We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely venue, cooling breezes, nice views, ok food”
Review of Belmont Estate

Belmont Estate
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Belmont
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Lovely venue, cooling breezes, nice views, ok food”
Reviewed March 5, 2012

Like so many places in Grenada, the dining experience is enhanced if you are not sweating like a pig. Belmont achieves this by having its huge restaurant open on all four sides with the building's roof on top. So many nice touches...until you look up and see the lighting consists of bare light bulbs hanging down on ropes like a KGB interrogation room. Just don't look up...

Food was Grenadian buffet, so it was possible to sample some different things withou committing too heavily to any one item before trying. Range was sufficient but not wide. Quality was good but not great. Slightly overpriced at EC 45 pp + tax + 10% sc. That is without drinks.

This is basically a tour group pit stop. They are geared up for the cruise people. So if you get there when it opens at 12, you will find yourslf waiting for the buffet to be ready --- it is timed for the cruise coach. All very touristy, but pleasant nonetheless.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Canoemum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    50
    17
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
cary, nc
Level Contributor
74 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Kelly, our guide was 5*, food not worth it”
Reviewed January 2, 2012

We loved out guide and walking around this beautiful plantation. The food, however was over priced and the service was ssslllloooowww. Items in gift shop were available in town cheaper. Major bug bites up by the monkey cage, so ask for some bug spray before you go up.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank four-from-nc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
75 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“incredible views, delicious food, lovely people”
Reviewed November 15, 2011

We stopped here for lunch today during a tour with Mandoo. Lunch was absolutely delicious. I'm not a fan of fruit juices, however the juice I had there was freshly squeezed and was probably the best fruit drink I've ever had. We had an appetizer, a buffet lunch, and dessert. I'm sorry I can't remember everything I had, I just know that I loved it all.

I can't really speak about the price because it was included in our tour. But honestly, I wouldn't have been picky about the price considering how good the food was. And the views! just beautiful.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ms_golightly19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, NC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good food, great attraction for chocolate lovers”
Reviewed November 8, 2011

My wife and I visited Belmont Estate in late October, 2011. We timed our drive from the southwest to arrive in time for the lunch buffet and then take the “cocoa tour”. Both are recommended.

The food served at lunch is not itself exceptional, but it was all good and offered a variety of local dishes buffet-style – so you can sample a number of dishes. The guests were a mix of tourists and locals. The open air setting is attractive and overlooks the cocoa-drying beds and green hills beyond, with a distant sliver of blue ocean.

The tour is informative and interesting. You’ll see cocoa trees, cocoa pods, fermenting beans, and drying beans. They let us take our shoes off and walk through the drying cocoa beans (part of the process – staff do so every 30 minutes). At the end they gave us a little sample of hot “cocoa tea” which was delicious if not precisely what one craves after 30 minutes walking around in the tropical sun.

There are ample stocks of the resulting Grenada Chocolate Company products for sale after the tour, these are sold all over Grenada.

Of note, my wife (who generally dislikes car travel anywhere) found driving in Grenada to be predictably harrowing. The trip to Belmont Estate is a long one by car, and she did not enjoy it. She nonetheless agreed that the estate itself was worth a visit. A likely “must” for the chocoholics in your party, and recommended for all.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank browdl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sausalito, CA
Level Contributor
168 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Low Key Perfection”
Reviewed September 12, 2011

What a great place Belmont Estate is. First of all, it is peaceful and beautiful. It has cool stuff including people stomping around in trays of chocolate, cocoa trees and ancient buildings. You would think they wouldn't attend to the food, since there is so much of a draw for other things, but the food is really, really good.

We dined on the buffet and this was not your American hotel buffet by any means. The food seemed home grown and thought out. The dining room is a beautiful open air building with impressive construction. It looks out on the peaceful grounds. The service is professional and low key.

It's just an all around very nice place and was my favorite experience on the island (and I love everything about Grenada.) The only bad part is you really wish you could stay the night.

  • Visited December 2010
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank staylonger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Belmont Estate also viewed

St. George's, Saint George Parish
 
Lance aux Epines, Saint George Parish
St. George's, Saint George Parish
 

Been to Belmont Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing