We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a warm welcome!!”
Review of Nateby Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Nateby Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Nateby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 21, 2014

A group of 6 of us arrived at the Nateby Inn at approximately 12noon on Easter Sunday, the pub was empty, a lady who was the landlady said Hello, and walked away, we went to the bar and enquired regarding may we purchase sandwiches, at which the landlady said, "we are not doing sandwiches today, we are so busy with lunches", I repeat the pub was empty !! We then went onto purchase 4 alcoholic drinks, a soft drink and asked could one of us gave a cup of tea, but we were told we are not serving tea !! The landlady then seemed to be training a young girl in how to take an order, while we had our drinks and packets of crisps !! A few people then arrived and went through to eat, some meals were served, we then went to leave, and a group of 3 people came in and enquired regarding lunch, and we're told by the landlady hope you don't mind waiting a long time because the service will be poor !! I then went to the ladies and as I left noticed an empty dining room, clearly used if you were a resident, I looked in to see dirty tables left from breakfast, and a Buffett display with cereals and fruit all uncovered, it was the first and last time we will all visit the Nateby Inn.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Judith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nateby-inn, Owner at Nateby Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

It always amazes me how some people see and hear things differently to what is happening.
I did politely say hello as I was walking passed a walking group sitting down having a drink, who asked if they could have a sandwich and afternoon tea, which I explained we don’t sell sandwiches or afternoon tea on a Sunday only Sunday lunches.
On Easter Sunday a group of 3 people did walk in at 12noon and asked for a table, but all the tables were fully booked and what I said was we are fully booked but we would try and fit them in the dinning area if they didn’t mind waiting or we could set up a table in the bar and serve them quickly before everyone arrived which we managed to do.
The dining room for our residents was closed to the general public. The breakfast fruit and a bowl of cereal you saw were left out for my children,
I am sorry you felt you didn’t have a warm welcome because we were not able to make your group sandwiches.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (506)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

361 - 367 of 506 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2014

A group of 7 stayed at the Nateby Inn over the Easter Weekend...my partner and I stayed in room 5 which was lovely. First off the accommodation...this was excellent. The rooms were spotless, the beds were comfortable and the overall decor was to a very high standard. Secondly the food....this was amazing. The breakfasts were fantastic (and I can thoroughly recommend the homemade pancakes with apples!). We also stayed in the hotel both nights and had our evening meals there. Again the food was fantastic, very reasonably priced and the service we received was very attentive. Finally the staff...warm and very welcoming. Gaynor (the owner) was always a joy to talk to and we enjoyed the personal touch when she came through to speak to us to ensure we had all we needed. Hannah also deserves a special mention. This has to be one of the hardest working girls in the place....she runs around but never makes you feel like you are bothering her with your requests. A true asset to the hotel. I'd thoroughly recommend staying here and happily give this the full five stars. So much so we're planning to book up for next year.

Room Tip: Whatever room you get you won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank colin g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nateby-inn, Owner at Nateby Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a lovely review,
The staff and I really appreciate it so much.
Gaynor & the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

JUST TOP NOTCH! The three day stay at the Nateby Inn with my Staffie dog and nephew was most delightful.
Nothing was too much trouble for Gaynor & her team in meeting the very highest standard of friendly care in all respects. Our view is that the comfortable accommodation, together with great service and food, offers exceptional real value for money.
We certainly hope to stay here again and have no hesitation in recommending it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nateby-inn, Owner at Nateby Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a lovely review,
The staff and I really appreciate it so much.
Gaynor & the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Just returned from 2 nights at Nateby Inn. Big thanks to Gaynor and her staff. We had room number 1 with a lovely bath, (although we had a laugh with Gaynor about the slanting floor in the middle of the night) The room was small but very practical. Nice real ales, nice food, lovely real fire and the local walks are lovely. Ask about the Pendragon castle walk. Straight from the beer garden, wonderful. This B&B deserves to be a success.

Stayed: April 2014
2  Thank MrGManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nateby-inn, Owner at Nateby Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2014

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and evening meal with us. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a lovely review, The staff and I really appreciate it so much. Gaynor & the team we are all still smiling it's like one happy family here:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

We recently stayed at the Nateby Inn and all four of us, and our two miniature poodles thought it was just the best place to stay. The greeting we received, food, friendly staff, cleanliness and facilities were all first class. We would recommend this hotel to pet owners everywhere.
Lots of walks and just minutes from the lovely village of Kirkby Stephen where there are some nice antique shops and cafe's.
A big five star thumbs up from us.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank Ken A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nateby-inn, Owner at Nateby Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2014

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and evening meal with us. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a lovely review, The staff and I really appreciate it so much. Gaynor & the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Arrived at lunch time expecting to be able to have a nice relaxing lunch. Unfortunately this was not to be as they were expecting a walking group of 32. The chef however did offer to make us sandwiches, but as we could see they were busy, we went into the town centre and found a place to eat. Gaynor and her staff are very welcoming and I was surprised to find there were only 5 rooms. However this only made for a cosy, atmosphere. The menu was varied and the food was declicious. Compliments to the new chef. Our room was small, but had everything you would find in the bigger hotels: lovely soft towels with welcoming chocolate, bath/shower gel/hand & body lotions, hairdryer, TV, tea & coffee making facilities, and even a footspa. No doubt a welcome treat for those very long walks. All in all a lovely break and would definitely visit again.

Room Tip: Room number one apparently has the best view from the windows. However we were in room 3 at the fron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nateby-inn, Owner at Nateby Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2014

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and evening meal with us. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a lovely review, The staff and I really appreciate it so much. Gaynor & the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

We received a warm welcome upon arrival and had a small but cosy room with shower. Everything was in order and clean and tidy. We were given the choice of a room with a bath or shower which was nice.

Staff were friendly throughout our two night stay. Breakfast was very nice, cooked to order and there was a great variety.

We chose to eat in the restaurant the first night and we were so glad that we did as the food was excellent. Me and my fiancé enjoy good food and the food we had was very nice and extremely well priced. So much so that we cancelled our booking elsewhere the second night and chose to eat at the Inn again the second night.

Would recommend to anyone!

Room Tip: We were in room 3 which had a lovely view and window seat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank LindsayD2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nateby-inn, Owner at Nateby Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2014

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and evening meal with us. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a lovely review, The staff and I really appreciate it so much. Gaynor & the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nateby
18.7 mi away
Travelodge Kendal
Travelodge Kendal
#6 of 13 in Kendal
446 reviews
23.2 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
9.9 mi away
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
#1 of 2 in Appleby-in-Westmorland
1,669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Old Croft House
The Old Croft House
#5 of 25 in Kirkby Stephen
164 reviews
4.4 mi away
Brownber Hall
Brownber Hall
#1 of 2 in Newbiggin-on-Lune
185 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Pennine Boutique Hotel
The Pennine Boutique Hotel
#13 of 25 in Kirkby Stephen
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nateby Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nateby Inn

Address: Nateby | Kirkby Stephen, Nateby, Kirkby Stephen CA17 4JP, England (Formerly The Black Bull Inn)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Kirkby Stephen > Nateby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Nateby
Price Range: $68 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nateby Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our little gem of an inn is a superb base for those who enjoy outdoor pursuits and in is an ideal location for a stopover on the Coast to Coast. We are situated in the Yorkshire Dales National Park and near to The Lakes. We are a located centrally to many Wainwright trails as well as The Lady Ann Clifford walk. Nateby Inn is a traditional, family-owned Cumbrian inn offering year-round bed & breakfast accommodation and home cooked food (using only the freshest, locally sourced, quality ingredients). We have a well-stocked bar offering some of Cumbria and Yorkshire's finest real ales, a wide choice of wines and a great selection of whiskies and Gins. All our bedrooms are equipped with the usual creature comforts such as digital flat screen TVs, hair dryers, tea and coffee making facilities. Three of our bedrooms boast full-sized baths, perfect after a long day’s walk. We offer Double, king and Twin rooms. Ideal for groups, couples or over-night business stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Nateby Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Black Bull Hotel Nateby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing