We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice clean room and friendly hosts”
Review of Wildcat Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wildcat Motel
Ranked #4 of 5 Pohara B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 6, 2010

We enjoyed our stay at this motel, the staff were very friendly and our room was clean and enjoyable to relax in. A well equipped kitchen and a 5 minute walk to Pohara beaches makes this a great location to get away.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vbmica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (19)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 19 of 19 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2010

A motel for people who are looking for a tranquil, homey place to stay and are not into pretentiousness. I have stayed with my young children at Bay Country Lodge three times now and the Kiwiana charm and value for money keeps bringing me back. We are booked in to stay 10 days in September 2010. Can't wait to do it again.

It has easy access to the beaches, Wainui Falls, Grove Scenic Reserve and Abel Tasman National Park. It is tidy, cheery, well maintained and warm. It has the very rare luxury of WIFI internet access-- not typical in this neck of the woods! Great service from attentive hosts. The kids loved the lush gardens.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TinaJennen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2010

2 trips and 6 weeks spent in New Zealand have given us many reasons to tell all that we know "This is a beautiful country to visit" And it is the people that make it so. We have stayed in all types of accomodations on our trips and felt that Bay Country Lodge lived up to our expectations of friendly ,wonderful and helpful staff. They were our family , heck, even the neighbors were sharing insights on how they grew such beautiful roses. Loved Golden Bay, loved Bay Country Lodge. Claudia Loy, Key Peninsula, Washington

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gardener86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2010

Booked a one nighter in a family room at this place after looking at its ad in the AA book. It was the only room in town by the time we got there and we now know why. Its up for sale--has been for a while it seems--and theres no investment in the place. We had a downstairs room nearest the road--which is noisy. It did have double access to a garden and plenty of chairs and two tables but the interior was dated. If you are into colour co-ordinates this isnt for you--think green pillowcases, lemon sheets and bright red check blanket and youve got it.
As the last room in town you might check in--we wouldnt! But it does have free internet!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Teddall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MeryGrape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pohara hotels
0.4 mi away
Pohara Beach Top 10 Holiday Park
0.5 mi away
Ratanui Lodge
Ratanui Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pohara
266 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pohara Beachfront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sans Souci Inn
Sans Souci Inn
#1 of 5 in Pohara
150 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Sandcastle
The Sandcastle
#1 of 2 in Pohara
101 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Bay Lodge
The Bay Lodge
#2 of 5 in Pohara
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wildcat Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildcat Motel

Address: 688 Abel Tasman Drive, Pohara, New Zealand (Formerly Bay Country Lodge Motel)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Golden Bay > Pohara
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Pohara
Price Range: $87 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wildcat Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Wildcat Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wildcat Motel Pohara, New Zealand - Golden Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing