We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good food and quiet setting” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Mill Hotel & Restaurant

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Old Mill Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Langtoft B&B and Inns
Helperthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Very good food and quiet setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2012

I recently visited The Old Mill with my family, the week before Christmas.
The food was excellent, I could have no complaints whatsoever and the service was excellent. The setting of the restaurant is brilliant, in a quiet secluded location just outside the village of Langtoft in North Yorkshire.
The staff were very friendly and helpful and the restaurant was very nicely decorated with a modern twist.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank westbrook21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    31
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
28
44
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Crawley, West Sussex, UK
Level Contributor
113 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2011

I stayed on a family visit to East Riding & was very pleased with my stay.

The hotel is fairly remote, based near Langtoft village (N of Driffield, W of Brid).
It houses a restaurant (busy when I was there) & bar, with rooms upstairs. Rooms were reasonably well equipped. No wifi in the room, but flatscreen TV & very comfortable / quiet at night.

I'd half planned a brisk walk to the local village pub in Langtoft but I didn't need to.
The bar had some excellent beers on from Great Newsome & food was very good quality/range. Why go out? Though very busy the owners went out of their way to find me a table, welcome me & fit me in.

Would recommend to anyone visiting the area or wanting to use as a central base for Flamborough Head, Filey or Holderness Coast.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank StuartSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garyno, Owner at The Old Mill Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, February 17, 2012
We welcome all the constructive reviews and we have sorted the problem with poor wifi signal in some rooms.. We now offer good wi fi reception in the bar, restaurant, function room and all bedrooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavetDavet
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2011

Stayed here for 1 night on business with a colleague from the moment we walked in we were made to feel at home the very friendly young lady that greeted us could not have been more helpful, the rooms are nicely decorated and the restaurant food was impeccable i would highly recommend the Sirloin steak it would have been ample for Desperate Dan, the breakfast was the same all good. The owner was also very helpful, the hotel is 20 minutes from Scarborough and situated in a lovely area. Highly recommended and well done to the owners.
Dave Taylor

Room Tip: I only saw 2 rooms mine was a single and had a huge bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DavetDavet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2011

We found the hotel met all the previous reviews we had read. Excellent meal with well appointed rooms. The owners extremely friendly and helpful. Hope you like labradors which were very well looked after. Ideal base for visiting the Wolds.

Room Tip: Twin and double room were very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-upon-Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2011

As the title suggest we held our wedding at this venue and from the first vist to the actual wedding itself the staff couldn't be more helpful. They answered all queries quickly and fully. The bedrooms are finished to a high standard with comfortable beds with everything you would expect in a hotel room.
The breakfasts were very good and the selection of the continental breakfast was excellent, and the full english was well worth the extra and you get plenty.
The day of the wedding the staff were well organized and set the the rooms to a very high standard. The meal and the evening buffet excellet,
The only thing i would suggest would be a designated master of ceremonies to help things along.
all in all a very satisfied newly wed couple.
ryan, fran & finn

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ry_blenkhorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skipton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2011

The rooms & bathrooms were immaculate(crisp white bedding & white fluffy towels) as was the bar & dining room. There was a very friendly feel to The Old Mill and we enjoyed two nights with them. Excellent food in the restaurant, especially the duck, sea bream & crab salad & lovely puds too.

There was lots to do close by, we visited Spurn Point, Thixendale, Warham Percy & Burton Agnes Hall and could have done lots more, very close by, had we stayed longer.

Any unfavourable comments you may read we felt were unjustified and untrue.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lancashireladies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2010

We have just returned from our third visit to the Old Mill and have booked another stay later this year. Lovely hotel with welcoming, helpful staff. Rooms are excellent, comfortable and well equipped. Nice restaurant serving excellent food - we had breakfasts and evening meals. There are 3 resident labrador dogs who are well behaved, gentle, good with visitors (humans & dogs) and always happy to be made a fuss off.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HarveyC75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Langtoft
6.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Bell In Driffield
6.4 mi away
Forty One
Forty One
#5 of 17 in Driffield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
9.1 mi away
Highfield Farm
Highfield Farm
#4 of 17 in Driffield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
The Red Lion
The Red Lion
#9 of 17 in Driffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wold Cottage
Wold Cottage
#1 of 1 in Wold Newton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
6.5 mi away
St Quintin Arms Inn
St Quintin Arms Inn
#2 of 17 in Driffield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Mill Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Mill Hotel & Restaurant

Property: The Old Mill Hotel & Restaurant
Address: The Old Mill Mill Lane, Langtoft, Driffield YO25 3BQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Driffield > Langtoft
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Langtoft
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Mill Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, LateRooms and Despegar.com so you can book your The Old Mill Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing