We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem, fantastic food and ale.”
Review of The Bay Horse Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Winton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Bay Horse Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Winton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stayed at the bayhorse inn from 13th July to 15th July. The inn is very traditional and has real ale on offer with open fires and comfy bar area. The food is of a very high standard and reasonably priced. The staff are very friendly and the owners make you feel at home and are very welcoming. Our rooms was very comfortable with splendid views out the back. The inn is also dog friendly which was one of the main reasons we chose this establishment. We will be back soon.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (127)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 127 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2012

The King-size bed was great. The breakfasts were yummy. The best black pudding I had ever tried. My partner and I slept so well. Highly recommend this warm and friendly establishment.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank auntyhesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2012

We received a very warm and friendly welcome the moment we stepped through the door! this place oozes character with its roaring open fire and exposed ceiling beams.
Drinks were reasonably priced and the meals were excellent with a varied menu on offer.
Our room was spotless and comfortable with plenty of tea and coffee etc, and the king size bed was very comfortable.
Our only disappointment was we were only staying the one night! we would have loved to have been able to stay a bit longer! and would have no hesitation in recommending this establishment!

Top Tip! the sticky toffee pudding is superb!! - but make sure you leave room for the generous portion!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MicknMargaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Situated just off the village green, the Bay Horse Inn is ideally placed for walkers taking advantage of the beautiful Eden valley nearby. The accommodation is clean and comfortable and represents good value for money, particularly as it was rounded off by a high quality breakfast. Dinner the evening before was beautifully cooked and served, alongside a reasonably priced selection of wines too. The bar is of course wonderful, particularly if like ourselves you appreciate good ales and cider, there really isnt anything like a good friendly bar with lovely open fire - particularly when you can stay over and not have to worry about abstaining from the odd tipple or two in order to drive home/elsewhere. Well done to our hosts for creating an ambient atmosphere and we hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cag65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

We spent a weekend here with friends who had previously stayed and wanted us to enjoy the experience. On arrival we were shown to our rooms by a very friendly member of staff, the rooms were comfortable, clean and modern. After settling in we headed down to the bar and enjoyed some real ales sat by a roaring open fire. We stayed for two nights and enjoyed some fantastic food which wouldn't be out of place in a London restaurant. All the staff were extremely friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Rebecca made us feel extremely welcome and is a great hostess. We had a great two days and will definitely be returning, if you get the chance make sure you don't miss out on this little gem.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2011

A Lovely Pub just Outside Kirby Stephen
A fantastic place to stay, had 2 nights here over a weekend, great real-ales and excellent food. Only 3 letting rooms but are of a good quality

Room Tip: Ask for a King-size, they have them in 2 out of the 3 rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IanH6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

We stayed here after travelling up to the lakes after work and were met with a warm welcome from staff. had a lovely evening meal and retired to the Red Room, which was comfortable and clean with plenty of storage should you stay any longer. Breakfast was good and plenty of choice. This was a great place to start our exploration of the Lakes. Pity we were going so far west (Ravenglass) or would have stayed for more than one night. Best hotel of our long weekend (we stopped in 3). Would definately stop again

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Leesa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winton
2.4 mi away
Nateby Inn
Nateby Inn
#1 of 1 in Nateby
506 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Old Croft House
The Old Croft House
#5 of 25 in Kirkby Stephen
164 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#11 of 25 in Kirkby Stephen
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bay Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay Horse Inn

Address: Winton, Kirkby Stephen CA17 4HS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Kirkby Stephen > Winton
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Winton
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
The Bay Horse Hotel Winton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing