We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful short stay”
Review of Nateby Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Nateby Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Nateby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Delightful short stay”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

The perfect choice for our first visit to beautiful Cumbria. The room was lovely, tastefully decorated with a great attention to detail. It was really cosy and the bed was so comfortable and snug. Breakfast was excellent, with plenty of choice as was the evening meal. Location is very good, central for walking and exploring the area. All in all, an excellent place to stay and a terrific welcome., highly recommended. Thank you Gaynor and the team.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Europhila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nateby-inn, Owner at Nateby Inn, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and evening meal with us. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a lovely review, The staff and I really appreciate it so much. Gaynor & the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    119
    20
    12
    11
See reviews for
55
308
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hebden Bridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

We were welcomed warmly, and shown to a very pleasant room, (room 5). There was an excellent chef and delicious beautifully presented evening food. Breakfasts were great as well. Friendly ambiance with a mixture of locals and visitors. Our dog was made very welcome and we all enjoyed lovely walks from the inn door. I recommend this to anyone who wants a short, relaxing break.

Room Tip: Twin rooms made into king size are bigger, but room 5 has all night light from small garage/repair s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank tashi155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nateby-inn, Owner at Nateby Inn, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and evening meal with us. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a lovely review, The staff and I really appreciate it so much. Gaynor & the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Gaynor and her staff could not have been any friendlier and helpful, very nice warm atmosphere ,The food was very good, especially with their fish and chips, as good as you can get anywhere, We would have no hesitation in returning, and would recommend highly for a short break.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank shaun r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nateby-inn, Owner at Nateby Inn, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and evening meal with us. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a lovely review, The staff and I really appreciate it so much. Gaynor & the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stockton
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Rocked up to the nateby inn with my other half after a day of travelling to be greeted by gaynor.
A really warm friendly person who makes you feel right at home.
Rooms are just the right size extremely clean and light and airy.
The inn itself retains all its old timey charm and homely feeling with a gorgeous propper coal fire.
The food in the nateby inn is absolutely stunning.
Propper home cooked from scratch and worth every penny.
All in all the nateby inn is the perfect place to stay if you are after a quiet relaxing getaway from the hustle and bustle of everyday life.
Gaynor and her team go out of their way to make your stay as pleasant as possible and always took the time to talk to you and ask how your day was no matter how busy they were.
Highly reccommended and well worth every penny.
(P.s thank you for the morning cuppas with my first cig of the day gaynor).

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank craig s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

We arrived and were greeted very warmly by Nick who introduced us to Gaynor the inn owner , immediately we felt a at home , we then took our cases in and left them to be taken to our room later as we were going out for a walk . Our room was cosy and warm and a nice shower washbasin and toilet in . The chef is a lovely man who took the utmost care to give us a superb meal and noted our requests for breakfast the following day , we really enjoyed our two night stay and when we left I said to Gaynor that she and the rest of staff made us feel like more like family than mere guests . We are glad we have found this wonderful place and will return before long to enjoy the hospitality .

Room Tip: I cannot speak regarding the other rooms ,but if ours was a sample they are all good .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Hugh926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We stayed at The Nateby Inn for 2 nights with our dog. All the staff were extremely helpful and cheerful and couldn't do enough for you. The rooms were clean and well equipped - I particularly liked the ground coffee with caffetiere and big fluffy towels!

There are walks direct from the Inn with loads of information re walks available and a muddy boot tray in our room for when we got back.

However, the icing on the cake was the food - we really were spoilt for choice as everything on the menu sounded delicious! It's not your usual pub food - we had venison and blackberry suet pudding, duo of ox consisting of cheek and tongue, and freshly caught mackerel - but there are burgers and steak for the less adventurous! All the food we had was cooked to perfection and obvious thought had gone into its presentation, some dishes looked like mini works of art!

A real pleasure to stay and eat here.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 14, 2014

My wife and I had an excellent 3 night B & B break , staying at The Nateby Inn. The whole experience was first rate, from the friendliness of the owners, all the staff and the well appointed rooms.
We chose to eat in the Inn every evening as the food was well cooked, well presented, very tasty, and the ingredients were locally sourced.
The inn was close to Kirby Stephen and the Yorkshire Dales / Cumbria border with excellent walks on the doorstep. The inn provided lots of local leaflets on things to do and a good variety of walking books and maps.
There was also good internet access for free.
We would not hesitate to recommend The Nateby Inn to all our friends.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank GEOFFHAIGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nateby
9.7 mi away
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
#1 of 2 in Appleby-in-Westmorland
1,586 reviews
9.9 mi away
Tufton Arms Hotel
Tufton Arms Hotel
#2 of 2 in Appleby-in-Westmorland
332 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Black Swan
The Black Swan
#1 of 5 in Ravenstonedale
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Brownber Hall
Brownber Hall
#1 of 2 in Newbiggin-on-Lune
176 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#11 of 25 in Kirkby Stephen
166 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Pennine Hotel
The Pennine Hotel
#13 of 25 in Kirkby Stephen
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nateby Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nateby Inn

Property: Nateby Inn
Address: Nateby | Kirkby Stephen, Nateby, Kirkby Stephen CA17 4JP, England (Formerly The Black Bull Inn)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Kirkby Stephen > Nateby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Nateby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nateby Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A little gem of a inn offering bed & breakfast 4 star Pet Friendly En-suite accommodation nestled in the rural village of Nateby. Yet it's just 1 mile away from Kirby Stephen. A superb base for those who enjoy outdoor pursuits. An ideal location for a stop over on the Coast to Coast walk. Nateby Inn Kirkby Stephen, is a traditional family owned and run Cumbrian inn offering year-round bed & breakfast 4 star accommodation, home cooked food using only the freshest, locally sourced quality ingredients, We have a well stocked bar offering some of Cumbria's and Yorkshire's finest real ales, a wide choice of wines, a great selection of malt whiskies and a range of soft drinks. Our 4 star accommodation at Nateby Inn Kirkby Stephen comprises of five en-suite bedrooms. All our bedrooms are equipped with the usual creature comforts such as digital flat screen tv, hair dryer, tea and coffee making facilities and we have little extras such as: iphone / ipod docking station alarm clock and HoMedics foot spa. three of our bedrooms have a bath, perfect after a long days walk, especially if you are on the Coast to Coast walk. We offer early bird breakfast on request and a packed lunch for your onward journey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Nateby Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Black Bull Hotel Nateby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing