We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Punches above its weight” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Twin Oaks Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Twin Oaks Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Palterton
Certificate of Excellence
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
496 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“Punches above its weight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

This is a three star hotel so do not expect The Ritz. I was in the area with the intention of visiting Hardwick Hall, Bolsover Castle and Chatsworth and came accross Twin Oaks after a Google search.

The Hotel is very close to junction 29 on the M1 and was easy to find. The staff were very helpful. The room was smart and clean and tidy. The food was fine and the menu was vegetarian friendly.

I have no complaints and would say "well done" to the staff and management.

Room Tip: We were in twin room 7 and it was fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    61
    21
    3
    4
See reviews for
40
85
6
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

The hotel we booked at had no record of our booking but suggested we try here. We're glad we did because the food was excellent, the room was lovely including a really good power shower. The staff made us feel very welcome after the nasty experience of being turned away by another hotel.

Try the smoke salmon ad scrambled eggs for breakfast - really delicious

Room Tip: Try the superior double - very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenLongsight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night mid July. Surprised how close it was to motorway so easy to get to although you couldn't see or really hear traffic from the hotel. Lovely welcome from reception staff. Our room was on 1st floor. Room very clean, tidy with nice modern furnishings and bathroom with very good shower. Room slightly on small side and bathroom compact but just fine for a one night stay. On a hot stuffy day in July it was warm in the room but once the window was opened it soon cooled down. Enjoyed nice selection of drinks in the bar. Breakfast was buffet style with basic selection of cereal, yogurts , toast and hot items for cooked breakfast. It was have what you want for set price of around £8. Departure was quick and simple and only give mins drive from Hardwick Hall.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosepetal84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

This hotel was very nice with nice rooms an friendly staff the food was also nice I liked the room sizes they vary very we'll we had room 6 which had an outside door which was nice we also had room 5 as the 2 joined to make a family room

Room Tip: Any room is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ginger_lukey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

Right next to M1 making it a great stop off on way up North. Very comfy rooms all newly refurbished. Staff were great - stayed open a bit longer to fix us dinner after traffic on motorway held us up. We had two lovely steaks and a bottle of wine for dinner.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KathleenWH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

stayed here for 3 nights in may. Easy to access from Motor way, convenient to Chesterfield and Mansfield. Very nice room, comfy bed, excellent shower. Nice towel warmer in bathroom, very good storage in room, overall a pleasant experience.

A bit out in the country, nice and quiet. handy for Hardwick Hall, Bolsover Castle, Chesterfield [nice town market on Saturdays].

Didn't have a chance to check out the bar or dining room. the desk staff were very helpful.

Downside, very steep stairs, and no lift.

Good TV and wifi.

Room Tip: If stairs are an issue for you, should select a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

Booked this hotel last minute, booked a suite BB for one night Sat/Sun. Within 10 mins of the booking going through I recieved a phone call from the hotel informing us that they had a wedding booked for that night and that the bistro would be closed but a full menu would be available in a small function room should we want dinner. We were also told that there would be a disco for the wedding party and warned that the bar would be busy on that night, as it was the opening match for England in the World Cup we felt that the disco wouldn't be a problem as we would be up late anyway. The receptionist said that they would allocate a suite as far away from the festivities as possible.
We arrived at reception and were greeted by a smiling young lady who enquired about our day, explained about the function again, assured us that dinner would be possible and that a few of the other none wedding guests had booked in for dinner, we decided to book a table.
As stated our room was at the far end of the corridor, the reception area was noisy however having gone through the first fire door silence reigned and so it continued.
The bedroom was compact but large enough to accommode the super comfortable superking size bed the soft furnishings were beautiful,large flat screen wall mounted TV, storage okay for a short stay, the living room part of the suite was adequate with a large chair/ small sofa, a desk/dressing table, another flat screen TV, tea coffee hair drier etc patio doors through to a furnished decked patio/back yard with a lovely view. Through the living room to a modern clean bathroom/ shower room. Having spent part of our childhood in miners cottages we did feel as if we had gone back in time, well done the owner of this unusual hotel for carrying the concept off so well.

Dinner was excellent and well presented very much bistro style/pub grub, service was excellent every attention was given to the few diners in isolation so to speak.
We returned to our room happy bunnies drinks in hand ready for the England match, the disco was in full swing in the bar area, again once through the fire doors total silence, we had a very peacefull night.


Breakfast however was very disappointing, only cereal and orange juice to start, we opted for the cooked full english breakfast which was a mistake, it was obvious we had a different chef in the kitchen, the sausage was hard, beans were sloppy as was the chopped tinned tomatoes served ( a first for us ) resulting in floating egg and bacon, very poor presentation. On a plus side the young man serving was very pleasant and efficient.
That said we left the hotel having had a very relaxing pleasant stay and will return next time we are in the area although maybe on room only basis.

Room Tip: Booked one of the suites very comfy more space bath and shower plus patio with table and chairs with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palterton
4.9 mi away
Ringwood Hall Hotel
Ringwood Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Brimington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
7.2 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
5.6 mi away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#1 of 15 in Chesterfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Buckingham's Hotel
Buckingham's Hotel
#13 of 15 in Chesterfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
6.0 mi away
Ibis Chesterfield North
Ibis Chesterfield North
#1 of 1 in Barlborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
7.3 mi away
Sandpiper Hotel
Sandpiper Hotel
#9 of 15 in Chesterfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Twin Oaks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twin Oaks Hotel

Property: Twin Oaks Hotel
Address: Ramcroft, Palterton, Chesterfield S44 6UZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Chesterfield > Palterton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Palterton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Twin Oaks Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Twin Oaks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing