We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to eat, drink and be merry!!!”

Restaurant Can Pere
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Anyos
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $44
Cuisines: European, Spanish, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A great place to eat, drink and be merry!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2012

I have been to this restaurant many times over the last 10 years, and have never had a bad experience. The location is in Anyos just outside of Andorra La Vella and is easy to get to. The view is great looking out towards Pal, and Arinsal, as well as down the valley towards the capital from its lofty view. The food is amazing, i am not the greatest experimenter in food but even the normal dishes are prepared to a gret standard. My friend does love great food and she absolutely loved it as well. The wine selection is mind boggling and as a girl who likes the finer wines i really appreciate that. Both Dave the owner and Allison are very knowledgeable on the wines and offer excellent advice on the choice. The service has not changed in the years i have been visiting, very friendly. Its nice to go to a place where if youve been before they will remember you, and if you're new you'll always be welcome. All i can say about this place is if you are in Andorra and want to find a great place to eat and relax the Can Pere is for you.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kat806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    23
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
County antrim
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“average English pub grub”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

Can't see the big attraction with this bar/restaurant.My wife and i went there with our four teenage kids to celebrate our oldest daughter's birthday, a decision based on all the outstanding reviews.
The layout of this small place is more akin to a bar than a restaurant. We were sandwiched at a table between a large group of loud English clients smoking and drinking along the bar counter and a chain smoking couple to the other side. The atmosphere was very much that of a pub rather than a restaurant.

The menu is a rather odd collection of dishes which i would describe as amateur English pub grub. The only steak available is fillet which appears as an ingredient in two other dishes- an entrecôte would have been a much more acceptable. Two options for pies beef and chicken, are really an casserole with a piece of cooked pastry placed on top. The food was tasty but not big in quantity -one small roast potato per person along with cabbage and carrots for mains.You will really need a starter and main to fill you.
No house white wine and the tarragon sauce for the chicken was replaced with mushroom sauce.

The level of noise from other diners and smokey atmosphere did not make for a pleasant dining experience and with the average price for a starter and main being around 20€ (30€ if you want the fillet steak) along with a pricey wine list it was not value for money in Andorra.
There are numerous restaurants in Andorra La Vella which serve three course menus of the day for the price of a main here where there is room to separate smoking and non smoking diners.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CambridgeK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAVEAndorra, Owner at Restaurant Can Pere, responded to this review, February 26, 2012
Thank-you for your review,and sorry you found the smoking issue a problem,as most English people do these days.You came to us on a particularly busy night,with alot of our regular customers deciiding to come out for dinner as well.Yes we are a small friendly restaurant,so it is impossible to separate non-smokers(there is no anti-smoking law in Andorra),however we do have very strong extraction systems which ussually keeps the restaurant pretty smoke free,and have never had any complaints about this before.We serve a variety of dishes you will not find on other menus in Andorra,with alot of ingredients and spices purchased out of Andorra,as they are either not available here or are of poor quality.Yes you can get a cheap menu of the day in Andorra La Vella,but you get what you pay for and it is usually very uninteresting,and not of good quality.Sorry you felt you did`nt get enough food,we normally offer extra vegetables and potatoes you only have to ask.With regards to the filet steak-entrecote issue I have found in Andorra that the entrecote can be very unreliable ,fatty ,tough etc.so we only serve filet as we know we can guarantee the quality.With the nice clean plates that came back to the kitchen we assumed you had enjoyed your dinner.best wishes Dave.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
171 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Still a gem in Andorra”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2012

Given the recent controversy I should state that I neither own any part of this restaurant nor am I related to the owners or staff. That being said our visit this year to Andorra was accompanied by more than one dinner at Can Pere. The latest dinner featured duck breasts in a blueberry sauce. In a word: superb! The prawn and bacon cocktail starter is always a treat and it did not disappoint this time. The atmosphere is cozy and the background music is quiet and appropriate. In fact I did not notice the music until I realized how unobtrusive it is. So what do you get when you visit this restaurant? Great food, great selection, great service and great environment for a dining experience. There is a reason we make this part of our trips to Andorra.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ChathamTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good english style restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2011

I've found this place by tripadvisor. I am not familiar with 'Bob, Dave and Alison' like others reviewers... :) But well, they have a good homemade meal. We was surprised by several dishes, like avocados in the oven. And you have to taste classic pies. My wife was impressed by the classic english christmas cake.
Good, but not excellent. Wine is quite expensive. Not haute cuisine, just homemade. Ideally if you're hungry :)

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Timz_ru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan de Alicante, Spain
1 review
“a gem in the mountains”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2011

I first visited Can Pere in the early 90's when i was working in Arinsal, and every time i am in Andorra it is the first place i eat at. Every meal and waitering service has been spot on.
I recomend any of the curries, and especially the Irish coffee.
Bob, Dave and Alison always have a smile on their faces, and each customer is made to feel special.

  • Visited November 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank paulberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Can Pere also viewed

Andorra la Vella, Andorra la Vella Parish
 
Sispony, La Massana Parish
Andorra la Vella, Andorra la Vella Parish
 

Been to Restaurant Can Pere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing