We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“average pub food but great atmosphere”
Review of Cock Crow Inn

Cock Crow Inn
Ranked #5 of 13 Restaurants in Hebburn
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“average pub food but great atmosphere”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

nothing special, reheated pub grub from what I could tell, but always packed for a quiz night, so well worth a trip down

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank DizMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    33
    29
    17
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Grease Fest”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

The menu was confusing as it didn’t explain very well about how the courses worked as it advised that there was a 2 course option but it had 3 courses on the menu. However it turned out that you had to get a main and a desert and got a starter to share between each group of 2. The starters tasted like frozen Iceland party food specials and the mushroom balls where just awful. For the mains me and my friend both got the 3 foot long sausage and chips which was meant to be an eating challenge and get something for completing it. I expected a nice round nicely displayed sausage what I got was 3 foot long sausages in a mountain of grease everything was greasy. We both finished it but not one single member of staff noticed!!! I will not be going back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JulioB752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We dined as a party of 4 adults and 2 children.
Total cost was £44. I wouldn't say this is particularly cheap but not expensive either.
Service was excellent. I like that they go over your order again with you at your table when they bring cutlery and condiments.
Food arrived fairly quickly and all meals were well presented and piping hot.
No complaints from any us. All meals were very nice.
Will definitely be returning in the future.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bev R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Went there for a quiet meal with my wife. This was our first visit ....Great service and very happy with the food excellent value. We will certainly be back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roncoe53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Give it a miss.”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

I also haven't been here for a while and was bitterly disappointed. Ordered ham, egg and chips and the ham was full of fat, the eggs were like greasy slop and the chips were cold. Even my drink had something floating in it. Might be cheap but I wouldn't pay a penny for food like that. Don't waste your money.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SEI_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cock Crow Inn also viewed

Hebburn, Tyne and Wear
Jarrow, Tyne and Wear
 
Gateshead, Tyne and Wear
Hebburn, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Cock Crow Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing