We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dream world. Aircraft need upkeep !” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Central Museum of the Air Forces at Monino

Central Museum of the Air Forces at Monino
Book In Advance
More Info
$98.36*
and up
Private Tour: Monino Central Air Force Museum Tour from Moscow
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Monino
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Pune, India
Level Contributor
484 reviews
111 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Dream world. Aircraft need upkeep !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

After a lot of confusion on a trip to Monino, thanks to TripAdvisor, I got confirm information that foreigners are allowed to visit and the days and timings.
Since I was not alone and it was raining heavily in Moscow, we decided to do a tour from Moscow Free tour. It was costly as compared to going on our own, but considering little or no knowledge of English amongst the local population, this was a wise decision.

We got our cab on time at our hotel, and it was driven by an ex-Pilot of IL-76 and it took us about an hour to reach Monino. The English speaking guide there started the tour for us and it was treat to see all the soviet era planes, many of which do not have a mention in any of the famous books.

The TU-142 bomber, Tu-22 bomber, Tu-144 super sonic passenger plane and many other planes just make your day.

Highly recommendable visit if you are an aviation buff.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ameyajoshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    20
    6
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Curitiba, PR
Level Contributor
102 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Biggest Russian airplane museum in the world”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

Aviation enthusiasts, this is the place, hundreds of aircrafts, a lot of history, in a not so popular attraction, therefore the museum will be only your when you are there!
The reason why such a great place like this is normally empty, is because don't even have a internet page, So I will try to explain how to get there!
* there are a few tours to Monino, I email then and they asked me 300US$ for the half day tour, let's be honest, is a joke, so forget about this.
* Many forums say that you need special authorisation to requested seven days in advance, and that you must go with a Russian citizen, IS NOT TRUE, you can and should do al in your own.
* From Yaroslavsky train station, you can catch a train to Monino station (200 rubbles), 80 minutes away, once you get to Monino, before leaving the platform, cross the overhead bridge, you will see a kind of council flats, you will walk 15 minutes to the museum, ask on the way direction, ask someone on your hotel to write " where is the air force museum" in russian in a piece of paper, so you can anyone on the way.
* To try to help, I posted some pictures of signs you will find on the way.
* to visit you will have to 350 Rubbles and a extra 200 rubbles to be able to take pictures!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
15 Thank Rafael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Museum of airplans in Russia”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Air Force Museum in Monino is a huge territory, where you can see many planes and helicopters in one place, and all of them are not models, but real exhibits. Actually one can follow the evolution of plane-construction, from experimental models of the beginning of the previous century to nowadays modern planes. The big part of exhibition takes Russian airplanes of World War the 2nd.
It is for sure must place to visit for all boys, guys, men as it is paradise for those who are at least a bit in love with airplanes. But for ladies it is not less cool: it is breathtaking to see all these technique so close. Especially it is good to have someone around, who really knows the stuff about planes, because there are so many stories behind these giants! We took the excursion, we were guided by wonderful woman, lieutenant colonel, and she told us a lot about different plane models, where and how they were used, and how they were constructed.
I totally recommend to go there. Kids will love it! Everyone will love it! All exhibits have info-stands both in Russian and in English. If you decide to take an excursion it could also be delivered in English (though you should know: museum has only one guide, who delivers excursions in English, so to be sure you get it, better order excursion in advance by phone).
What we also discovered, when decided to go there, that there is no relevant information in web about working hours/contacts of museum. So this is the moment of truth!
Telephone: +7 (495) 744 06 77
Working days: Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday
Working hours: 9:00 – 16:00; on Saturday 9:00 – 15:00.
Fees for foreigners:
Entrance fee: 350 rub for adults; 250 rub with student ID; 150 rub for kids less than 16 years old.
Taking pictures: 200 rub
Making videos with amateur camera: 350 rub
Excursion: 350 rub from person, 2000 rub min from group. (if you want an excursion better to sign up in advance by phone)

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Anna_ExploRussia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Monino - an aviation fans dream destination”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

If you love aircraft and Soviet aircraft in particular, this is the place for you. They have several hundred aircraft on display and despite the somewhat decayed state of many of them, it's still an amazing place to visit. From thge supersonic "Concordski" to helicopters, fighters and bombers - many of them prototypes.Simply an amazing place.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Josh116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Central Museum of the Air Forces at Monino also viewed

 
Moscow, Central Russia
Serpukhov, Moscow Oblast
 

Been to Central Museum of the Air Forces at Monino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing