocolates and a card on your pillow & perfect hosts in Filip & Sonja.
Then there is the standard of the apartment, without doubt the best we have had in NZ. Ultra modern, spotlessly clean, large TV, surround sound music system, what more could you ask for.
Additionally, you have your own private decking verandah, with views to die for, the sunsets are fantastic.
Do yourself a favour, if you are touring this area, treat yourself, you wont regret it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
1 review
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at The Bay Lodge for our honeymoon in January 2013 for 3 nights. The hosts Filip & Sonja were lovely, caring, and extremely welcoming. Our experience was cultural, relaxing and educational. As part of the package, we enjoyed a 5 course gourmet dinner including a hearty BBQ and fresh local produce from Golden Bay, delicious cooked breakfasts 2 mornings and a fantastic continental breakfast while overlooking the picturesque views of Golden Bay. The Bay Lodge is located within close proximity to the Abel Tasman walk which we were lucky enough to spend a day exploring. We were also treated with a guided full day tour of Golden Bay which included a delicious lunch, walking exploration of the farewell spit, photographic tour, birdwatching and a walk around the amazing coastline (which included a close up encounter with a seal colony). The day was polished off with a memorable meal at the infamous Mussel Inn restaurant. Overall the Bay Lodge facility is luxurious, with modern interior designs, extremely comfortable rooms and fantastic hosts. Highly recommend a stay at The Lodge with Filip and Sonja!

Room Tip: All 3 rooms have excellent views and setup.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coll346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 30, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at The Bay Lodge for 2 nights and it was absolutely amazing. Filip and Sonja were brilliant and caring hosts and you should definitely take their advices on walks and dining around the area.
Our room was very luxurious and the bathroom was just beautiful, both with a view over the Golden Bay.
We absolutely recommend staying there and will come back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristianKathi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We were there for Christmas 2012 and really enjoyed our stay at the bay lodge. The hosts Filip & Sonja are very nice and very helpful to ensure you make the best of your stay in Golden Bay & Abel Tasman.
We stayed in the Adagio suite which is very lovely. All 3 rooms have big bay windows opening on a deck, with amazing direct view on Golden Bay. If you want a bigger room, pick the Ahora Suite which has living room area & outdoor table.
Breakfast can be served in your room and is amazing.

Room Tip: If you are traveling as a couple, get a breakfast in your room or on your terrace with the lovely vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sev2608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

After 1 month of travelling NZ, we spent our last 2 nights at Pohara.
Despite the windy weather, Sonja & Filip made sure we enjoyed our stay.
Filip took us out on a day trip to visit the area (including farewell spit). He taught us about nature and photography (we made some great pictures), we had a nice picknick at the beach and a comforting dinner in a local restaurant/bar. Later that night we had a relaxing laydown in the spa that made us sleep like babies.
The room (which is actually a small flat!) is also worth mentioning. The welcome chocolats, the couch, and the view (!) made us enjoy our stay even more.
Breakfast was also amazing! The best breakfast we had in NZ (with lots of home made things like yoghurt, jam and bread!)
On our departure day, sun was shining and we couldn't resist a dive in the swimming pool.
We can not do anything else than agree with other reviews: we had an amazing time at The Bay Lodge.
Thank you, Filip & Sonja (and mother)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fien D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed November 7, 2012

What an awesome place for a break. Pohara lovely views from the room and spa pool. Sonja and Filip were the most wonderful host. Could not do enough for you, from the welcome to the food and rooms, amazing. Very interesting hosts that made you feel special. Spoil yourself this is gorgeous.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pohara
0.2 mi away
Ratanui Lodge
Ratanui Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pohara
261 reviews
11.9 mi away
Adrift in Golden Bay
Adrift in Golden Bay
#2 of 4 in Takaka
175 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sans Souci Inn
Sans Souci Inn
#1 of 5 in Pohara
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Kaiteriteri
389 reviews
4.7 mi away
Mohua Motels
Mohua Motels
#1 of 4 in Takaka
148 reviews
15.5 mi away
Zatori Retreat
Zatori Retreat
#1 of 6 in Collingwood
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay Lodge

Property: The Bay Lodge
Address: 36 Bay Vista Drive, Pohara 7183, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Golden Bay > Pohara
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Pohara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Bay Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to share our haven of peace and tranquillity. Our elevated location offers you an all-day relaxation with native birdsong from the nearby nature reserve and unsurpassed sea views over the Bay. Laze on your private deck to soak up memorable sunsets or unwind in our outdoor spa under a blanket of stars... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Bay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bay Lodge Pohara, New Zealand - Golden Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing