We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Value and Service!”
Review of Moorland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Moorland Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wotter
Certificate of Excellence
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Amazing Value and Service!”
Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

We had our wedding at The Moorland Hotel last year. I do not think that The Moorland Hotel could be beaten for value for money. The wedding breakfast was delicious and beautifully presented. The staff were an absolute credit to the hotel and management. Nothing was to much trouble and they provided fantastic service all day. Our guests who stayed in the hotel all commented on the high quality of the rooms, the fantastic service and the delicious breakfast. Patty was very organised, approachable and hard working. She made sure that we had everything we wanted for the day. In summary I would not hesitate recommending this hotel for your wedding. Also I feel this hotel provides excellent value for money and is a fantastic place to stay for a break. They also have an amazing Steakhouse restaurant that we have visited on numerous occasions. The food has always been of fantastic quality and the staff are always polite, helpful and a credit to the hotel. Thank you.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeStephGuernsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    150
    39
    14
    9
See reviews for
68
254
14
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed here as part of a living social deal so got two nights for a very good price. We used to live in Plymouth and were back visiting friends and family for a couple of days. The hotel does look a bit tired and so do the rooms but they were clean. The lady on reception was very friendly and welcoming so we were off to a good start.
It is a great location for visiting Plymouth, Dartmoor and surrounding areas. We did not eat in the restaurant so can't comment on that but we did have breakfast on both mornings. The breakfast was nice although they only had one lady serving in the morning and she was very busy. The first morning we were standing waiting in the restaurant for a member of staff not knowing if the tables were allocated or what the procedure was for breakfast. We had to go off looking for the waitress in the end sticking our head in the kitchen and calling out for someone. We eventually got to sit down and order our breakfast to find they had run out of the special of smoked salmon which was a shame as that is what we wanted. The dining room was freezing cold, I sat there shivering through breakfast and the waitress was serving with a jumper and scarf on. We were sat next to a radiator which was off, think they should have put the heating on for breakfast.
The second morning was not much better, still freezing cold and still only one waitress so again we were kept waiting. It wasn't her fault they should have had at least 2 waitresses serving.
We were using the hotel as a base and for the price we paid I was overall happy with our stay, views are stunning, room was clean and the staff friendly just wish they would put the heating on and have more staff on in the mornings.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missmaccas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

A warm welcome, tasty food and lovely setting make this hotel very special. We stayed for two nights whilst looking at properties near Plymouth. The owners of the hotel were accommodating and friendly, even searching out books for my children to read during our stay. We stayed in the family room on the 2nd floor, with gorgeous views all the way to Plymouth and the sea. The room was tasteful, comfortable, and warm in spite of cold weather. We had planned to eat our evening meals in town, but the Phoenix Steakhouse Restaurant in the hotel served such nice meals at such great prices that we ate there both nights. Our children were charmed by Twiggy and Uhuru, the pony and horse in the hotel's paddock and by the sheep and wild ponies on the moor just over the road. We will be back.

Room Tip: While all the rooms probably have great views, those looking downhill will have a city and sea view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pbfEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Very pleased with our recent stay at the Moorland Hotel. The room was a little basic but clean and comfortable with fantastic views across the moors to Plymouth. Staff were very accommodating and gave a very warm welcome giving the hotel a real family run business feel where the owners really cared about what they were doing. Meals in the "Phoenix Steakhouse" restaurant were first class and excellent value for money - drink prices were reasonable considering it's a hotel and not a pub.
Would definitely stay there again - hopefully will get some better weather next time!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

The hotel is in an amazing location and the views both during daylight hours and nat night are fabulous. You might be a little put off by the external appearance if you are used to staying in stately manor or modern hotels but don't be too quick to judge, once inside the welcome is extremely warm, the interior decor very chique and the bedrooms beatutifully appointed and fuirnished. The owners truly love what thye do and this comes through from the minute you walk into ther establishment. Add to this the fabulous rates and as a single traveller the upgrade to a twin bedded room it is one of the best value for money and pleasant stays i have had in all my years of travelling.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank JFHT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patriciadallas, Owner at Moorland Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time and effort to write this review. The Staff and Owners work so hard to try to give our guests a lovely stay. It is so encouraging to know that our efforts are not lost, but appreciated. x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Visited the Moorland Hotel for a 2 night stay. Our room had great views over the moor towards Plymouth and out to sea. The room was clean but cold as the radiator did not work. An electric fan heater was provided and I was given a tool to bleed the radiator but this did not solve the problem and had no heating for the whole stay. There was not any hotwater when we first arrived but by the time we left the water was luke warm. We also lost water pressure when someone else was running a tap.
The food served at breakfast and the evening meal was good quality. The breakfast buffet table could be replenished more efficiently as fruit and pastries ran out both mornings and not replenished. I did request some fruit to be told it would take at least 15 mins. I was not very keen about the owners dogs being allowed to walk freely around the building including in the bar and resturant especially as one of them was a Rottweiler.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HolidayfanDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patriciadallas, Owner at Moorland Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Sadly, as you are aware, there were some unexpected plumbing problems with your room. We offered to move you to another room (warm and toasty), but you declined the offer preferring to stay where you were. The faulty valve has since been repaired by our plumber and is in good working order.

I have noted your comments about refreshing the buffet. Many thanks for that helpful feedback.

And yes, Rosemary does have two dogs. They aren't allowed to wander round during meal times and are always shut away during breakfast and after 4pm for the evening. However, we are a Dartmoor Hotel and a favourite spot for walkers and guests with dogs, so it is not irregular for there to be a number of dogs visiting the Hotel. Dogs are never allowed in the restaurant at Breakfast. However in the evening, there is one table in the corner, out of the way of other guests where we allow diners to bring their well behaved dogs. We also have guests ride in on their horses quite regularly too which is a fantastic site for all.

Many thanks for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We visited the Moorland for the second time in a short while, that speaks volumes for the overall experience of the place. We thought we had booked the jacuzzi room of which we loved and the main reason why we went there in the first place. We were so disappointed when we got there and didn't have that room. After all's said and done, we so enjoyed everything about our stay and not having the jacuzzi room, didn't taint it at all.

Room Tip: Have the jacuzzi room haha!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IanAckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patriciadallas, Owner at Moorland Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you so much for coming to visit us again ! !

We have an assortment of rooms at the hotel, but only one Wotter Room! If you have a room preference, please make sure you call the hotel direct to avoid disapointment. We will make sure you get your preferece whenever possible. Phone 01752 839 228. Unfortunately there is not the facility on-line to request specific rooms, only room types.

Fortunately, both Superior Rooms enjoy fantastic views. But if you're after that relaxing jacuzzi bath, then yes, it has to be The Wotter Room!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wotter
2.7 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
3.5 mi away
Moorland Garden Hotel
Moorland Garden Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yelverton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
4.2 mi away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Kitley House Hotel
Kitley House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Yealmpton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
23.2 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#6 of 88 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Smithaleigh Hotel
The Smithaleigh Hotel
#3 of 3 in Plympton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moorland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moorland Hotel

Property: Moorland Hotel
Address: Wotter | Shaugh Prior, Wotter PL7 5HP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Wotter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wotter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Moorland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Moorland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moorland Hotel Plymouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing