We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Handley Farm
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We booked the self catering Cider Barn at the last minute for a long weekend over the February Half Term. We knew that the owner Daniel was in the middle of renovating the bathroom and this was not a problem for us.

The Cider Barn is lovely and cosy and the reason we booked our stay there is for the lovely new Hot Tub! We spent most of our weekend in it! We imagined that our 2 children might have been a little bored as the location is very rural and fairly isolated but they both loved it and were rarely out of the hot tub. When they were dry and dressed we ventured for a walk around Daniel's land and he took us on a tour to meet his lovely Aberdeen Angus cattle. We also wandered around the lakes. We didn't venture too far as it is was cold and rainy but we did make it to Dulverton the nearest town which had a some lovely independent shops,

The barn was lovely and peaceful, we were the only guests staying I think but even so I don't think noise would be an issue. Daniel showed us around the other accommodation all of which looks wonderful and inviting and we would be happy to stay in any of them.

The self catering kitchen was really well equipped with top of the range items including dish washer and washing machine. We did have a few issues with the TV reception and the WIFI didn't work properly for the last few days of our stay but I am sure these will be sorted by now.

Daniel popped in with some homemade sweets and bread which just added to our lovely stay. We really intend to return soon, such a fabulous break and we are very lucky to have found Cider Barn.

Room Tip: Watch out for the lone chicken on arrival !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Tewkesgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Handley F, Owner at Handley Farm, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2013

Thank you so much for your review. It is lovely to hear that you had a great time and you will be back again in the future. The TV is fixed (the aerial had been knocked) and the Wifi is up and running. We have a new Outdoor Play area as well now, so plenty of things to do on your return. We also have 4 new chicks so they will be penned in with our very friendly free range one when they are a little older.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (98)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 98 of 98 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stayed at Handley Farm on New Years Eve. The weather had been terrible but we received a warm welcome. We were served home baked biscuits still warm from the oven and the tea and coffee making facilities were very well stocked with mugs and cups and saucers. Even a tea cosy. We had a good nights sleep and were served a really excellent breakfast. Overall the room was excellent, spotlessly clean and comfortable and nothing was too much trouble for our hosts. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C3girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Handley F, Owner at Handley Farm, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2013

Thank you for your review. We really enjoyed hosting you all, you were all such fun. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed here for one night, but would've loved to have stayed longer and spent more time here.
The accommodation is really easy to find, and up a driveway off the main road. (Quite a relief as many of the roads are incredibly narrow single track ones in the area! There was no traffic noise though!)
The family room was perfect - warm, lots of space, quality furniture, and an awesomely comfortable bed, which we didn't want to get out of!
Catherine had left us home made biscuits, and a fabulous selection of drinks, fruit and snacks, including chocolate fudge. There was a mini fridge in the room with a jug of milk - also handy for chilling bottled water etc!
Breakfast was delicious. Freshly baked bread straight out of the Aga, home made jams and a good choice of English breakfast, omelette, yogurts, fresh fruit, cereals, and fresh orange and apple juice.
At night the sky was clear, and with there being very little light pollution, the stars were fantastic! You could even see the Milky Way.
My only criticism would be that the shower lacked power (I'm not used to electric showers!)
I'd certainly recommend Handley Farm, and we'd gladly stay there again. It's perhaps more expensive than other bed and breakfasts, but we think it was worth it.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RammieDerbys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

We needed a bed for one night for us and our dog. Although the dog friendly room was occupied, they still allowed us to stay in a different room. We received a basket with fruit and chocolat. And they baked fresh cookies! Beautiful surroundings were our dog could run around. Add to this a super breakfast and all round friendliness and you have a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ebuising
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We used Handley farm for a family weekend. It is very well appointed, clean, with great facilities in a beautiful location.. We recieved a lovely welcome, with homemade cookies and a freshly made loaf, delicious. Daniel and Catherine are very friendly and helpful.
We would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2015, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank aymonc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Handley F, Owner at Handley Farm, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2015
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Handley Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Handley Farm

Address: Handley Farm B3227, Waterrow TA4 2BE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Waterrow
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Waterrow
Price Range: $110 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Handley Farm offers a top quality self-catering cottage and bed and breakfast accommodation. Set in a stunningly beautiful rural location you are ideally placed to enjoy the natural delights of Exmoor, the rugged North Devon coastline and the countryside of Devon and Somerset. Set in 40 acres of beautiful farmland, woods and ponds, with wonderful walks, beautiful sunsets and endless views. We also have an abundance of natural wildlife to observe. On the farm we have horses, sheep, chickens, ducks and goats. A stunningly beautiful rural location you are ideally placed to enjoy the natural delights of Exmoor, the rugged North Devon coastline and the countryside of Devon and Somerset. Guests have free use of our course fishing pond please bring your own rods. We have many friendly farm animals that are happy to be made a fuss of. Set in a pretty south-facing courtyard, all our accommodation is equipped and furnished to an exceptionally high standard, which is matched by our hospitality and commitment to customer service. Enjoy a truly memorable holiday - treat yourself to a stay at Handley Farm and you may become one of our many visitors who come back again and again. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing