We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow”
Review of Cortijo El Guarda

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cortijo El Guarda
Certificate of Excellence
Den Dolder
1 review
“Wow”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Perfect getaway! We stayed here with 9 friends, to celebrate our friendship and live the life! Our husbands and kids made it possible for us to leave home without worries, in Cortijo El Guarda we were pampered and able to fully relax. We had a fabulous stay with very warm hosts hans, miranda and max.
hopefully one day we will be back

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annelieke C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miranda_and_Hans, Owner at Cortijo El Guarda, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thanks for your review. It was our pleasure to contribute a bit to your girls-out weekend and as such being a bit of part of that. We were happy to hear that all lost items didn't lead to any major issues and that hubbies and kids were (still) happy to see and meet you all at Schiphol Airport.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
162
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

One of the most relaxing vacations we have ever had in breathtaking surroundings. Hans and Miranda made us feel like close friends from years passed within minutes of our arrival. Cannot wait to return and will be recommending this hotel to both friends and family looking to truly escape and unwind. The wonderful food and hospitality were memorable to say the least and we honestly cannot recommend this hotel more highly to any discerning traveller. We'll most definitely be back.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Monique S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miranda_and_Hans, Owner at Cortijo El Guarda, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
We are happy that you had such a great time as the same counted for us. Our mutual love (longing?) for South Africa brought back sweet memories. The next time we won't go karting but will play some golf, not because I feel that I could win, but there you at least can not overtake me with a whole lap!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I visited el cortijo for a short break and found two things jump out:
- Hans and Miranda (owners) find an excellent balance in making you feel at home and taking care of you and facilitating what you want and could do during your stay.
- The place is extremely beautiful and so stylefully decorated which, combined with the environment, makes it ideal to relax and make some daytrips.
A strong and warm recommendation for anyone looking for a place to relax and enjoy Andalucia at its best. No doubts, try it.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank asperine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miranda_and_Hans, Owner at Cortijo El Guarda, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this review and we are very happy that the two of you liked your stay here. It was a real pleasure to have you here. We hope that your golf course in Portugal was successful and that next time you will chose Andalusia as your golf destination and may be spend a few days again at El Guarda.
Anyhow we hope to see the two of you soon again. Hasta pronto!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Stockholms Län, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed August 18, 2012

My boyfriend and I had one lovely night at Miranda and Hans place, Cortijo El Guarda. They made our stay unforgettable! I would definitely recommend this place to everyone who wants to relax and eat good food in wonderful surroundings. Miranda and Hans is a lovely couple that make you feel more than welcome. We will come back as soon as possible!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petra Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElGuarda, Owner at Cortijo El Guarda, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
All our guests are special to us. All bring their own little thing to make El Guarda not only a business but also a lovely place to live.
With guests like you it makes it easy to work here and have fun in the same time. Thanks for passing by!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heemskerk, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We planned a 9 days city trip through Andalusia and our trip started at cortijo El Guarda. Well our choice couldn't be better. El Guarda with its hosts Hans and Miranda located in the typical Spanish rural landscape is an oasis of rest, friendliness and hospitality. It genuinely makes you feel being at home surrounded by friends.
We were lucky, that due to a sudden cancellation we were the only ones staying in el Guarda. It gave us the chance to get a tour along the different rooms. Each one of them has been carefully styled and has it’s own beauty. The rooms are furnished with the best beds we have slept on while being away from home. So after a very good nights sleep it was almost, getting up was very harsh. But the very nice breakfast that was waiting for us helped us getting out of bed.
Writing this and thinking back of El Guarda, gives me that holiday feeling back, that’s when you know something has been good

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AVE_SdV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElGuarda, Owner at Cortijo El Guarda, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Dear A&S,
Thanks for your kind words. However, you forgot to mention our special 'Send clothes to Holland' service :-)
And so you see having a cancellation has its good side as well. It was great having you here. Good luck with your endeavours and till the next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Cortijo El Guarda is a truly special place. My husband and I spent 4 nights at this gorgeous little B&B in May 2012 and can't wait to return. This traditional Andalucian property has been recently renovated and the furnishing and decor is modern and sumptuous whilst complementing the true Spanish character of the house. Bedrooms are centred around a cobbled courtyard and are all unique and individual but equally stunning. The beds are the comfiest that we have ever slept in, so much so that we had to force ourselves out in the morning so that we didn't waste the day!

We spent a lot of our time relaxing by the swimming pool as it was such a beautiful and tranquil place, surrounded by farmland and wild flowers, but there are certainly plenty of opportunities for sightseeing within easy driving distance of the property. We spent an afternoon in Ronda, an unexpectedly stunning city and visited the roman ruins at Acinipo, a fascinating site, without the hoards of tourists (and a friendly donkey as an added bonus!). The drive up to the white villages of Grazalema and Zahara de la Sierra was also breathtaking. Seville, Granada, Cordoba and Jerez de la Frontera are all doable day trips if you can drag yourself away from the pool!

But the best thing about Cortijo El Guarda is the owners Hans and Miranda. They made us feel so welcome from the moment we arrived and nothing was too much trouble. Unfortunately Hans had to return to Holland during our stay but we really felt like we made a friend in Miranda and enjoyed a wonderful meal with her and had some lovely chats over a few glasses of wine in the courtyard. Miranda and I also spent a fabulous afternoon horse riding near Olvera, which was a wonderful way to explore the surrounding coutryside.

If you're looking for a luxurious and relaxing place to stay in the Andalucian countrside then Cortijo el Guarda is without a doubt the place to choose. Trust me, you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: All rooms are gorgeous in their own unique way
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScotsWayhay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElGuarda, Owner at Cortijo El Guarda, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Jee, you should start writing a tourist guide on the is in the heart of Andalucia (as Ronda calls itselves) and indeed Sevilla, Córdoba, Málaga, Jerez and Granada are on our doorstep.
Indeed I (Hans) had to leave for Holland and listened afterwards - a bit jealous - to Miranda´s stories. So you have to return, if only for me.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soest, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed May 1, 2012

From the moment we arrived we felt totally at ease. The warm welcome, the beautiful surroundings and the impressive cortijo made us forget about daily life at once. There is plenty of sightseeing (Ronda, Sevilla, the white villages, etc) to do and Hans&Miranda also have nice tours you can do by car. In addition, you can relax by the fire place with a nice glass of wine and a book from the library. They even have a chef who cooks several nights per week. Very nice if you dont want to go out to town. All in all, a perfect place to stay!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElGuarda, Owner at Cortijo El Guarda, responded to this review, May 4, 2012
Thanks for the kind words, it was great fun to have you here and we are soooo glad that Pluvius didn't ruin your short break, thank God Andalusia is more than just the sun and we are happy to add a bit to that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alcala del Valle
11.2 mi away
Hotel La Fuente De La Higuera
13.2 mi away
Hotel Catalonia Reina Victoria Wellness & Spa
20.1 mi away
Hotel Los Castanos
Hotel Los Castanos
#1 of 1 in Cartajima
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
Molino del Santo
Molino del Santo
#1 of 2 in Benaojan
1,167 reviews
17.0 mi away
Hotel Fuerte Grazalema
Hotel Fuerte Grazalema
#1 of 4 in Grazalema
592 reviews
13.5 mi away
Hotel Enfrente Arte
Hotel Enfrente Arte
#2 of 40 in Ronda
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cortijo El Guarda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cortijo El Guarda

Property: Cortijo El Guarda
Address: Carreterra de Olvera, S/N, Km 5, 11693 Alcala del Valle, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cadiz > Alcala del Valle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Alcala del Valle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cortijo El Guarda 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Guarda is a beautiful 500 year old Cortijo converted into a luxureous Bed and Breakfast, situated in a picturesque valley close to the historical city of Ronda. The elegant country accommodation is a typical Andalucían farm that recently has been renovated with care in order to keep its traditional style, combined with modern comfort. It is the ideal place to get away from it all and enjoy the slow pace of the real Spanish country living! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Cortijo El Guarda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing