We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quaint english country pub.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Hatchet Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Hatchet Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Lower Chute B&B and Inns
South East England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Quaint english country pub.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

I worked in andover 10 years ago, & used to use this pub, It was always a friendly place to drink & have a meal. .so we decided to stop a night on the way to the west country last weekend and am pleased to say it hasn't changed ,We arrived about 6 pm and sat outside in afternoon sun , me with a pint of cold cider and my wife with a glass of pinot, pure bliss would describe our evening. The double room we stayed in was very clean & spacious, The bed was massive and really comfy , And a power shower to die for, A full english breakfast finished of a really pleasant stay .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alanll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    30
    13
    3
    1
See reviews for
19
37
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

This has got to be one of the prettiest country pubs I have ever been too. Thatched roof, great cosy bar with beams, great gardens, tasty breakfast and an excellent host! The rooms are situated in 2 properties in the grounds of the pub, we had a ground floor room with a massive comfortable bed, ensuite with powerful shower and views over perfect countryside. The pub I am so pleased to say has stood the testament of time and has a thriving business (maybe not as good as the landlord would like!) but does great beer and wine, ample choice of spirits and an excellent menu. We didnt actually eat at the pub as we were visiting family based locally, but the menu looked really good, and my daughter did confirm that it has a great reputation for good food. The place is tucked away down country lane, but very close to Ludgershall, Tidworth and Andover making a great base. Would deffinately return and stay her again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank THE2KSSTOURBRIDGE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penzance, UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stopped here overnight to break a long journey. It's a gorgeous friendly traditional pub and garden in a very rural setting, just outside of Ludgershall, near Andover - perfect for an overnight stop. The room was small but adequate, spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The pub is gorgeous and the food was superb! We'll definitely be back

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Molly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

went for a weekend break. the staff were very nice and friendly. the place was clean and tidy. the food was really nice. would go again but probably stay longing then two nights

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank nuttynut2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
247 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

We enjoyed a short break at this picturesque thatched inn in Lower Chute. The staff were friendly an welcoming, the bedroom spacious and well-equipped with a super kingsize bed, an excellent shower and good quality toiletries. The weather was warm so we were able to enjoy our breakfast and evening meals outside. The food was delicious - we enjoyed a whitebait starter, pan-fried duck breast, pork medallions and whole lemon sole on the two nights we stayed. Breakfast was also excellent and we were able to relax with the morning paper before setting out for the day. Walkers and visitors were all equally welcome

All in all we would heartily recommend this hidden gem to anyone wanting a tranquil break in the heart of the beautiful countryside.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

Had lunch here on one of the rare sunny days this year. Lovely location not far from Andover. Sat outside. Toilets very clean and looked recently refurbished. Food average to good although quite expensive.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank jazzbo100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover
Level Contributor
108 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

The Hatchet is a very attractive thatched pub in the village of Lower Chute. The pub serves real ales although the selections are not from the excellent range of local beers but for some reason from northern parts of the UK. I had not visited the pub for a meal for 3-4 years because of previous bad experience but tonight I looked forward to giving it another try. I ordered the Morrocan Lamb @£11.50 which comes with rice and vegetables. I looked forward to a spicy treat. After 30 minutes wait it arrived in a bowl, rice to the left, meat in a sauce to the right and a sprig of parsley! The plain boiled vegetables were in a separate 'bowl'. I am sorry to report that the meal was one of the blandest I've had for a very long time. Lamb stew would have been a better description, although the lack of flavour disqualifies it from that modest title. I wasn't asked about my meal by the staff. The service was distinctly average, lacking warmth or attention to detail. I won't be returning to eat there, despite it being my local, unless I hear of a change of ownership.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yahoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lower Chute
6.7 mi away
Esseborne Manor
Esseborne Manor
#1 of 1 in Hurstbourne Tarrant
4.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
14.1 mi away
Norton Park - A QHotel
Norton Park - A QHotel
#1 of 1 in Sutton Scotney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,049 reviews
7.6 mi away
White Hart
White Hart
#6 of 8 in Andover
3.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 mi away
The Old Mill Hotel
The Old Mill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harnham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
17.1 mi away
De Vere Alexandra House
De Vere Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Barleycorn Inn
The Barleycorn Inn
#2 of 4 in Collingbourne Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hatchet Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hatchet Inn

Property: The Hatchet Inn
Address: Lower Chute, Lower Chute, Chute SP11 9DX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Chute > Lower Chute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Lower Chute
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hatchet Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
13th century thatched country inn ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Hatchet Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing