We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful cottage for a tranqil staycation”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Soulby, Kirkby Stephen, Eden District, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JeMLincol...
Lincoln
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Peaceful cottage for a tranqil staycation”
Reviewed March 1, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

My partner booked the cottage through Sykes. It was advertised as pet friendly so we checked that we could take our cat. Following confirmation that this was fine, we packed ourselves and our cat up, and were merrily on our way.

The cottage is situated just outside the hamlet of Soulby, near Kirkby Stephen. The owner gave us directions otherwise we may have not found it ourselves. The location provides an easy starting point for getting to Keswick and Penrith.

Cherry Tree Cottage was simply gorgeous. The décor is tasteful and in keeping with the style of the cottage. Tea, coffee, sugar etc, and towels were provided. As was a bottle of wine for when we arrived and fresh milk. Lovely touches.

It has underfloor heating, and extra bedding/throws. Even though we went in February, we didn't go cold. There is a vast number of maps and leaflets to peruse, which we made use of. Parking permits are also available for Cumbrian Council parking zones.

For cosy nights in, there are numerous DVDs and videos to choose from, as well as Freeview TV. There is also an array of reading material, and an eclectic mix of music albums to listen to on the stereo. There is no Wi-Fi or internet access, that I knew of at least, but neither of us missed it.

We wanted for nothing, and the cat enjoyed the trip too! A*

Date of stay: February 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views from the windows.
Liked least: Having to leave.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanbrynmair
Reviewed December 12, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: August 2013
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bolton
Reviewed September 25, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: June 2013
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Doncaster
Reviewed October 23, 2012 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: August 2012
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lichfield
Reviewed September 6, 2012 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: July 2012
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Northampton
Reviewed February 9, 2011 for a stay in December 2010
2
people found this review helpful

Date of stay: December 2010
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 55-64
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Leeds
Reviewed January 4, 2011 for a stay in November 2010
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: November 2010
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Other
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing