We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WONDERFUL”
Review of Turin Castle

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kilmaine
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Turin Castle
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed @ Turin Castle to have a small rural wedding- the castle was far more than I had expected, every one of our guests were amazing and the family who stayed with us were as happy and comfortable as we were.

We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alison8521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (25)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 25 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2012

Four couples from upstate New York and one from Leicestershire in England spent a week in Turin Castle, September 15th-22nd 2012. I intended to write a full glowing review, but the previous reviewers said it all. It would be hard to equal theirs. It was a once in a lifetime experience for us. The couple from England are of Irish heritage and are singers and musicians in the folk clubs there. Suffice it to say that we had some terrific traditional Irish songs in the Great Hall. We had a ceildh with Irish dancing and had a ball in the hall. It was just a wonderful week for all of us.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Rich M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marnie F, Owner at Turin Castle, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2012

Thank you for your wonderful comments. It was a pleasure to meet all of you and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay at the castle. Kind regards Marnie & Brendan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Our visit to Turin Castle was to celebrate 25 years of marriage, my family and friends from England were welcomed with open arms. It was truly an experience that will remain in our minds forever. Marnie and Brendan are fantastic to detail leaving a nice wlecome for my beautiful wife and I to celebrate 25 years. We especially enjoyed our evenings by the fire listening to music enjoying a game of chess and simply taking in the beauty of this trip.
Marnie and Brendon thank you for allowing us this opportunity, we hope to visit the Castle somday in the future.
Virginia USA
Basingstoke UK

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Manny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marnie F, Owner at Turin Castle, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, it is very much appreciated. We are delighted you and your family enjoyed your stay at the castle. Kind regards Marnie & Brendan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I happened to win a contest in "Ireland of the Welcomes" magazine and the prize was a weeks stay at Turin Castle. Myself, my husband and 2 friends made the trip in May 2012 and had a very memorable time! The Castle has been richly restored and decorated in Medieval artifacts and decor but also has many modern amenities. We loved walking in the beautiful, serene countryside surrounding the Castle, and exploring the areas of Mayo/Galway counties - Ballinrobe, Shrule, Kilmaine, Headford, Cong, Tuam and Achill Island. The owners, Marnie and Brendan, greeted us upon our arrival and gave us the initial tour of the Castle. We travel to Ireland every year but this was our first experience staying in a self-catering castle. It was truly an unforgettable experience and one that we will remember and share with others for years to come! A great place for families with children!

Room Tip: Lower level rooms are easier to get to - steps are steep and winding to top floor room! Beds are ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Marlinlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marnie F, Owner at Turin Castle, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your holiday at Turin Castle. Your comments are much appreciated. Regarding your room tips, we have never had any complaints from our many vistors about the rooms being cold at anytime of the year even in May !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

My husband and I renewed our 25th wedding vowels here and it was the most amazing experience. We met with the owners, Marnie and Brendan who were warm and inviting on our arrival. They have spent literally years lovingly restoring this 13th century castle to a very glamorous but accurate state, with furnishings and finishings depicting the era. The rooms were beautiful and the beds were so comfortable. This is a self catered castle and the kitchen has all the modern conveniences without taking from the overall tone of castle living. The grounds are amazing too and once again have been beautifully restored. There are secret rooms and enchantment around every corner!! Harry, the groundsman is a call away and always had a story to tell in his delightful accent. If you are looking for the .most enchanting romantic memories and think a castle is going to be your venue, we would not hesitate to give this the highest of praise.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank zsssssss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marnie F, Owner at Turin Castle, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It was a pleasure to meet you and your family and we are absolutely delighted you enjoyed your stay at Turin Castle and you chose Turin Castle to renew your wedding vows. Come back soon ! Slan slan go foill

With all best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

We came to Turin Castle because my ancestor John Varley came from the nearby village of Kilmaine in County Mayo and I wanted to experience seeing what he himself would have seen. He came from Ireland to England 1849, the time of the Great Famine and as a child I had some family 'legends' from my grandmother which I wanted to explore. I waited 50 years and at last found time to visit the land of my forefathers and while searching for accommodation I found the Castle! What a contrast it was to imagine John Varley leaving the area, hungry and poor and I, Angela, his g.g. grand-daughter returning 150 years later to stay in the Castle! My husband Bruce and I , were joined by two friends and we did some travelling locally, to Cong, where the Quiet Man was filmed with John Wayne and where The Field was filmed with Richard Harris. We travelled into the hills of Connemara; drove to Achill Island and did some genealogical searches at the South Mayo Family History centre in Ballinrobe. There is much beauty in this part of Western Ireland, the people are a delight, excellent restaurants, pubs and cafes with great food and warm welcomes. The 13th century castle is self-catering which suited us because we had much to do and see and were out for most meals. The castle has been fully restored and comfortably and tastefully furnished with period furniture, drapes and floorings. The bed was very comfortable with white linen, the storage heating kept us warm, even though we were surrounded by stone walls. We played Irish music from the minstral gallery whenever we were 'at home' and we discovered a deep sense of Irish History that we had not imagined before. No need to imagine, history is is every corner - the pictures you see on the web site are 'real'. It is as good as it looks. We look forward to a return visit with family or friends and enjoying this lovely place again. Next time we come we will be serving a roast beef dinner on that lovely oak refectory table in front of the hugh peat and log fire with wine and music and dancing and singing - to enjoy again a very rare experience indeed.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Angela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marnie F, Owner at Turin Castle, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

Thank you very much for your lovely comments. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards M&B

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

Although Turin Castle has been host to pre wedding visits and reception's, we are the first to be married at Turin Castle. Being the first we were a little worried out being the guinea pig for future weddings, but the whole day (in fact week) was perfect and the owners pulled out all the stops to make it a day we will always remember.

If you want the full fairytale wedding, then this is the real deal, with a grand hall complete with authentic armour and weapons and a massive grounds for the overspill of guests. The castle is only large enough for the B&G and immediate family, but there is a lot of local hotel accommodation of all types to suit most guests needs.

The owners know the local area very well and although not wedding planners, they are more than happy to give local advise on catering, hotels, entertainment, taxi's, local areas of interest etc.

We have already pencilled in our 10th Anniversary, roll on 2021.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank collins2483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Turin Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turin Castle

Address: Kilmaine 001, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Kilmaine
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Kilmaine
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Turin Castle Mayo, Ireland is a unique romantic holiday, wedding, party and conference destination in Ireland providing luxury accommodation tranquility and privacy in a restored castle with every modern convenience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Turin Castle Ireland/Kilmaine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing