We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best part of our trip to Portugal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casas do Rio Barcelos
Ranked #1 of 1 Cossourado B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We had the incredible good fortune of spending a night at this beautiful rural boutique hotel whilst walking the Camino Portugues. It was so good, I almost can't think of enough superlatives to describe the experience - superb, friendly customer service, beautiful buildings in a lovely rural setting, delicious food.
Definitely one of the best places I have ever stayed at, and I'm hoping to return and spend longer there next time.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (134)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

49 - 55 of 134 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2012

Perfect place to explore Northern Portugal - Casas do Rio is hidden gem! The owners couldn't be more helpful and welcoming. We stayed in a well decorated and cosy room. Breakfast is one of the highlight, fresh and with a lot of of home-made cakes and juices. Definitely worth staying there!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank camm_sp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

Arrived in Casas Do Rio on our third day of a walking holiday in Portugal. Beautiful house in glorious grounds. We were welcomed with fresh fruit and cool drinks, basked at the swimming pool, were entertained with the family at a local restaurant where we enjoyed delicious regional food. Breakfast was worthy of any 5 star hotel, fresh fruits from the garden, homemade breads and cakes, cold meats and cheeses. Welcome, quality and hospitality was superb. Several members of our group took a break from walking on day 2 to avail of the facilities at the Casa. Congratulations to Christina, Sofia and family. Every good wish for the future. We hope to return very soon.
Anne and Irish Pilgrims

Room Tip: We loved the upstairs room, beside the games room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KerrySullivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

We had booked only one night, but the minute I got in the suite, I decided that I didn't want to go elsewhere for the next night, and we ended up staying 2 nights.
Our suite was beautiful, big and luxury but cozy, which made us feel just like at home, or even better. Every single detail was though to perfection. As it was a little bit cold at night, we asked them to set the fireplace for us, so, our room was nice and warm when we came back from dinner... Nothing better than enjoying some wine by the fire, after a long day of touring!
The estate itself is also beautiful: a lovely garden, swimming pool, a river that passes by, some swans...
The breakfast table was gorgeous with different regional products, cakes and pies baked by the family that same morning, as well as fresh fruits and nice cheeses.
The price you pay is ridiculous compared to the quality and service that you get.
The family that runs this estate is very friendly and is always there to help, without being fussy or so. They just make you feel like going back there for a visit!
I can only wish all the best to Sofia and her family... keep up the good work! :)

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LisbonStories
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

We spent 2 nights in the Casas do Rio and our stay was wonderful. The house and the grounds around it are simply stunning, and the rooms are cosy and comfortable. For breakfast there was a huge array of food- all freshly baked and absolutely delicious. Location wise it was ideal for exploring, as it is close to several interesting towns and not far from Porto which is about 40-45minutes away. The family were super friendly and so helpful- it really made our holiday so much more enjoyable. I can't recommend Casas do Rio enough and I would definatly stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

Situated in the hearth of Minho region, Casas do Rio is one family guest house where we were received as a family member by everyone. Located nearby the luxurious landscape of Geres (National Park), medieval cities and the sea coast can also propose nature contact and relaxing activities. Recently renew facilities with swimming pool and comfortable rooms. We thanks Amaral family their welcome in August 2011.

Room Tip: Direct contact or booking.com
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Susanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casas do Rio Barcelos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casas do Rio Barcelos

Address: Travessa de Navio 75 | Barcelos Municipality, Cossourado, Barcelos 4750-407, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Braga District > Barcelos > Cossourado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Cossourado
Price Range: $105 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near the 3 most beautiful golf courses in the north of Portugal and 15kms away from the beach, this rustic guest house features a large garden with hydrangeas, lots of fruit trees and a lake with swans. A pool shaded by an ancient chestnut and surrounded by grass mixed with mint is unique! The property confines along 180 meters with a romantic small river.Casas do Rio’s rooms feature stone walls and century wooden ceilings, come equipped with a flat-screen TVs. Toiletries are provided in the private bathroom.In the living room we have a library, a small bar, fireplace, plasma TV and CD player. There is also a dining area where you can dinner if requested in advance. A buffet-style breakfast is served daily. Guests can eat in the dining room in the main house or at an old stone fountain by the garden and listen the water falling while your mind fly away.Free WiFi and inside free parking place. Animals are welcome.Casas do Rio has a games room with billiards, table football, darts and others. Hiking through the Barcelos countryside is also possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Casas do Rio Barcelos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing