We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blooming lovely”
Review of The Rock Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Rock Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Waterrow B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Only recently heard about this place, ok it's a little far out but usually the best are. We had an OUTSTANDING meal here, very lovely owners and staff, the food was lovely, the table (next to the rock) was brilliant and very interesting...the attention to detail here is brilliant will definitely be returning! TOP MARKS and the chocolate spoon I got with desert was delicious!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Benm7366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (256)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

233 - 239 of 256 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2013

We have eaten at this Inn several times & always in a group. On all occasions we have enjoyed each of the courses & commented on the varied menu which is regularly changed. The food is always hot well prepared & seasoned with friendly attentive service. A reasonable selection of local ales & a nice welcoming atmosphere. The expectation is always consistent & prices are good value.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Basil00775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

The pub is in an interesting old building built into sheer rock. The room we had was rather small but the bed was very comfy. The ensuite bathroom contained a bath and hand held shower but with no shower curtain and lots of opportunities to bang ones head on a low ceiling. There was nothing within walking distance around the pub. There is a good little restaurant but the food (Modern British) was way over salty - kept wondering whether they were using MSG. Breakfast was a choice of fried things. Overall good for a stop-over but no more. However our stay was marred by a problem which management abdicated any responsibility for. At 5am the fire alarm went off. The guests gathered outside on the road in the rain and early morning cold but management were nowhere to be seen. Eventually we all went back inside as the fire alarm stopped - still no management. My wife and I crawled back into bed and then off went the fire alarm again. Back outside in the rain. This time after about 10 minutes the manageress (owner?) appeared and said that it was an electrical fault. But she made no apology to the shivering guests and implied that it was 'an act of god'. Overall then I don't trust this place. A responsible manageress would have apologised and compensated guests for the inconvenience of a disrupted sleep

Room Tip: Check the rafters in the bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank Neil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Walked down from local caravan site for a drink. Friendly efficient service. Didn't eat there as had already eaten but food looked good. Prices seemed reasonable. If staying at caravan site remember to take a torch.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Gina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Me and my partner recently stayed at the Rock Inn for the first time on an overnight stay. The landlady was very friendly and accomodating and went out of her way to make sure our stay was enjoyable. The rooms were very comfortable and clean and the whole inn has a quirky charm with old styled architecture yet modern conveniences. The evening menu was varied and the food we ordered was excellent and of a very high standard with generous portions. We recommend the pigs cheeks (don't be put off by the name) and the Gnocchi. We will definitely be returning to try more of the menu and would recommend the Inn to family and friends.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

A group of us stopped over at The Rock Inn on our way back from a short holiday in Devon. It was a welcome break and great place to stop on a long journey. We were enchanted by the beautiful setting and cosy nature of the Rock. Were greeted with a warm welcome from the owners who made sure we had everything we wanted and looked after us.

The food was amazing and would recommend the Sunday Roast, what a treat. The desserts were in a league of their own, and for this sweet tooth foodie I was in heaven. Would recommend this as a must stopover for you foodies out there as you will be delighted. The owner told us the chef goes out of his way to find local produce that is top quality and supports the local area.

Our stay was short but sweet. A great find, so I look forward to going back for a weekend to stay as a great location and experiencing the full extent of what this charming Inn has to offer, plus a lot more dessert!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 21sue2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed here as I had work in Taunton and needed to find something short notice that accommodate us along with a little border terrier puppy. We had a long drive following a family event and it was a little further away from Taunton than I was expecting but only maybe 13 miles. The upshot was that we arrived later than you can expect to get any food and yet two Haddock and chips later from a re-opened kitchen and we were sorted. There was a complimentary drink waiting for us when we arrived which was unexpected but most welcomed. There was a really good wine list that was reasonably priced and after retiring to the room we soon were out for the count. Incredibly dark and silent area and a newly done up room meant we had a great night's undisturbed sleep. Dog was interested in the light coming from downstairs and the people he'd just seen but soon he was curled up in his basket and chasing rabbits.

Really clean room with everything you could want and the shower was particularly nice.

The major plus point is how clean the whole place is and yet still with bucketloads of character. It's clear that there is so much history in this hotel. It's really atmospheric.

I'm not sure if all the rooms are pet friendly or whether we were just very lucky that day. However this was much cleaner than many hotels I've been to where they wouldn't let him in.

Breakfast was really nice too. We sat next to a section of mountain rock that the hotel is built into. The chimney was being rebuilt as we stayed so we didn't get the chance to see what was likely a magnificent real fireplace.

Wish i'd had a chance to explore the area more as i only walked the dog a few hundred yards in either direction but there looked like loads to explore through the woods and alongside the river.

I don't want to single out any of the chain hotels but just off the motorway i have stayed in a few of them for work over the years. If you can spare half an hour extra then it would be well worth your time to have a good relaxing stay before going on the following day for business.

Room Tip: We had room 3 which was just refurbished. Not seen the others but I could recommend this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Macparland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waterrow
15.8 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
9.1 mi away
The Hartnoll Hotel
The Hartnoll Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tiverton
385 reviews
0.4 mi away
Exmoor Gate Lodges
Exmoor Gate Lodges
#2 of 4 in Waterrow
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
The Anchor Inn, Exebridge
The Anchor Inn, Exebridge
#6 of 17 in Dulverton
171 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Quarrymans Rest
The Quarrymans Rest
#6 of 10 in Bampton
91 reviews
2.4 mi away
Whitehart
Whitehart
#2 of 4 in Wiveliscombe
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rock Inn

Address: | Nr Taunton, Waterrow TA4 2AX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Waterrow
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Waterrow
Price Range: $107 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rock Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your The Rock Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing