We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”
Review of Moorland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Moorland Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wotter
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Our first trip to the hotel for Sunday lunch, WOW. The food was lovely, really well cooked and presented. The staff were so friendly and welcoming. We will definitely be returning soon with friends to try the steaks.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debs R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    157
    40
    14
    9
See reviews for
70
262
14
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Alton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2014

On the outside it looks tired, but inside its OK. The staff I encountered were friendly and the room I had (14) had been refurbished - the bathroom was very nice. I have the optional breakfast and it set me up nicely for the day.

Obviously the hotel is part way through modernisation, but if they continue they will have a very nice place.

Room Tip: If you can get a room facing Plymouth you will get a cracking view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bluecardholder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

It's maybe a hotel you would just drive by but do take time to stop for even a drink. It's got wonderful views from the deck. I stayed on an overnight and can't remember the last time I entered a hotel and was made to feel so welcome. The young staff were a joy and the evening meal was cooked to perfection. Apparently the owner of the hotel does the cooking and she certainly can!
The rooms were clean and comfortable, the bathroom offered a shower over a lovely modern bath and hot water in abundance. I really would recommend this to anyone and hope they have the same experience as I did. Certainly a place I would return to just for an evening meal if I was in the area.

Room Tip: It seems all rooms have a view. the rear of the hotel has a better view over the moor. I stayed at t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

We've stayed at the Moorland a few times and even had our wedding party there and we absolutely love it. As well as great food, amazing views and a fab location the staff at the hotel are super friendly and welcoming. In particular, Patty, one of the owners, is really lovely and friendly. We strongly recommend this hotel for a meal, stay or even wedding. It's a relaxed, down-to-earth place that looks after you perfectly. We even had our dog at our wedding and staying in our room and had the perfect day.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a balcony and/or view towards Plymouth
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ferperu2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014

arrived at the hotel through narrow country lanes. with post code sat nav took me right to it. i was aware this hotel is dog friendly and as 4/5 dogs were getting ready to go for a walk had to enter the hotel from the patio entrance. however no problems booking in was quick and efficent. the room i had whilst small was very well appointed. and as it was for single occupancy was acceptable. didnt have breakfast as i was leaving very early, although i know they would have tried to accomodate me, the dinners were good but would have been happy with a greater variety. all the staff were very friendly and proffessional. will defintely be staying again

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tedbray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marigot, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

Yet another awesome stay at The Moorland!
Rose & Patti and the staff have made this place stunning in all areas, it is definitely home from home and excellent value for money.
We just wish we could visit more often!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Thecaptains9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Lovely spacious rooms, friendly non intrusive staff who are keen to help, very accomidating, they even fired up the kitchen for us as the restaurant was fully booked, and jail ale on tap, great food, have the steak.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lurch8910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wotter
3.5 mi away
Moorland Garden Hotel
Moorland Garden Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yelverton
596 reviews
2.7 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
4.9 mi away
The Smithaleigh Hotel
The Smithaleigh Hotel
#3 of 3 in Plympton
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
1,959 reviews
2.1 mi away
Elfordleigh Hotel
Elfordleigh Hotel
#15 of 21 in Plymouth
443 reviews
6.5 mi away
Kitley House Hotel
Kitley House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Yealmpton
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moorland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moorland Hotel

Property: Moorland Hotel
Address: Wotter | Shaugh Prior, Wotter PL7 5HP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Wotter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wotter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Moorland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Moorland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moorland Hotel Plymouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing