We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for our Vacation Needs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tweedsmuir Park Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stuie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 12, 2012

While sadly we did not get to see any bears on the property, we were treated to some spectacular sunrises and night skies. Our cabin - The Owl - perfectly meet our needs in every way. The guides and staff (Rebecca) were excellent with ideas, suggestions on how to make the most of our three days in the park. For those looking to stay in touch with family, the Lodge wi-fi works well. Perfect location for access to great hikes in the Park. The location of the hot tub is excellent for viewing the night skies, however there was an accumulation of sand in the bottom - which was surprising since guests are asked to shower before entering:-(

Room Tip: If you are cooking your own meals - the Owl Cabin offers a full fridge. We were estatic about this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (250)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

200 - 206 of 250 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2012

After driving to Tweedsmuir from Williams Lake via "the hill", we were ready for three days of relaxing and (hopefully) grizzly bear sighting. Our party of three adults rented the "Owl" cabin which has a full kitchen, one bath, and bedding for 4. The beds were comfortable, and it was nice to prepare most of our own meals so that we could splurge on other things such as a float down the Atnarko. While the cabin was somewhat basic, the main lodge was wonderful with high beamed ceilings, a huge fireplace, comfortable leather sofas, library, pool table, computer room, etc. We had an immediate feeling of "come in, welcome home, be comfortable" -- no pretensions, no fluff, just honest-to-goodness friendliness and charm. Swede, Rebecca, and the staff felt like family right away. After three days (day one spent on a river float and visiting the town of Bella Coola; day two spent hiking; day three spent relaxing), we didn't think we'd see a bear, as we were a week or more ahead of the pink salmon run. But, a beautiful young sow showed up at dusk on our last day, just as we finished a gourmet dinner in the main lodge. How privileged we were to be welcomed into such a special place. Many thanks to the staff at Tweedsmuir for sharing their piece of paradise.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chip004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

If you like stunning scenery, big skies, wildlife & hiking away from the madding crowd, then you'll love this place. Cosy chalets;beautiful main lodge to relax in front of fire;superb food; friendly & attentive staff;wigwam sauna & hot tub under the stars - what more could you want?!...oh yes, bears!......they didn't disappoint either, although we intend to go later in the year next time to maximise viewing. (For all other non-Canadians out there, we went in August & didn't need nets but would definitely recommend you pack bug spray for walking anywhere in Tweedsmuir Provincial Park morning, noon or night). Absolutely loved the whole week we spent there!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BearmadKent_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We selected this place because they were happy to accomodate our constant traveling companion K2, the rambunctious keeshonde puppy shown in my reviewer's photo. As such we were assigned an older (dog) cabin, clean, complete and perfectly comfortable. The cabin was fuly screened from the abundant and rapacious mosquitoes (in August), the kitchenette was fully equipped to prepare even quite substantial meals, with toaster, frypan etc, and very thoughtfully, a basic starter kit of cooking oil, soy sauce, S & P etc. There was also a BBQ outside for use of guests. Bathroom/shower was excellent, with a generous supply of quality toiletries. Bathroom and main cabin area were heated under separate thermostats. We didn't really need heating, but it was delighful to crank up the bathroom heat just a little on the crisp mornings. The double bed was comfortable and there were reading lights on BOTH sides of the bed, a serious plus for us compulsive bedtime readers. Really a perfect little cabin for a couple with two single beds for accompnaying family. There is even a hot tub and rudimentary exercise area next door.
Then there was the lodge! Tastefully, comfortably furnished, with friendly, helpful staff. We had two delicious evening meals there, pork filet with caramelised garlic mashed potato and grilled arctic char on a potato pancake with a tasty fruit salsa. Deserts and starters were included in the prix fixe evening menu and made up a very pleasant and satisfying evening meal. The food was wholesome, not too fussy or overdressed and generously portioned. A great selection of wines were listed but they were pricy. However this is probably a problem arising from restaurants having to pay full retail prices from the BC Liquor Control Board, so I don't see that as a negative for this truly wonderful establishment. Finally add the magnificent scenery and you have near perfection for a wilderness get-away. We paid a serious fee for a drift down the Atnarko River to view grizzly bears, but saw nought, we were a little early for the salmon runs which attract the bears. However the drift was very pleasant and enlightening with a very knowledgable wild-life biologist as the captain/guide/rower of our raft. We just added it to our list of invisible tigers, non appearing leopards, just diving whales and other promised fauna which failed to appear for our camera even though we had cut very respectable deals with various wild life guides around the world. But to our surprise we were not to be dissapointed, as if by personal invitation a grizzly sow , accompanied by two cubs, appeared on the back lawn of the lodge at about 4 pm, and ambled through the grounds of the lodge on a leisurely munching tour of the tastiest grassed areas, before vanishing up hill into adjacent wooded areas.
Special kudos too to the staff, the wait-persons and the house manager who made special efforts to make us comfortable and welcome, and facilitated our early breakfasts. I would love to visit again, this place is five star everything.

Room Tip: The lodge offers a hot or continental breakfast (you can also cook your own in the cabins if you pic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 123Phil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grizzlyclaws, Front Office Manager at Tweedsmuir Park Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a positive and informative review. We also appreciate your mention about the unpredictability of wildlife viewing. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

The lodge has a stunning setting between mountains on the Atnarco river. It is is clean, elegant and cosy with excellent meals. There is a computer office for guests and wifi beamed all over. The staff are welcoming, smart, resourceful and helpful and wonderful company. I would like to visit again

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rugbopher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We have been here a few times now and LOVE it.

So accommodating, relaxing and and all around amazing! You feel so welcome and so taken care of, it is impossible not to relax and enjoy!!

Having just moved to the West Coast, we were in search of a new getaway...... and we found it!

A++

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liveinthenow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We stayed in one of the chalets - an upgrade from our originally rented cabins
The chalet was very comfortable and beautifully appointed - and the scenery from the front porch was truly spectacular
The staff and "Swede", the owner, were helpful and courteous. They were a great combination of efficiency and were great to have around.
We loved staying at the Tweedsmuir Lodge - it was one of the highlights of our trip

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jameseshepherd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stuie
0.0 mi away
Bear Claw Lodge
Bear Claw Lodge
#1 of 1 in Kispiox
7 reviews
0.0 mi away
Blackfish Lodge
Blackfish Lodge
#25 of 278 in Vancouver Island
32 reviews
0.0 mi away
Finger Lake Wilderness Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ty Collwyn Waterfront Retreat
Show Prices

Been to Tweedsmuir Park Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tweedsmuir Park Lodge

Address: 7001 Corbould Dr, Stuie, British Columbia V0T 1C0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Bella Coola Valley > Stuie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stuie
Price Range: $96 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tweedsmuir Park Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home of the Grizzly Bears! The historic Tweedsmuir Park Lodge, set on 60 acres of private land within the vast wilderness of British Columbia's largest protected park, is the ideal setting for your wilderness adventures. Originally built in 1929 as a hunting and fishing resort, today the lodge accommodates those seeking out a more eco-friendly adventure as well as a relaxing refuge from the pressures of modern life. The surrounding environment is stunning. Rising above the valley floor are the majestic Coast Mountains, to the west is the largest fjord system in the Americas, and to the east the high Chilcotin Plateau. It is a bio-diverse and spectacular wilderness, home to the totemic wildlife of the Great Bear Rainforest. Nestled in the largest protected park in British Columbia, the Lodge is only an hour flight from Vancouver. Consistent winners of TripAdvisor's Certificate of Excellence and the Traveller's Choice award as part of their Top 25 Small Hotels (Canada), guests stay in private timber chalets on property bordering the Atnarko and Bella Coola Rivers. Thanks to healthy fish stocks, the Lodge is situated amongst one of the world's largest Grizzly Bear populations. The Canadian Tourism Commission has included Tweedsmuir Park Lodge's Grizzly Bear Safaris in their prestigious 'Signature Experiences Collection'. Participants enjoy the tours due to the small group size (maximum of four people) and the absence of man-made fishing channels. All river travel is on non-motorized drift boats, giving participants a more natural experience. In addition to Grizzly Bear Viewing guests can also enjoy; heli-fishing, heli-hiking, fly-fishing, Guided Nature Hikes, photography, First Nations culture, excursions on the inlets or even summer heli-skiing! Relax by the fireplace, enjoy a new spa and a massage, soak in the outdoor hot-tub, or simply retire to the lodge deck for drinks. Definitely keep your eyes open for local wildlife, including grizzly bears, which may lumber past on the lawn. Tweedsmuir Park Lodge is a founding member of The Magnificent 7 - Luxury Wilderness Lodges of Canada ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Tweedsmuir Park Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tweedsmuir Park Hotel Stuie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing