We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Really well equipped cottage in a great area...”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Soulby, Kirkby Stephen, Eden District, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Gary W
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Really well equipped cottage in a great area. Perfect in every way. Pet friendly.”
Reviewed August 27, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Stayed for a week in this beautiful and well appointed cottage and had an absolutely great stay in every way. Each of the 4 rooms are clean and decorated in a modern way and it is really cosy with great views across local fields and to the hills. The kitchen has stone floors but as all rooms are equipped with underfloor heating it is a great place to cook and eat. Well equipped it has everything you could ask for for a really comfortable stay including clothes washer and dryer. The sitting room is the main room and has a large table and sofas. It also comes with a good range of books, DVD's and CDs. The bedroom has a large twin bed that is pushed together. it is slightly cooler than the other rooms but this was most welcome. The bathroom is small and well decorated. Outside to the rear is a small private and enclosed yard with seating and table. You also have access to the larger grassed garden but we did not need this. With parking at the front the cottage is in a beautiful area that provides great access to the Dales, Lakes and Scottish borders. We had one problem with the toilet ( that was our fault) and this was repaired within hours.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great cottage in a lovely area
Liked least: Lack of WiFi
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 28, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to share this thoroughly lovely feedback with us all, we are absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your holiday at Cherry Tree Cottage. To hear you describe the property as "perfect in every way" is music to our ears, we will be sure to pass all of your fabulous comments along to the owner! We certainly hope you return for another stay in the very near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichLasPa...
LAS PALMAS
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great find”
Reviewed March 9, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Brilliant cottage, very spacious for a one bed. Warm and cozy, nice unobtrusive hosts. Great value and well equipped/ furnished for the money. The cottage is in a quiet rural location , a central base for exploring the Cumbrian Lakes, Yorkshire and Durham dales. Car essential.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeMLincol...
Lincoln
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Peaceful cottage for a tranqil staycation”
Reviewed March 1, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

My partner booked the cottage through Sykes. It was advertised as pet friendly so we checked that we could take our cat. Following confirmation that this was fine, we packed ourselves and our cat up, and were merrily on our way.

The cottage is situated just outside the hamlet of Soulby, near Kirkby Stephen. The owner gave us directions otherwise we may have not found it ourselves. The location provides an easy starting point for getting to Keswick and Penrith.

Cherry Tree Cottage was simply gorgeous. The décor is tasteful and in keeping with the style of the cottage. Tea, coffee, sugar etc, and towels were provided. As was a bottle of wine for when we arrived and fresh milk. Lovely touches.

It has underfloor heating, and extra bedding/throws. Even though we went in February, we didn't go cold. There is a vast number of maps and leaflets to peruse, which we made use of. Parking permits are also available for Cumbrian Council parking zones.

For cosy nights in, there are numerous DVDs and videos to choose from, as well as Freeview TV. There is also an array of reading material, and an eclectic mix of music albums to listen to on the stereo. There is no Wi-Fi or internet access, that I knew of at least, but neither of us missed it.

We wanted for nothing, and the cat enjoyed the trip too! A*

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views from the windows.
Liked least: Having to leave.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanbrynmair
Reviewed December 12, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bolton
Reviewed September 25, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Doncaster
Reviewed October 23, 2012 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lichfield
Reviewed September 6, 2012 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing