We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place to stay”
Review of The Hatchet Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Hatchet Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Lower Chute B&B and Inns
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
253 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Beautiful place to stay”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We enjoyed a short break at this picturesque thatched inn in Lower Chute. The staff were friendly an welcoming, the bedroom spacious and well-equipped with a super kingsize bed, an excellent shower and good quality toiletries. The weather was warm so we were able to enjoy our breakfast and evening meals outside. The food was delicious - we enjoyed a whitebait starter, pan-fried duck breast, pork medallions and whole lemon sole on the two nights we stayed. Breakfast was also excellent and we were able to relax with the morning paper before setting out for the day. Walkers and visitors were all equally welcome

All in all we would heartily recommend this hidden gem to anyone wanting a tranquil break in the heart of the beautiful countryside.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    33
    13
    3
    1
See reviews for
19
38
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
hampshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

Had lunch here on one of the rare sunny days this year. Lovely location not far from Andover. Sat outside. Toilets very clean and looked recently refurbished. Food average to good although quite expensive.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank jazzbo100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover
Level Contributor
108 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

The Hatchet is a very attractive thatched pub in the village of Lower Chute. The pub serves real ales although the selections are not from the excellent range of local beers but for some reason from northern parts of the UK. I had not visited the pub for a meal for 3-4 years because of previous bad experience but tonight I looked forward to giving it another try. I ordered the Morrocan Lamb @£11.50 which comes with rice and vegetables. I looked forward to a spicy treat. After 30 minutes wait it arrived in a bowl, rice to the left, meat in a sauce to the right and a sprig of parsley! The plain boiled vegetables were in a separate 'bowl'. I am sorry to report that the meal was one of the blandest I've had for a very long time. Lamb stew would have been a better description, although the lack of flavour disqualifies it from that modest title. I wasn't asked about my meal by the staff. The service was distinctly average, lacking warmth or attention to detail. I won't be returning to eat there, despite it being my local, unless I hear of a change of ownership.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yahoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hungerford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We met friends there for lunch, a really attractive setting matched by great food and good service from friendly staff. We would recommend the food here (and have done), prices are very reasonable, a 'real' English country pub! We will be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keithce12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dss
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Classic English pub with accommodation. Isolated location in a Wiltshire village (nearest town is Andover). Pretty with thatched roof to main building. Accommodation in two detached blocks (8 rooms?) Tables outside with low ceilinged characterful bar and restaurant. Excellent selection of real ales and ciders. Bar food was excellent - did not sample the restaurant but the menu looks good. Sensible pricing. Bedroom fairly basic but that was all I needed. Curtaining could be improved if you were worried about outside light (but the outside lights went off shortly after closing time, I think.) My room overlooked open fields so light was not an issue and I am accustomed to sleeping with the curtains open in any case. Breakfast was going to be a little too late for me as I had an early appointment and the landlord volunteered to bring the normal time forward by 15 minutes which made all the difference.

Ideally located if you are going to be at Thruxton race circuit.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

The main reason for our stay was to go walking locally and take some friends there for lunch. The food, service and accommodation was excellent. The choice of wines and beer was also very good. A whole hearted recommendation to all ages as this is a pub that caters for and is frequented by 20 something's to the elderly.

Room Tip: We looked at a couple of rooms, they were both of a high standard. The heated towel rail even in Jun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sholing, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

First ever visit to this establishment, adn hopefully wont be the last. A picture perfect thatched building, with gorgeous garden and surrounding area. Food was delish,
Met friends there on a recommendation, was not disppointed, I had their pie which was on the plate by itself, as it ws that big, they had to bring in veg (potato mash and peas) in seperate bowks. Merat was really excellent, Friends had the lamb and fishcakes, followed it by ice cream. perfect. give this 10/10 for everything from the food to the service.Even the weather was good.

Room Tip: This was a lunch meet, did not stay, so cannot comment, but would presume the rooms and everything e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lower Chute
6.7 mi away
Esseborne Manor
Esseborne Manor
#1 of 1 in Hurstbourne Tarrant
4.5 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
14.1 mi away
Norton Park - A QHotel
Norton Park - A QHotel
#1 of 1 in Sutton Scotney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,075 reviews
7.6 mi away
White Hart
White Hart
#6 of 8 in Andover
3.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 mi away
The Old Mill Hotel
The Old Mill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harnham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
17.1 mi away
De Vere Alexandra House
De Vere Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Barleycorn Inn
The Barleycorn Inn
#1 of 4 in Collingbourne Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hatchet Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hatchet Inn

Property: The Hatchet Inn
Address: Lower Chute, Lower Chute, Chute SP11 9DX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Chute > Lower Chute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Lower Chute
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hatchet Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
13th century thatched country inn ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Hatchet Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing