We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely people, beautiful location, perfect getaway... plus some bears!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tweedsmuir Park Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stuie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 29, 2009

This is really a thank you note to Carol & Co for their exceptional hospitality during our brief stay at the Lodge last week.

The Lodge is a fantastic place with mountains full of breathtaking views right in the back yard. Although remote, rustic and without mobile reception (great if like us you're surgically attached to your work blackberry) it's hardly short of any mod cons, and everything else is a very short drive/flight away.

We went there specifically for the bear viewing opportunities, and we were very lucky. But even if you're there out of bear season there are many other nature attractions worth enjoying (or if you go in the winter there's heli-skiing).

We had a great time just enjoying the peace and quiet, great food, great nature, and great hospitality of the hosts, which we appreciated very much. If we can go back one day, we certainly will.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Misonhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (230)
There are newer reviews for Tweedsmuir Park Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

210 - 216 of 230 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2009

Everybody was so helpful. Cozy cabins with an amazing view. Great breakfast. I would absolutely recommend this little gem in the middle of nowhere.
We will be back!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank checkerin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2009

This place is absolutely fantastic! Our cabin was unbelieveably nice. Totally immaculate with an amazing view. The mountains were literally in the back yard. We had a mother bear with two cubs come up by the cabins on the first day. The lady that manages the lodge is a professional chef and she is superb. The food was excellent. The lodge is way cool and there were gorgeous flowers all around the back yard. There's also a fitness area and a hot tub. There aren't any TVs in the cabins, but there's a big screen TV in the lodge available. Bella Coola is a remote place on the west coast of BC. The only road in to it is a test of nerves but it is WELL worth it to go there. If you don't want to drive there, you can take the ferry. There are places to see like Odegaard Falls and the road to Blue Jay Lake is a little scary but the views are unforgettable. I'd go back in a heart beat and may very well do so in the future. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PathsTaken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2008

From: Belgium - Antwerp

We staid for a couple days in the Grizzly lodge during our honeymoon. This is really an amazing hotel. Excellent food, close to nature (grizzly bears are 100 meters away from the hotel) and very friendly & helpfull people.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Rave2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2008

In August this year my girlfriend and I stayed in the Tweedsmuir Park Lodge. Having just made the ferry crossing from Port Hardy (Vancouver Island) to Bella Coolla it was just a short drive (30 minutes) to the Tweedsmuir Park Lodge.

It is a truly beautiful setting with wonderful views across the mountains and a few minutes walk from the river. No mass tourism here, if you are looking for shops and restaurants go to Jasper or Banff - the Tweedsmuir Park Lodge is a stunning place but without any tourist facilities nearby (which was absolutely fine for us).

We had a lovely time during our four days here, we booked a flight with a small plane across the glaciers (which is much more reasonably priced compared to helicopter flights...) - we were lucky with the weather (blue skies, 30'c) and the flight was absolutely spectacular. Other highlights of our stay included a river drift with stunning views of the Atnarko river.

We stayed in the Grizzly lodge, which looking at the other lodges was probably the nicest of them all. Very large bed, cabin made of wood, very cozy. Highly recommended.

We had breakfast and dinner in the lodge (do keep in mind that there aren't any other options nearby) - the quality of the food was excellent and the service was great. It definitely wasn't cheap (as several people on other review sites had commented) - probably comparable to some of better restaurants we tried in Vancouver.

The stay at Tweedsmuir was definitely the highlight of our trip (Vancouver Island, Tweedsmuir, Jasper, Banff, Whistler, Vancouver) and we would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Matthijs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2008

I didn't actually stay at this place, but I did stop by the facility when we were going through Tweedsmuir Provincial Park.

This lodge is located centrally within South Tweedsmuir Provincial Park on Highway 20 and Corbould Road. You have to gown down Corbould Road approximately 300m to .5 km to the entrance of Tweedsmuir Park Lodge.

The cabins are centrally located in a scattered semicircular type shape around the main lodge. There is a nice and spacious patio that you can have your food out on, and the ambiance of the place is great.

I had the opportunity to visit the main dining room within the lodge as I was wanting to get some information regarding the park itself, and had a chance to see the inside of their dining room. Their main dining room is a spacious well-aired environment that has a gift shop, and also has about half a dozen tables and an area where you can help yourself to coffee and other drinks.

There is a staircase that winds itself up, in the center of their dining room, that goes to the top of the lodge. There is also a fireplace in there and a common room that you're able to do some activities as well.

The cabins from what I could see look very clean and very inviting from the outside.

Their landscape is very attractive, and very detailed. There is a marshy area in the distance that would allow for some wildlife viewing, and there are also plants that would make it inviting for them to visit as well.

I would recommend this place for anyone who is wanting to stay within a provincial park, and is not wanting to camp, but is wanting a home away from home in a modern and upbeat lodge.

They also have tour packages as well. Please check with their website regarding prices and details.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank matwaites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2008

The lodge is located in a beautiful setting about one hour from Bella Coola.
The cabins are large and homey but could use a coffee maker, at least and better yet a small fridge and microwave.
The nearest restaurant is one hour away and the lodge uses that to their advantage and charge $15 for both breakfast and lunch and $40 for dinner. The food is good, but the price seemed excessive.
There is very little infromation about nearby hiking trails or activities.

5  Thank Gingerbread64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TweedsmuirParkLodge, Director of Sales at Tweedsmuir Park Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Please note: this review was written before the current owners and management team! Please refer to more recent reviews for a more accurate idea of what to expect for your trip to Bella Coola!
Some updates in regards to this review: our meal rates are based on the quality and service we provide and would be comparable to an equivalent restaurant in the city (minus our stunning views!). Guest coffee making facilities are in the main lodge. Each cabin has a very detailed folder full of information on activities and tours available from and near the lodge. In addition, the retail store has many free maps and our lodge managers are a wealth of local knowledge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stuie
0.0 mi away
Bear Claw Lodge
Bear Claw Lodge
#1 of 1 in Kispiox
7 reviews
0.0 mi away
Blackfish Lodge
Blackfish Lodge
#28 of 275 in Vancouver Island
32 reviews
0.0 mi away
Finger Lake Wilderness Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ty Collwyn Waterfront Retreat
Show Prices

Been to Tweedsmuir Park Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tweedsmuir Park Lodge

Address: 7001 Corbould Dr, Stuie, British Columbia V0T 1C0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Bella Coola Valley > Stuie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stuie
Price Range: $98 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tweedsmuir Park Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home of the Grizzly Bears! The historic Tweedsmuir Park Lodge, set on 60 acres of private land within the vast wilderness of British Columbia's largest protected park, is the ideal setting for your wilderness adventures. Originally built in 1929 as a hunting and fishing resort, today the lodge accommodates those seeking out a more eco-friendly adventure as well as a relaxing refuge from the pressures of modern life. The surrounding environment is stunning. Rising above the valley floor are the majestic Coast Mountains, to the west is the largest fjord system in the Americas, and to the east the high Chilcotin Plateau. It is a bio-diverse and spectacular wilderness, home to the totemic wildlife of the Great Bear Rainforest. Nestled in the largest protected park in British Columbia, the Lodge is only an hour flight from Vancouver. Consistent winners of TripAdvisor's Certificate of Excellence and the Traveller's Choice award as part of their Top 25 Small Hotels (Canada), guests stay in private timber chalets on property bordering the Atnarko and Bella Coola Rivers. Thanks to healthy fish stocks, the Lodge is situated amongst one of the world's largest Grizzly Bear populations. The Canadian Tourism Commission has included Tweedsmuir Park Lodge's Grizzly Bear Safaris in their prestigious 'Signature Experiences Collection'. Participants enjoy the tours due to the small group size (maximum of four people) and the absence of man-made fishing channels. All river travel is on non-motorized drift boats, giving participants a more natural experience. In addition to Grizzly Bear Viewing guests can also enjoy; heli-fishing, heli-hiking, fly-fishing, Guided Nature Hikes, photography, First Nations culture, excursions on the inlets or even summer heli-skiing! Relax by the fireplace, enjoy a new spa and a massage, soak in the outdoor hot-tub, or simply retire to the lodge deck for drinks. Definitely keep your eyes open for local wildlife, including grizzly bears, which may lumber past on the lawn. Tweedsmuir Park Lodge is a founding member of The Magnificent 7 - Luxury Wilderness Lodges of Canada ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Tweedsmuir Park Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tweedsmuir Park Hotel Stuie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing