We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ratanui Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Pohara Beach Top 10 Holiday Park(Pohara)(Great Value!)
$46
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Pohara Beachfront Motel(Pohara)(Great Value!)
$83
$69
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anatoki Lodge Motel(Takaka)(Great Value!)
$90
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mohua Motels(Takaka)(Great Value!)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Awaroa Lodge(Abel Tasman National Park)
$113
$87
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$336
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Split Apple Retreat(Abel Tasman National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (277)
Filter reviews
277 results
Traveler rating
266
8
2
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
266
8
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsantique furnitureattention to detailabel tasmangolden baynew zealandthe perfect hostcourse dinnerwonderful serviceacross the roadnothing is too much troubleset menuable tasman national parkfine dininghost stevecup of teaamazing hostswelcome drink
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
249 - 254 of 277 reviews
Reviewed April 8, 2011

Finally a luxurious, relaxing place to stay in Pohara! I've been going to Pohara for years, and Ratanui Lodge is a great addition to the area. While Pohara has the feel of an old style kiwi beach resort, Ratanui allows you to enjoy the amazing location with great service and style. I plan to recommend that all my north american visitors stay here when they come to Golden Bay.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cyclist704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2011

If you cross the Takaka hill into that amazing Golden Bay country, Ratanui Lodge is the place to stay.
We stayed four days and every day was a discovery and a delight, both out and about and at home at the lodge. Our room was was furnished with beautiful french antique furniture - beautiful and comfortable. The dining room is intimate and inviting, yet large enough to operate as a restaurant, so you can dine quietly a deux if you wish.
We saw no reason to go elsewhere for dinner because the food and the service were superb.
In the best tradition of New Zealand lodges Steve welcomed us as guests to his home.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mcms2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2011

This lodge is spotless and top quality. The beds are the most comfortable on the planet, the service is amazing, and the location is superb. It is right by the amazing Abel Tasman for beautiful hiking and swimming, across the street from Pohara beach which is warm and lovely for swimming, and near all kinds of other hiking, mountain biking and rock climbing opportunities. The access to all of this is very easy.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MeghanS19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2011

From the phone call before we arrived to the emails after we got home, the service provided by Steve was absolutely fantastic! The room was luxurious and spacious and we had the best night's sleep we've had for a long time. The food was great and the service exceptional! Steve was very knowledgeable about the local area and gave us some useful tips about how to spend our time in Golden Bay. Nothing was too much trouble for him. We had a wonderful, relaxing time and will be back:)

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1811027Julie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2011

We have stayed at numerous four and five star establishments and this place just doesn't rate in the same category or justify the status of a 'lodge' or indeed the room rate they charge. Somehow I don't think they quite understand what differentiates a motel from a luxury lodge. The manager, Steve, is very helpful and accommodating, but it really is just a high priced motel with nice furniture. It's the care and attention to detail that lets this place down. Things like no fridge, no fresh milk, one dressing gown, an offer of a welcome pack that never came, a cheap and nasty continental breakfast and no cooked breakfast menu (or for that matter choice - it was fried eggs and bacon the day we were there, like it or lump it). It is situated right by the beach, but there is no private outdoor area to sit in or umbrella for shade in the bar area. The rooms have nice furniture, but they are no in keeping with the setting or outside of the building. We hoped that we might be asked for our comments when we left however no such offer was forthcoming. We felt disappointed on our first impressions and at the end of our two days there left wishing that we have stayed someone else.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank freet0fly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ratanui, Owner at Ratanui Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2011

Hi freet0fly. Thanks so much for your comments, and our apologies that your stay wasn't up to the standards you or we expect. You are absolutely right, we most certainly should have given you the opportunity for your comments before you departed, especially considering that we are a new establishment and value the feedback of our guests.
Your comments have been well-received here, and in response to your suggestions we have added umbrellas to the front bar area for shade, added a second dressing gown to each room, ordered refrigerators for the rooms and contacted a joiner and other fine establishments for their input on how best to incorporate them into the rooms to blend in easily with the unique furniture in each room.
Our breakfasts have been well-received to this point, with fresh local fruit, yogurt, muesli, cereal, toast with homemade marmalade and local honey, Charlie's honest orange juice, locally roasted coffee and a selection of teas, and always a cooked option that varies from day to day, such as bacon and eggs, belgian waffles with strawberries and cream, corn fritters with maple syrup, or a kiwi breakfast.
Thanks again for your comments as they are tremendous help in helping us to make our mark as a friendly, relaxing, and very special place to stay in the heart of Golden Bay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews