We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pohara Beach Top 10 Holiday Park
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Pohara
Certificate of Excellence
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
231 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

We liked this place. Unfortunately we had a terrible weather during our stay and it was raining since we did the check in, until we did the check out. We went for a walk to the beach to imagine how the place may look like when the weather is good and we thought it would be fantastic. Motel units are nice, very comfortable and with everything you need.

The only thing we didn´t enjoy was the price for the laundry machines, (4 dollars per load of washing and then $1 per 10 minutes of dryer). The weather conditions didn´t allow us to dry things outside. so we needed to use the dryer. 20 minutes was not enough to get everything dry, so we had to keep the dryer running for 40 minutes. $8 in total later, all the clothes were not completely dry, so to not keep losing coins we put the clothes to dry all over the unit. I would suggest to do something about the price of a load of washing.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiegoUG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del C, Owner at Pohara Beach Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and spending time to review our Holiday Park. Sorry the weather didn't play it's part but thank you for using your imagination and picturing us in the sun. I'm happy your unit met your expectations and hope you enjoyed some of the area. I'm also having our local technician check those gas dryers, because after 40 min drying your clothes should have been well and truly dry. We will put Park laundry through them also to check as they are relatively new machines, thank you for bringing this to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    49
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
59
86
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

Jan & Barry Parsonage (UK) stayed with Brent & Crew in March 2014. Fantastic, very large site next to superb beach. Good, clean communal facilities. Great location for excursion to Farewell Spit & surrounds. Don't recommend tackling Takaka Hill in a storm but we "got over it!!!!"

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BarryandJan40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del C, Owner at Pohara Beach Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Great to hear from you guy's hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip. I'm sure you would have and made lots of friends. Pleased you enjoyed your stay with us because we all did :) and Got Over The Hill. Hope we meet again. Cheers Brent.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

I've been here 22, DEC 2013 for 4 night to travelling Abel Tasman National Park with my familly.
Even I pitched big dome shelter on my site, huge free area still left.
Also all staffs are really helpful and friendly welcome us, we've stayed very satisfiyed comfortably.
I definitely stay again here when I go around this holiday park.
Thanks all staff :)

Room Tip: if you are Top10 Member, you can discount at Golden Bay Kayaking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 174randya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del C, Owner at Pohara Beach Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Wow awesome review thank you, pleased you enjoy our Park and return. Pleased the staff were able to make your stay enjoyable they all read your review with a smile. thanks and see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

We stayed for two nights in March 2014 on a powered site in a small camper van. This site is situated in beautiful location right on the beach. It is big so lots of room around your van and there are plenty of powered sites for campers. The facilities are well maintained and the staff were very helpful. However, we've encountered similarly good facilities and staff at other sites (top 10 and otherwise) which charge less per night and include showers in price. I would have given 5 stars for this site but I am not convinced that we were getting value for money. The coin showers really bother me as top 10 sites aren't budget sites, so I don't expect to find them there.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank d41k57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del C, Owner at Pohara Beach Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Thank you so much for taking your time both to stay with us and review. Pleased you enjoyed our wonderful location and hope the weather treated you kindly. Coin operated showers have been in place for many years now and have had a massive reduction on water consumption for the Pohara area which includes our Holiday Park. Local residents who also rely on a very small water supply now rely also on rain water. Showers from the get go, 9yrs have always been 50cents. Really hope you had an awesome holiday, thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

This is the perfect camping spot that offers everything. Its one of the more expensive camps we have stayed in but it has great facilities and helpful staff. Can thoroughly recommend a stay here for any travellers.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del C, Owner at Pohara Beach Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Hi Chris, thank you for your awesome review and praise of our staff who strive to make everyones stay enjoyable. Thanks again for taking the time and look forward to your return visit. Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

This holiday park is a big one and is has spacious powered sites and 3 facility buildings , direct access to the beach and a good convenience shop at the entrance. Facility rooms were very clean and in a tip top condition. For showering you have to pay 50 cents for 6 minutes or so. Internet is available through IAC and IKS. This park is ideal for trips to the ABel Tasman park and it has a playground for children, and the beach is great if there is no high tide. Liked it here very much! Takaka is close by with a 10 min.drive.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cdickgre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del C, Owner at Pohara Beach Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Hi Cdickgre Thank you for taking the time to post such a fantastic review. We also are very proud of our holiday Park and greatful for it's fantastic location. Many years ago A local man Hansen Winter gifted the land as recreation reserve to be enjoyed by all, great foresight and so pleased you enjoyed our piece of paradise. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

Friendly staff were really helpful, had a great camp site on the beach for ten days. Clean well looked after facilities. Close to Takaka that has good coffee (check out the Dangerous Kitchen) and full supermarket. Safe family friendly beach. Nearby Abel Tasman NP has great walks etc. Well worth the effort. As the locals say "it's just a hill, get over it!". And of course close to the institution that is the Mussel Inn (check out the local brews).

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Allan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del C, Owner at Pohara Beach Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Hi Alan thank you for your wonderful review. It sounds like you had fun in the area and sure did check out lots of our favourite spots. like you said 'it's just a hill get over it" so see you next visit. Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pohara
0.1 mi away
Ratanui Lodge
Ratanui Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pohara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
8.5 mi away
Awaroa Lodge
Awaroa Lodge
#2 of 2 in Abel Tasman National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
11.7 mi away
Adrift in Golden Bay
Adrift in Golden Bay
#1 of 4 in Takaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pohara Beachfront Motel
11.8 mi away
Golden Bay Holiday Park
Golden Bay Holiday Park
#12 of 15 in Takaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Rocks Chalets
The Rocks Chalets
#3 of 4 in Takaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pohara Beach Top 10 Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pohara Beach Top 10 Holiday Park

Property: Pohara Beach Top 10 Holiday Park
Address: 809 Abel Tasman Drive, Pohara 7183, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Golden Bay > Pohara
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Pohara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Pohara Beach Top 10 Holiday Park 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your ultimate beach holiday starts at the waters edge at Pohara Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park. This is true relaxation in the shade of the trees, that fringe the sparkling waters of Golden Bay, enjoy safe swimming, kayaking, boating. and sailing from our absolute beach front location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Pohara Beach Top 10 Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pohara Beach Top 10 Holiday Park New Zealand - Golden Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing