We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No real expectations.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Moorland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Moorland Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wotter
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“No real expectations.”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We arranged a family meal at this hotel for Saturday 7th December. Unable to book anywhere 'decent' in Plymouth, so we thought we'd give this a try.

What a great surprise, good English food, cooked as we asked it to be cooked, and a good selection of wines and a very decent Champagne.

Very simply, we will book again, and next time we'll bring more people.

Very nice food, well served and we weren't booted out some 2 hours after we'd finished the meal.

Enjoyable and well done.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PlymouthPilgrims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    150
    38
    14
    9
See reviews for
68
250
14
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We paid extra for a suite which enjoyed the spectacular views over Plymouth sound, the room was very large with two TVs but with a very small dirty bathroom, mould around the bottom of the shower and thick dust on the skirting board, the extractor fan although working needed replacing or a thorough clean, the rest of the suite was well used,there was a continuous noise throughout the night from something outside the room that resembled an extractor fan, on the second night the party downstairs was so loud we felt we were part of the celebrations.


I booked a table for both nights of our stay the first night 7pm we enjoyed our meal the service was excellent both my steak and my Wifes chicken beautifully cooked, the staff were also attentive but not overbearing allowing us to enjoy our meal, the second night we were told we could only have a table at 08-30 as their was a large party coming in at 7pm this was to late for us and we went to a nearby pub to eat my point is we were guests at the hotel and would expect to be catered for at a more reasonable time.

The foyer was very shabby and in need of a good clean, all of the staff were friendly and polite with nothing being to much trouble for them.

We will not return.

Room Tip: make sure your room is at the back and I would think the top floor might be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tracolDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

I only stayed long enough to get the computer out and book another hotel. Very disappointing. Not what I expected of Premier Inn. The hotel seemed dated, reception seemed dirty, run down, and smelled of animal. We were even confronted by a Rottweiler barking outside of the bedroom doors.

Frankly, I am sure the staff are great people, but I am astounded that the hotel has such a high rating. I can only assume there are bogus reviews being written.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PIRA75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwest
Level Contributor
82 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stayed here for a couple of days recently. I don't know whether the owners are reading this but we nearly walked out again after entering the foyer. It is obvious that a lot of the hotel is/has undergone refurbishment recently but personally I would have done the reception area first. The carpet is drab, horrible and looks dirty and there is an strange odour around. The white paintwork is very battered and also looked dirty on the day we arrived. We felt this would reflect the rest of the hotel but thankfully it did not. The room we stayed in was bright, newly decorated and had a fantastic view. The furnishings and bed linen were of good hotel quality. The bathroom was modern and clean. Yes, the tap wobbled every time you used it and the toilet roll holder wasn't straight so the toilet roll kept falling off, but we didn't mind as we slept well and the view more than compensated for minor irritations.

The restaurant is extremely good. I don't usually eat steak but tried it after reading previous reviews and it certainly deserves mention. It was delicious as were the hand cut chips and, frankly, everything else we tasted over 2 nights. However, after sampling the most delicious full English breakfast on our first morning and wondering why previous reviewers had complained about the quality of the breakfast, I discovered why on the second morning. I believe a different cook was on duty on the Friday morning and breakfast was a totally different affair. I was served a very oily fried egg (I hate fried eggs but had not been given the option unlike the first morning), cold mushrooms, tepid mushy baked beans, and cold fried tomatoes. The bacon and sausage were overcooked and had obviously been kept warm so had shrunk. I filled up on the very nice rustic wholemeal toast but felt very disappointed as had been so looking forward to a repeat of the delicious breakfast of the previous day.

Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay there. If we stayed again, as we most probably will, we will skip breakfast, have a lie in, and eat it elsewhere. We felt 0845 for the last breakfast order is OK for business visitors, but we were on holiday and found this a little too early plus breakfast on day 2 was certainly not worth the £8 a head, though easily worth it on the first day!

All the staff were extremely friendly, and although we don't have dogs, we loved seeing them around the place. We never saw them in the eating areas and really that would not have bothered us. Overall a lovely little country hotel that merits a second visit.

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor at the back of the hotel. Rooms at the front overlook the road, rooms at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tillyfloss_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

just got back from this lovely hotel, spent 2 nights and wish it had been more. Not much to look at from the outside but once you stepped through the door the staff were warm and welcoming and we were in our room in no time. The décor was modern and comfortable, lovely bar and staff. Noticed it was dog friendly, will definitely bring mine next time. Had a gorgeous meal in the steak restaurant which is very comfortable, staff here were also very concentious. Breakfast also very nice but choices except for full English were on the back of the menu so missed eggs benedict the first morning. But, the chef cooked it especially for us the next morning when we explained. nothing is too much trouble at this hotel and will be staying again. So much better than chain type city hotels which we normally use.

Room Tip: Lovely views from Rooms 1 and 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShaSha147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We arrived at this out of the way hotel on a Friday evening. Although its location was remote, there were very many cars in the car park, seemingly belonging to a wedding party scheduled for the following day. The entrance was at the back, a little like a tradesmans entrance, the idea of which was reinforced by seeing someone up a ladder in a side room changing a light bulb at 10 pm.. It was noisy as we entered, and we had to wait a while as all the staff seemed to be preoccupied somewhere else. I had a sense of unease, because it didn't look as if the hotel had been redecorated since the 1960's, and everywhere looked tired and jaded, not helped by a liberal sprinkling of foul smelling carpet spray in the corridors.
Eventually we were given a room that turned out to be immediately above the bar, (room 3) and when the noise was still going on at 23.45, I had to get out of bed and go down to plead for quiet.
In the morning we chose the full English breakfast, which was at £8.00 pretty expensive for the one slice of bacon, one tasteless sausage, one tomato and minuscule helping of beans, along with some small slices of toast.
This was a special weekend trip down to Plymouth uni open day with my daughter, and I have to say I was embarrassed that I'd picked somewhere so poor for us to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Keith97h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

One night stopover on the edge of the Moor.

This was a voucher deal and good at that.

Bed and breakfast plus bottle of wine (if you purchased evening meal).

I had an 8 oz Rump Steak which was tasty and my wife had Salmon which she also enjoyed.

Wish we could have stayed longer as there was river walk through woods.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the Moor on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Billyboysouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wotter
2.7 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
3.5 mi away
Moorland Garden Hotel
Moorland Garden Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yelverton
564 reviews
6.5 mi away
Kitley House Hotel
Kitley House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Yealmpton
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
1,812 reviews
4.0 mi away
St Elizabeth's House
St Elizabeth's House
#2 of 3 in Plympton
448 reviews
23.2 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#6 of 89 in Torquay
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moorland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moorland Hotel

Property: Moorland Hotel
Address: Wotter | Shaugh Prior, Wotter PL7 5HP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Wotter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wotter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Moorland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Moorland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moorland Hotel Plymouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing