We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing, even with the snow blizzard's :-)”
Review of Nateby Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Nateby Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Nateby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing, even with the snow blizzard's :-)”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

I never normally write a review but after staying here for the weekend and having a fabulous time I feel the need to let people know of our experience. When arriving early friday afternoon trying to miss the awful weather , we were welcomed inside and taken to our room, even though check in was'nt till 2pm. Our room was spotless and very cosy, little touches made all the difference. Like chocolates on your pillow and having a tray to put your dirty walking boot's on and having a window seat to look out over the hill's was lovely. We had great views.

Gaynor and her team were alway's helpful and nothing was to much trouble, and I'd like to thank them very much.

Having booked for an evening meal on both nights it was excellent, freshly cooked and very prompt..... FANTASTIC !!!! Also having Nicola (one of the staff) singing just added to the whole great experience. The breakfast were well organised and lovely as well.

As the weather was sooo bad we could only do the local walk of which there were plenty different one's to choose from. After arriving back we sat by the open coal fire for a warm. This all adds to the homely atmosphere. We could not of felt anymore relaxed. It was definetly " home from home".

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CheekyMonkey170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    109
    16
    11
    9
See reviews for
51
283
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We stayed at The Nateby Inn on 4/5/6 March after buying the deal through Groupon. After a delightful drive through the Yorkshire Dales, the welcome we received was fantastic from Gaynor and her team. There really is nothing that is too much trouble.

We ate in the bar both nights, and there were dogs that were welcomed in (we have dogs but hadn't taken them with us). The food was excellent and the hand pulled beer was a nice surprise (Tirrell Brewery if you are interested).

We asked about somewhere to go walking the next day, and Gaynor lent us a rucksack, a map and arranged for a fantastic packed lunch. We quickly realised we should have brought this with us, but were glad to be able to go out anyway. The walk up to the Nine Standards and back along the viaducts was great, and the another fantastic meal at night.

The breakfast was extra on our deal, but was well worth paying for as we didn't feel hungry until about 3pm.

We are really looking forward to going back to see Gaynor, Hannah and Hannah later in the year. The hard work is really paying off.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Fantastic hardly describes the experience of the Nateby Inn. It is positioned just outside Kirkby Stephen in the small village of Nateby. You simply can fault nothing here. The atmosphere created by Gaynor , Hannah and the other staff is very welcoming. Nothing seems too much trouble. We stayed for 2 nights and are in the process of booking again for September. Lovely comfortable room, fantastic welcome and , if possible, better than fantastic food. This place is a real gem and definitely worth the visit..... But get in early, just 5 rooms will mean that when the word gets out this will be full more often than not.. Position is a bonus....within two miles of the north yorks moors and a short drive to the lakes. Walks a plenty nearby or a short drive away.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nellios65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

My wife & I stayed 20th & 21st Feb, It's my wifes birthday on the 22nd so i rang a few days before our arrival to request flowers, chockies & wine to be placed in the room for my wife on the 21st. On our first evening there Gaynor took me to one side to say that she had not been able to get the flowers due to me not giving enough notice but the chocs & wine would be there as ordered. No 1 Hannah went out of her way to go to another florist not locally based to get a beautiful bouquet so all went to plan. We really enjoyed our stay at the Nateby Inn, It was a lovely walk into Kirby Stephen, all the pubs allowed dogs which was a bonus. The meals at the Nateby Inn were delicious and we will definitely be going back the next time we see a Groupon offer. We only saw Gaynor breifly as she went away but we were looked after by the Hannahs. My wife said she thought it was probably the best birthday she'd had. That wasn't solely down to me but also due to the friendly staff, good food & comfort at the Nateby Inn.

Room Tip: I would expect all rooms to be as comfortable as the one we stayed in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LeedsRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We have just returned from a relaxing and enjoyable stay, thank you to Gaynor and team of Hannah's for superb hospitality, nothing was too much trouble and all the team including the new Chef delivered. It was lovely to experience and a warm and welcoming team with the customer service being paramount. Rooms are clean, decorated nicely and equipped with all necessities including hair dryer . Lovely to see good quality fluffy towels and crisp bed linen. You can tell Gaynor is putting a lot of time, money and effort in all the right places. We are looking forward to returning and sampling the new menus.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank mpopins34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ormskirk
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

The location for this pub is great as its near enough to Kirby Stephen to go shopping but far enough away for it to be peaceful. There is a mechanics garage over the road but its a 9-5 job which does not create any excessive noise. You still get a view of the rolling hills behind anyway. If you are walkers serious or otherwise, there are many walks from the pub itself. We did a six miler out down the road opposite and circled back around the quarry to Hartley and back along the old railway and viaducts which is flat and pretty.
The staff were attentive and accommodating in so much as we had a last minute glitch having to take our teenage daughter with us but they fitted her in at no further expense except for her meals which helped us out. The pub is dog friendly but they made sure dog owners and their dogs ate separately as they respect everyone does not like dogs. The staff were helpful and we were even told one young man was new to the business and could we mention anything he could perhaps do better. We did mention one thing but he got it right the next time which shows that they listened. Everyone has to learn and I thought telling us he was learning was a good move. We went to our room at about 10 pm but it was not noisy even though the rooms are above the bar area. the decor and ambiance is that of a cosy, country pub with a roaring fire. The evening meal was lovely and the breakfast was filling enough to let us last until Tea time.
The rooms are not massive but had all necessary equipment such as a TV, radio/clock alarm, Drink making facilities and even a foot spa after a good walk. They were warm and the beds were comfortable for us anyway as I know this is personal preference.
There is space to park your car and there is a walkers cafe for day time snacks although this was only opening mid March I think. We needed a bulb changing one day and again this was replaced straight away. I have seen a couple of negative reviews in the past which are so different and contrasting the the rest of the reviews, its hard to believe the reviewers just haven't made things up due to personal gripes but the management and staff are very approachable and will try and sort any problems out for you at the time rather than not saying anything and moaning about it when you get home. I didn't let them put me off and was not disappointed although I appreciate they can't get everything right all of the time. Our room price was good although it was a deal and the bar/restaurant prices were reasonable as well. The breakfast could be a tad cheaper but it was not extortionate for what you can have.
In summary we had a lovely pleasant stay taking all matters into consideration.

Room Tip: I don't think there is much difference in the rooms but if you ask the manager as we did, she wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Hopefamily1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Me and my husband just had a great 2 day break at the Nateby Inn. I had booked it using a Groupon offer which I believe was just £59 for 2 nights, I added breakfast so it was a total of £99 for two nights B&B.
The place is lovely and clean, our room (if I really had to pick one negative it would be that our room was quite small but I am really nit picking here) was cosy and good quality furnishing. The towels were lovely and soft and upon checking they were from the Jasper Conran collection from Debenhams.... a step up from most B&B's! The toiletries were lovely too and there was tea and coffee. Comfy bed and soft lovely bedding.

The meals in the pub are homemade, delicious and reasonably priced.

The owners and staff are lovely, very friendly and helpful.

Will definitely be back at some point in the future.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jacbosworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nateby
3.7 mi away
The Black Swan
The Black Swan
#1 of 5 in Ravenstonedale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
4.4 mi away
Brownber Hall
Brownber Hall
#1 of 2 in Newbiggin-on-Lune
5.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Old Croft House
The Old Croft House
#4 of 25 in Kirkby Stephen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Black Bull Hotel
The Black Bull Hotel
#7 of 25 in Kirkby Stephen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Inn at Brough
The Inn at Brough
#1 of 3 in Brough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
3.7 mi away
Fat Lamb Country Inn and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nateby Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nateby Inn

Property: Nateby Inn
Address: Nateby | Kirkby Stephen, Nateby, Kirkby Stephen CA17 4JP, England (Formerly The Black Bull Inn)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Kirkby Stephen > Nateby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Nateby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nateby Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A little gem of a inn offering bed & breakfast 4 star Pet Friendly En-suite accommodation nestled in the rural village of Nateby. Yet it's just 1 mile away from Kirby Stephen. A superb base for those who enjoy outdoor pursuits. An ideal location for a stop over on the Coast to Coast walk. Nateby Inn Kirkby Stephen, is a traditional family owned and run Cumbrian inn offering year-round bed & breakfast 4 star accommodation, home cooked food using only the freshest, locally sourced quality ingredients, We have a well stocked bar offering some of Cumbria's and Yorkshire's finest real ales, a wide choice of wines, a great selection of malt whiskies and a range of soft drinks. Our 4 star accommodation at Nateby Inn Kirkby Stephen comprises of five en-suite bedrooms. All our bedrooms are equipped with the usual creature comforts such as digital flat screen tv, hair dryer, tea and coffee making facilities and we have little extras such as: iphone / ipod docking station alarm clock and HoMedics foot spa. three of our bedrooms have a bath, perfect after a long days walk, especially if you are on the Coast to Coast walk. We offer early bird breakfast on request and a packed lunch for your onward journey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Nateby Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Black Bull Hotel Nateby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing