We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Secluded but worth the trouble to get there - booking advisable” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Beehive Inn

The Beehive Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Combs
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $24
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Drinks, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: traditional pub in the heart of the peak district, offering great fresh home cooked food 7 days a week.
manchester
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Secluded but worth the trouble to get there - booking advisable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

After a recommendation from a friend four of us have been going to The Beehive for about 4 months. It is a destination pub for us involving a 12 mile drive (designated driver). Tuesday nights have become a favourite time and a quiz is a post meal feature of our visits. We are all impressed by every aspect of the quality of the meals,service and ambiance of The Beehive. There is ample evidence of a hard working and very competent team involved in the running of the pub. Long may they prosper and provide super food and servixce to their loyal customers.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nudgermanchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    67
    18
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very lovely tucked away pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

It is very clear that the management work very hard to run this pub.
The staff are friendly and hard working and the food is spot on.

My only comment would be that they don't seem to cope very well when it's busy. It could have been that they were under staffed. It just seemed that the staff had a lot on their plates. We waited a while for food but knew it was because it was busy. We got forgotten about for a bit so we went to the bar to order dessert.

It is fantastic for such a small pub. Really querky and homely.

The fly problem needs solving though.
We were being bombarded by flies while we were eating which was annoying.
The front door was open because it was hot outside which didn't benefit us eaters inside.

Other that that, I would go again. Lovely beer.
The meat is sourced by local butchers.
And the staff clearly care about where they work.

Helpful?
2 Thank FlickyWicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“What a wonderful pub for a "Pit Stop".”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014

Whilst walking around Combs reservoir in the Peak District we were lucky enough to stumble across The Beehive Inn! We were half way along the walk but I can assure you that we could have easily sat outside the pub in the glorious sunshine all day and got a taxi home. The greeting from the wonderful lady behind the bar was so friendly and welcoming. We only had a pint of beer which happened to be brewed specially for the pub by Wychwood breweries. It was magnificent. Several people were inside the pub eating and all the walkers were outside in the sun. We shall be returning to the pub because they have a lovely self catering house next door to the pub so no taxi's required!? One of England's great traditional pubs and very well worth calling in as you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 474rooster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whaley Bridge
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Local to the area but not been for a while”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014 via mobile

As the title suggest, we live fairly locally but haven't been to the Beehive for a good couple of years. No particular reason for our absence but will certainly be returning in the very near future.
4 adults in attendance, 1 vegetarian. All four meals were of excellent quality. Pleasant and friendly staff. A selection of 3 good cask ales on offer.
Highly recommended and will be back soon.

Helpful?
1 Thank Dazzlinhowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Always Good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

I meet up with with a circle of friends about four times a year and we always choose The Beehive as we know we will have a good meal in a cosy relaxed atmosphere. There is plenty of choice on the menu. We have never been disappointed with service and the cost in very reasonable.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ann T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Beehive Inn also viewed

Chinley, Derbyshire
Chapel-en-le-Frith, Peak District National Park
 
Kettleshulme, Cheshire
Chinley, Derbyshire
 

Been to The Beehive Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing