We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (508)
Filter reviews
508 results
Traveler rating
268
172
42
16
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
268
172
42
16
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplymouth soundjail aledartmoor national parkhotel is dog friendlyphoenix restaurantgroupon voucherjacuzzi bathdaily specialscooked to perfectionbooked a tablefull englishreception desktop floortea and coffee making facilitiesplymouth areacooked breakfastfour poster bed
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 508 reviews
Reviewed December 4, 2017 via mobile

The staff are so welcoming. Felt at home instantly. The room was clean and a good size. The bed was so comfy.
We had a meal in the Phoenix restaurant of steak. They know how to cook steak! And to top.it off my favourite ale. JAIL ALE.
Breakfast continued the relaxed and attentive stay.
I'm sure there must be some negative but I seriously can't think of any!

Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank pringlePlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2017 via mobile

This was our second stay at the moorland hotel & returned as we enjoyed our last visit & being a groupon offer was excellent value.
The bed this time was far too soft & unsupportive for our taste & the room temperature very hot , not sure why but we had to have our windows open in November & the radiator was off ! However our main reason for staying was the hotel was it being dog friendly.
Last time we were able to bring our dog down to breakfast in the bar area as their was a buffet in the dining area. This time due to an environmental inspection dogs have to stay in the room or locked up in the car. There is no way our dog would be left in a car and we told the staff that she would bark if left in the room risking disturbing other guests. We tried this but we could hear our dog barking and getting distressed. We only had one option to have our breakfast separately, not ideal. Had we realised this we probably wouldn’t have booked this hotel. Luckily on day 2 our mum and dad stayed at the hotel so we took it in turns to dog sit.
That said the cooked breakfast was very good.
We thought that a door between the bar area or utilising the other dining room could be a solution to appease the inspector as the hotel is extremely popular with dog owners.
We ate in the restaurant and they do allow dogs in certain areas for the evening meal. The Steaks we ate were superb really tasty, cooked perfectly and tender without a scrap of fat. We shared a cheese board which was pretty good too.
We loved the local walks and the shawn prior bridge walk just down the road was lovely.
We liked the bar area which was comfortable to sit and enjoy a drink.
Overall we enjoyed our stay and would recommend it.

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank steveissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2017

Stayed in room 6 ...was quite noisy with people going to their rooms but overall excellent value for money (booked thru groupon). Upgraded to full English breakfast which was fab, staff all extremely friendly ...excellent service throughout the whole stay. Bedroom lovely and warm and clean. (Few cobwebs around coving but not end of the world lol) We had no problem with hot water and again bathroom clean and tidy. Not a top class hotel but then you're not paying top hotel monies either ...will deffo stay again and recommend to others !

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank c00mbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2017

Booked a Groupon deal and it was wonderful. We stayed in room 1 which is a dog friendly twin room on the first floor this was because my elderly mother struggles with stairs so it was easier than the second floor. The room was a little small with a big dog who's bed is almost as big as the singles in the room! As we were only there to sleep it was fine and the view across the moor to Plymouth sound and breakwater was superb and for November in Plymouth we had a lovely bright sunny day. The first night the room seemed a little noisy especially as it is above the entrance so you hear a lot of coming and going, but i used to it. I suppose it depends if you a light sleeper like me. The beds were lovely and comfortable warm duvets and really good pillows. We had the buffet breakfast which was fine and on our last morning had the cooked breakfast which was delicious. The is a genuine dog friendly hotel as oppose to some which I find are more dog tolerant than really friendly. And of course a perfect location right on the moor for dog walking. The staff were lovely with nothing too much trouble. We sat in the bar Sunday night with our dog who was little anxious as it was quite lively to the bar lady showed us another quieter lounge room just off the bar which was ideal. We had a meal in the restaurant on our final night and the food was superb they also have an area in the restaurant slightly away from other diners where the we could dine with our dog who laid quietly beside us which was just brilliant as he can be a little nervous in a strange room on his own. All in all it was a very pleasant stay ideal for the dog, lovely staff, very clean and a great location. 10 minutes down Borringdon Hill and you are into Plympton or in the other direction about 15 mins to Yelverton. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Second floor at the front will provide best views and a little quieter
  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank alcollick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2017

A lovely friendly clean hotel with amazing staff and views. We stayed for 2 nights and enjoyed every minute of it, the room wasn't big but was adequate with lovely views over the countryside and to the sound. The food was excellent we enjoyed our meals on both nights, very good on quality and flavour. breakfasts were very good too. The staff were really all very pleasant and friendly nothing too much trouble. well worth a visit and so near to so much.

Stayed: November 2017
1  Thank staustellpatlor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews