We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top marks all round!”
Review of The Crown

The Crown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: British, Bar, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Crown is a lovely refurbished Free House. The front of the Crown is a large public bar with an open fireplace. In the centre of the pub is a wine Bar with comfortable seating and a cosy corner for pre dinner drinks. The rest of the Crown is made up of two Restaurant areas, both of which can be hired for Private Dining. The Oak Room, holds up to 40 seated and The Crown Room, for up to 20. Outside there is s a large terrace and secluded garden, making it ideal for families, al fresco dining in the summer months and events for up to 200 people. The restaurant is open from Tuesday - Sunday and offers a set lunch, a la carte and Sunday lunch menus. We always use local and seasonal specialties where possible. The bar is open: Monday 5pm-9pm, Tuesday - Saturday 12noon-11pm, Sunday 12noon-8pm.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We went to the Crown early evening yesterday & we were welcomed by the very friendly & ultra professional manager Annabel. From the moment we walked in she was attentive & was genuinely happy to take our orders. All of the food ordered arrived rapidly & was presented in the very best way possible, we were served really nice (huge by the way!) beef burgers which came in nice baps. We also went for the ever so tasty triple cooked chips (great portions provided) Our 2 young children had the really nice sausage rolls, the deserts all looked fantastic but we had to unfortunately depart as the kids were tired. Annabel was also great with our children so all round a totally memorable eating out experience. We will have no hesitation in recommending the Crown & it's new team & look forward to dining there again very soon. When you go out to eat you simply want 3 things: great food(well done to the chef BTW) great service & great prices and we recieved them all. Well done guys! PS wish we had been in sooner now.....

Rgds

Dave & Anna - Granborough

1  Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (203)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

164 - 168 of 203 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2014

Back in 2013, on our first visit to the pub before the renovations were complete, we were keen to have a meal. In the meantime we had read some of the previous comments on Tripadvisor, and wondered what the service would be like. We came as a family with children. We had a fabulous evening. The food was delicious. The staff in the bar and restaurant were very friendly. We really couldn't fault it and will definitely return. Great addition to the area.

1  Thank WispaRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Visited for the first time this weekend. Review would have been an 'Excellent' if not for details below. Certainly will return to give another chance for an excellent which I am sure the team could achieve.
Food is fantastic - great presentation and full of taste.
The autumn picnic starter was novel (would suggest a crispier pork pie crust but just my personal taste perhaps). Mrs Stone Cold had pheasant kiev to start and that was really good. I had the braised pork cheek for main and it is superb, however, the popcorn on the plate seemed a bit 'fad'ish - it didn't add anything to the dish. Mrs SC's pan roasted turbot with ox tail was top notch.
Service throughout starters and mains was attentive but unfortunately dipped sharply once the large party in the dining room needed serving (perhaps a case of understaffing?). My dessert was subsequently cancelled after a fifteen minute wait for it.

I would agree that the website needs to clarify the taster menu as what is shown on the website isn't what is offered in the restaurant - the online manu is only an example of the type of dishes.

Really nice pint of Pedigree from well-kept pipes and nicely chilled Fernlands Sauvignon.

Overall cost was £100 including tip - two glasses of wine, one pint, one coke, two starters, two mains, petit fours, two coffees and a tea.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank StoneColdTricky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Having just stopped off for lunch on route elsewhere, we really could not believe the quality of food at this wonderful little pub/restaurant. The food is exceptional as is the service and outstanding value for money. It's definitely worth a detour if you are in the area. We will be returning!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Maggie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

From emergent improving pub food to unnecessarily complicated and snooty in a few short months. And the new online menus are still worse. What had, we thought become an attractive unassuming village pub with very good food, and a few front of house foibles, is fast becoming a pretentious and expensive place, which we find difficult to enjoy and relax in. I wonder quite what market the owner and chef are tilting at? I score it two. Not so much poor as off-puting and out of our league. Look at the latest web pages and you will see what I mean.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank HillyCirencester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby888, Owner at The Crown, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

Dear Hilly
I am sorry that your visit to The Crown was not enjoyable. I hate to think that we came across to you as "complicated, snooty, pretentious and expensive" because that is certainly not what we set out to be.
However, I think it is important to recognise that The Crown is not just a pub; it is a pub and restaurant. We are therefore aiming to offer more than just traditional pub food and this is reflected in our two standard menus - The Crown Classics, for inexpensive homemade pub grub and The Crown Jewels, for unashamedly top restaurant food. Both these menus are on the website, as you say, but The Crown Classics have hardly changed since we opened and The Crown Jewels change every week. We also have a special six course Valentine's menu on the website, which at £35 per head is very competitive in this area.
In terms of the market we are "tilting" at, I would therefore say that we are attempting to cover a broad spectrum of tastes and price expectations, in the hope that we are not out of anyone's league.
I think most of the other reviews suggest that we are moving in the right direction, but interestingly a few clearly don't. We always sit down and analyse these negative reviews and they have led to changes, but we also have to accept that sometimes things just don't click as they should. I hope and sincerely believe that if you visit us again you'll find that we are back to being that attractive village pub and restaurant offering very good food...and great value for money.
Yours sincerely
Toby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Crown also viewed

Adstock, Aylesbury Vale
North Marston, Buckinghamshire
 
Beachampton, Aylesbury Vale
 
Winslow, Aylesbury Vale
Winslow, Aylesbury Vale
 

Been to The Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing