We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best cocktails in the Golden Bay”
Review of Ratanui Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ratanui Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Pohara
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best cocktails in the Golden Bay”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

LOCATION:
Very convenient - about a 2 min walk to the beach, pub and dairy.
BED:
Very comfortable, high quality linen, nice and soft pillow top mattress topper on the bed
BATHROOM:
Immaculately clean, spacious with lovely scented shampoo, conditioner and soaps
STYLE:
Luxurious. Our room was beautifully furnished and colour coordinated. Loved the fine china tea cups.
COMMENTS and SCORE:
Steve and Pete are very welcoming and accommodating. On arrival we were greeted by Steve, had a lovely chat and were invited for the cocktails at 5 o`clock. We checked into our room and found some chocolates and a welcome card there on the table from Pete and Steve which was just lovely. The cocktails were absolutely delicious (Rata Margarita, Honey Tiramisu, 50 Shades of passion, to name a few) just as the 3 course dinner which followed (separate review). We really enjoyed the evening chatting to fellow travellers and drinking good local wines. We mentioned to Steve that we will be leaving early in the morning before the breakfast time and at the end of the dinner we were given a large tray to take to our room. Yoghurt, honey, cereal, fruits, little chocolates - the delicious selection for our early breakfast in our room. That was very nice, delicious as well. 10 out of 10.

Room Tip: We stayed in the room No.9 which was the furthest from the road and it was very very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zorgetech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    8
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
182
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

This charming hotel is as nice a place as you could want, but casual enough to be comfortable. Steve, who seems to run the front of the house, was very helpful and friendly. The room was great, with a nice walk-in shower, comfy bed, very nice furnishings, etc. We really enjoyed our couple of days there.

We had dinner there one night (beef filet) and the food was wonderful (pricey, but worth it). Our only comment was that they could probably use some more help, because it was a long time between courses. I don't know if that was a serving problem or a kitchen problem, or if it was just that one night. Although the food was great it was too much to eat and Steve cheerfully saved our leftovers for a picnic lunch for the next day's activities, which he packed and delivered to us at breakfast.

Wine was fairly expensive. I understand why, but next time I would just stop at the liquor store and buy a bottle or two to keep in our room (which was furnished with wine glasses and a corkscrew.)

Breakfast was very nice. A choice of cereals, yogurt, fruit, toast, tea or coffee; or a hot breakfast for an additional charge (which no one got while we were there.)

One thing we wanted but wasn't available was laundry facilities that we could use. Add that and you have nearly perfect.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Thanks to Steve and Pete for an incredible, personalized stay at Ratanui Lodge ... exquisite accomodations and over the top service. Not only was our room superb, but the dinner was superb! We did not want to leave!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Agnes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014

What a lovely lodge, it cant be called a B & B. Our room was beautifully furnished with antiques and to a very high quality standard. Very comfortable and welcoming with a pot of tea (best china) and cake. We missed out on dinner as they had a convention of Packard vintage car enthusiasts also staying ,but going on the standard of breakfast, they were the lucky ones enjoying Pete and Steves culinary delights. I really enjoyed the early evening cocktails especially '50 shades of passion' ! Everything is on the flat here so fully accessible for wheel chair users (husband uses mobility scooter). We enjoyed exploring Golden Bay, especially the town of Takaka for some retail therapy, and east over the hills to Totarunui where the beach was amazing. Ratanui Lodge is very well situated for exploring the area, and there's lots to see and do. We left feeling sad having taken a photo of Steve and Pete, Meg and her puppies.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely that I could see
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank St_AgnesJoian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennicott, Alaska
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

This place is such a beautiful get away. Everything about this place is pure style and luxury. The beds literally feel like clouds, some of the best nights rest I have ever had. The food is incredible. Steve and Pete are such a great team, and they make you feel as if you are part of the family.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Candyce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotch Plains, United States
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

As we were traveling around NZ and stayed at several places this was by far the best one on all levels. It is much more than a lodge but closer to an amazing B & B. Steve and Pete have brought wonderful and special touches from the antique furnishings to the china (even in our rooms for our coffee/tea). The food is very good and served in a lovely dining area (with lit taper candles at night in silver polished candle sticks). We even had live flowers in our rooms (ours was a blooming amaryllis). The flowers are an extension of the very gorgeous gardens Steve and Pete must lovingly attend. And yet with all of this, it was a very relaxed and casual environment. After dinner my son and I were able to enjoy drinks together in the lounge area and basically Steve would put together almost any drink requested (we didn't challenge him very much!)

On our check in Steve not only had the tickets for one of the excursions he arranged, but also asked if we would need lunch for that excursion. 3 sacks with a wonderful lunch were awaiting us the next morning.

I can truly say that should I visit Golden Bay again - I will be staying at the Ratanui Lodge.

Room Tip: We had the end room by the pool and it seemed extra spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tricia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

There is nothing not to like about Ratanui Lodge from the great location a few steps away from a beautiful beach to the luxury of the lodge.
The hosts are welcoming and run a first class establishment. Our room was spacious and comfortable with a great bathroom and large walk in shower, everything was perfect.
The grounds and outside seating area make for a great place to enjoy a drink on a warm summer's evening ad nothing is too much trouble for the proprietors. We dined on both nights of our stay and the food was well cooked and good value for money. We also enjoyed the breafast spread, which just contributed to a highly enjoyable stay.
A perfect place to stay in a wonderful location.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdrianFiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pohara
8.5 mi away
Awaroa Lodge
Awaroa Lodge
#2 of 2 in Abel Tasman National Park
350 reviews
11.7 mi away
Adrift in Golden Bay
Adrift in Golden Bay
#2 of 4 in Takaka
175 reviews
15.7 mi away
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Kaiteriteri
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pohara Beachfront Motel
0.1 mi away
Pohara Beach Top 10 Holiday Park
4.5 mi away
The Rocks Chalets
The Rocks Chalets
#3 of 4 in Takaka
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ratanui Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ratanui Lodge

Property: Ratanui Lodge
Address: 818 Abel Tasman Drive, Pohara 7183, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Golden Bay > Pohara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Pohara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ratanui Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just across the street from Pohara Beach in beautiful Golden Bay, New Zealand.Purpose-built in 2010 with 10 rooms, all with ensuite, Ratanui is a terrific base for exploring the northern Abel Tasman National Park.Wifi is always free, continental breakfast always included, and there is a small salt-water swimming pool.The Dining Room serves three course set menu dinners, and the Cocktail Lounge is a relaxing space for a drink or two with friends. Package deals are available combining sea kayaking, boat trips and walks in the Abel Tasman National Park, or Farewell Spit Ecotours.Golden Bay is a treasure of the South Island, with golden sand beaches, eclectic artists and cafes, and a laid-back lifestyle.We welcome you to experience Ratanui and Golden Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ratanui Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ratanui Hotel Pohara
Ratanui Lodge Pohara, New Zealand - Golden Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing