We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tweedsmuir Park Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stuie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 10, 2012

The lodge has a stunning setting between mountains on the Atnarco river. It is is clean, elegant and cosy with excellent meals. There is a computer office for guests and wifi beamed all over. The staff are welcoming, smart, resourceful and helpful and wonderful company. I would like to visit again

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rugbopher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (261)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

214 - 220 of 261 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2012

We have been here a few times now and LOVE it.

So accommodating, relaxing and and all around amazing! You feel so welcome and so taken care of, it is impossible not to relax and enjoy!!

Having just moved to the West Coast, we were in search of a new getaway...... and we found it!

A++

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liveinthenow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We stayed in one of the chalets - an upgrade from our originally rented cabins
The chalet was very comfortable and beautifully appointed - and the scenery from the front porch was truly spectacular
The staff and "Swede", the owner, were helpful and courteous. They were a great combination of efficiency and were great to have around.
We loved staying at the Tweedsmuir Lodge - it was one of the highlights of our trip

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jameseshepherd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Stayed here 3 nights in early July in the nicer cabins.
There was still snow in the high country and many of the roads were washed out in 2010, so we didn't get to do the hiking or heli skiing that we had hoped to do, but still had a delightful visit. Best time to come is probably august/sept/oct for bear viewing. We did see 2 black bears on the road right outside the lodge.
WE did a day hike with Doug the naturalist, and he was outstanding, really pointed some things out to us, the experienced hikers. There are nice free mountain bikes to borrow. The room cost is resonable, but the extra"adventures" are pretty expensive, such as river floating, hike guiding, heli hiking, flight seeing.
The rooms are superbly comfortable, good for a family of up to 5, but there is no sound separation between the loft and the living room. Very comfortable bathroom. The fisherman's cabins have a kitchen, and allow dogs, and are well located next to the spa/gym/pingpong room, but they are darker and simpler, and not as nice as the other cabins.
The food in the dining room (we only ate dinner twice, and self catered the other means out of a cooler in our room) was excellent. It is a fixed menu, and they can tweak it for likes/dislikes.
The best part of the stay was the staff, especially Rebecca, who made us feel so very welcome, and was very knowledgeable about the area and things to do.
Tweedmuir is out of the way, and a long way from town, Hagensborg or Bella Coola. I recommend having a car, or arranging to get one, so you don't feel trapped. The transfer cost to and from the airport is steep,
The drive from Williams Lake is fabulous, and the ferry trip to Bella Coola and into tweedsmuir is unique. I recommend spending time explore the whole valley, hence the recommendation to have a car. Lots of interesting historical things and first nations stuff like petrogylph walks.
This is a special place, that I hope to come back to.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank familySeattleWa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

we stayed for a week again and had the most amazing time. the cabins are very very
comfortable and cozy with an amazing view of the mountains. the helicopter picks you
up 10metres from your cabin and takes you straight up skiing in the mountains.
the food is amazing and so is "Swede's" wine cellar.
can not reccomend it enough.
easy to get to, just one hour and a half from Vancouver Airport with Pacific Coastal
Airlines and 30mins to the lodge by Van or 8mins by Heli.

Room Tip: The Grizzly Cabin
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fvsgroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

We stayed at the Tweedsmuir nearly 3 years ago and it was so memorable that I thought I must put a review up on Tripadvisor. From the accommodation, the setting, the staff, the tours, the guides, the food.....EVERYTHING WAS FANTASTIC. We hope to return on an anniversary in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LilyPonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grizzlyclaws, Office Manager at Tweedsmuir Park Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2011

Thank you for your enthusiastic review! It is a good sign that you plan to come back in (hopefully) near future.
This fall, we are repainting the main lodge and renovating the sports bar to make it more cosy and update the style. Goodbye green carpet!

Looking forward to hosting you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

We went right at the end of the bear season and it was nice and quiet. It is difficult to know what to say about this place as it was all great. The cabin was cosy and spacious, and the food was excellent. We had good sightings of both species of bear and two mountain goats. We did not manage to see any moose but our guide tried hard to find one for us. All in all our stay was incredible and we will certainly return.

Room Tip: Choose one of the modern cabins,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Goansoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tweedsmuir Park Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tweedsmuir Park Lodge

Address: 7001 Corbould Dr, Stuie, British Columbia V0T 1C0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Bella Coola Valley > Stuie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stuie
Price Range: $94 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tweedsmuir Park Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home of the Grizzly Bears! The historic Tweedsmuir Park Lodge, set on 60 acres of private land within the vast wilderness of British Columbia's largest protected park, is the ideal setting for your wilderness adventures. Originally built in 1929 as a hunting and fishing resort, today the lodge accommodates those seeking out a more eco-friendly adventure as well as a relaxing refuge from the pressures of modern life. The surrounding environment is stunning. Rising above the valley floor are the majestic Coast Mountains, to the west is the largest fjord system in the Americas, and to the east the high Chilcotin Plateau. It is a bio-diverse and spectacular wilderness, home to the totemic wildlife of the Great Bear Rainforest. Nestled in the largest protected park in British Columbia, the Lodge is only an hour flight from Vancouver. Consistent winners of TripAdvisor's Certificate of Excellence and the Traveller's Choice award as part of their Top 25 Small Hotels (Canada), guests stay in private timber chalets on property bordering the Atnarko and Bella Coola Rivers. Thanks to healthy fish stocks, the Lodge is situated amongst one of the world's largest Grizzly Bear populations. The Canadian Tourism Commission has included Tweedsmuir Park Lodge's Grizzly Bear Safaris in their prestigious 'Signature Experiences Collection'. Participants enjoy the tours due to the small group size (maximum of four people) and the absence of man-made fishing channels. All river travel is on non-motorized drift boats, giving participants a more natural experience. In addition to Grizzly Bear Viewing guests can also enjoy; heli-fishing, heli-hiking, fly-fishing, Guided Nature Hikes, photography, First Nations culture, excursions on the inlets or even summer heli-skiing! Relax by the fireplace, enjoy a new spa and a massage, soak in the outdoor hot-tub, or simply retire to the lodge deck for drinks. Definitely keep your eyes open for local wildlife, including grizzly bears, which may lumber past on the lawn. Tweedsmuir Park Lodge is a founding member of The Magnificent 7 - Luxury Wilderness Lodges of Canada ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Tweedsmuir Park Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tweedsmuir Park Hotel Stuie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing