We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WOW” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ratanui Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ratanui Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Pohara
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“WOW”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

This place is a must in that region. The operators are the owners and they do care for all their clients. Upon arrival, offerings of free coffee and soda for my son. I wish we had stayed more than 2 days, they reserved the Kayaking and gave us advice for a very nice hike nearby. The room was very comfortable, details were all there and the bathroom is huge with a huge shower. Bed were the best, FREE WIFI is a plus. Go there!

Room Tip: All rooms are good..
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MontrealErt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    8
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
177
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

Excellent hosts, lovely room and all ammenities of a high standard and a great place to stay. Highly recommended. It has a lovely garden too. You really won't be disappointed as Ratanui lived up to all our expectations. Would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrienne422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

Had a wonderful two night stay with Steve & Pete at their beautiful lodge, back in November 2013, everything was perfection, from the service, food & rooms. It was lovely to come back to the lodge in the evening after a tiring day, to be greeted by the perfect host Steve, who couldn't do enough for you & wonderful food by Pete & his lady chef. I didn't want to leave the lodge & my favourite part of New Zealand, so laid back & beautiful, November is the best time to go, as the weather & flowers where amazing. Steve said he would even cancel my trip to Fiji as I didn't want to leave, by the way Steve I had a fantastic time in Fiji & San Francisco, such fun. Thank you for making my stay with you so very special

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JennyC63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

We had the most wonderful holiday at Ratanui. Right from the first contact the staff were excellent and so helpful. Service at Ratanui is on a level seldom seen these days. The rooms are beautiful and unique, and with so few rooms there is plenty of space to spread out. This is sort of place where it is a crime to stay less than two or three nights. Mark my words - do not miss out on dinner. When the locals rave about it you know it's good! And if you do choose to dine elsewhere, don't overlook the cocktails and platters before you head out. Thank you so much to Steve, Pete and Marcus - you made our anniversary a very memorable experience and helped us to fall in love with Golden Bay - we'll be back!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jesseliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yakima, WA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

We stayed for one night at Ratanui Lodge after three days on the Abel Tasman walk. Steve and Pete couldn't have been better hosts. Pete picked us up at Totoranui as arranged by our guide, Wally Bruce of Abel Tasman Guides. After an easy check in, Steve brought a pot of coffee to our room which helped to revive us. The rooms are beautifully appointed and comfortable. We especially enjoyed our dinner at the lodge, a set menu of wonderful foods prepared by Pete and served by Steve. A delicious buffet breakfast was served the following morning before we left. They both made our stay so enjoyable and we truly enjoyed the serene atmosphere after 3 days of hiking. If we are ever back in the area, we will definitely stay again at Ratanui Lodge.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiama5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

Stayed in Jan '14 for our honeymoon.

Really enjoyed our stay - Took notice that it was our honeymoon and provided Champagne and Coffee on arrival with a warm welcome note from the managers Pete and Steve.

Marcus at reception was super helpful at check-in, providing maps, must-do's and ensuring we had everything we need to make our stay comfortable.

Has a small pool, restaurant (get bookings in by mid-day!), fresh clean rooms, furnished common area with antique furniture to chill out with local wines, beers and of course the famed cocktails!

Location is good - coffee/restaurants/general store within walking distance. 7 min drive to Tata beach for kayaking, swimming, hiking etc. Also a beach across the road (not as nice as Tata) if you want a quick splash. We stayed 2 nights and got out to Farewell Spit, Waterfalls, Springs, Kayaking, etc. So great central location. Customer service is fantastic - highly recommended!!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 9, cwhich is nicely tucked in the back and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelhappy0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

Steve and Pete run the nicest hotel on the planet!
It is perfect, the staff are fun, the service is excellent and food great.
We spent Christmas at the hotel and had dinner there. It was simply one of the nicest Christmases ever. Thanks guys!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Senjala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pohara
8.5 mi away
Peppers Awaroa Lodge
Peppers Awaroa Lodge
#2 of 2 in Abel Tasman National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
11.7 mi away
Adrift in Golden Bay
Adrift in Golden Bay
#1 of 4 in Takaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pohara Beach Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Kaiteriteri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pohara Beachfront Motel
4.5 mi away
The Rocks Chalets
The Rocks Chalets
#3 of 4 in Takaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ratanui Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ratanui Lodge

Property: Ratanui Lodge
Address: 818 Abel Tasman Drive, Pohara 7183, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Golden Bay > Pohara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Pohara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ratanui Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just across the street from Pohara Beach in beautiful Golden Bay, New Zealand.Purpose-built in 2010 with 10 rooms, all with ensuite, Ratanui is a terrific base for exploring the northern Abel Tasman National Park.Wifi is always free, continental breakfast always included, and there is a small salt-water swimming pool.The Dining Room serves three course set menu dinners, and the Cocktail Lounge is a relaxing space for a drink or two with friends. Package deals are available combining sea kayaking, boat trips and walks in the Abel Tasman National Park, or Farewell Spit Ecotours.Golden Bay is a treasure of the South Island, with golden sand beaches, eclectic artists and cafes, and a laid-back lifestyle.We welcome you to experience Ratanui and Golden Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ratanui Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ratanui Hotel Pohara
Ratanui Lodge Pohara, New Zealand - Golden Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing