We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The B and B you dream of !”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Capel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Birling House B & B
Ranked #1 of 1 Capel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
La Varenne-Saint-Hilaire, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The B and B you dream of !”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Our 5 days stay at BH with Bob's warm and friendly presence is unforgettable. Bob is an exceptional host who wants you to have the best possible stay. He provided us advices and help in organizing the best trip around Kent gardens. He prepared breakfast different everyday with local products and as delicious as colourful. The room is wide, perfectly clean and cosy, with all comfort. We already wish we come back soon !

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alain C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob A, Owner at Birling House B & B, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
A wonderful review, thank you so much. We really enjoyed each others company, especially at the end of each day when you shared your experiences and photographs of the places you had visited. I am glad that your trip worked out so perfectly and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
54
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Kent for us was always a County we zipped through on the way to France, Spain or Airports to far distant climates....how little we knew...

Only the quickest glance at any map would have revealed that Kent is jam packed with Historical Sites, Churches, Houses and Gardens of stunning and thoughtful beauty set in a land of rolling pastoral countryside and woodlands where hospitality and quality local produce is on offer at every turn.

And what of Bob and Birling House? well, nothing left to add, I would only be confirming everything they say on Trip advisor about Bob's B&B is true......a perfect five!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllanM66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob A, Owner at Birling House B & B, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Wow! a big thumbs up for Kent (quite right too, as it realy is the star of any visit here). Being in the centre of such a beautiful and interesting area makes my role - ensuring a memorable visit - so much easier. I know that you had a great time, it was lovely having you stay here for long enough to really get the best out of your trip. Still lots to see so come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 15, 2013

My daughter & I recently had a very enjoyable stay for 3 nights in the twin room at Birling House.The room was spotlessly clean & the beds very comfortable. We had our own large bathroom with a lovely shower. Bob, the owner, catered fully for our wheat intolerance at breakfast with lots of choice of cereals, toast & even locally produced wheat-free sausages in the cooked breakfast, which was delicious. This B&B is situated in a beautiful area with lots to see & do nearby. We had a very nice meal one evening in the local pub, which is just a walk along the lane. Other evenings we made ourselves a picnic in the consevatory & garden. Bob even washed up our plates for us! The best B&B I've stayed in & would definately return. Thanks Bob. (Hope the bee-keeping is going well!)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob A, Owner at Birling House B & B, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you so much for such a lovely review and I am delighted that you were able to enjoy many of our very best places locally (and our great local pub!). My aim is simply to exceed your expectations so having the right ingredients to match my guests food preferences is an easy part of acheving my aim and the Kent Breakfast Award has helped me a lot. I know that you will return soon and I look forward to welcoming you back to Birling House. The bees are thriving and I hope to have my own honey on the table later this year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

From the moment we arrived Bob the owner could not do enough for us. This small B and B is situated in a lovely part of the world with so much to do in the locality. We had a double room with private bathroom opposite. A super comfy bed and lots of choices regarding pillows duvets etc. Several kinds of tea and coffee available in the room along with a good few biscuits. The room was quiet at all times- the other was occupied but we never heard any one. Guests have the use of a lounge and conservatory with an abundance of current magazines and info leaflets. Bob had details of places to eat and it is possible to have a take away in the conservatory. Breakfast was wonderful. Porridge is available as is a full Kent breakfast. (I particularly liked the bubble and squeak!) Bob has the Kent breakfast award which means most produce is very local. The marmalade came from next door- no food miles there! Easy parking. We could not fault the facility.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank waffler_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob A, Owner at Birling House B & B, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
What a cracking review - thank you so much! It was great having you here, and so easy your having local friends to chauffer you to all the best places. I hope to see you back here soon, and I will keep the porridge supply topped up!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Birling House exceeded our expectations in every way. The whole B&B is spotlessly clean, our double bedroom very spacious with lovely linen and the bathroom was very modern with copious towels. Our room also had tea and coffee facilities and a hairdryer. Bob who owns the B&B is absolutely charming - hugely attentive without being overbearing in the slightest - and provided the most delicious breakfast. He went out of his way to help us find a taxi on the Sunday morning, even offering to drive us himself which was hugely appreciated. We only spent one night after a friend's wedding however wish we could have stayed for longer and will definitely be back! Thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 268505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob A, Owner at Birling House B & B, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you so much for such a lovely review. I am glad that I was able to contribute to a stress free weekend at your friends wedding. Come and stay for a long weekend (at least ! ) to explore some of the amazing places around here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coalville, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Just spent a long weekend with friends here. Absolutely wonderful! Bob has got the formula spot on: clean, smart, comfortable, well provisioned and beautifully presented. We enjoyed the breakfasts, the availability of a private sitting room, the location, and Bob's friendly welcome. Nothing too much trouble - not only did Bob provide plates for our takeaway, he provided a plate-warmer and even switched it on for us at the appropriate time. What a nice guy, what a brilliant place to stay. We'll be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob A, Owner at Birling House B & B, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you so much for such a generous review. I am really pleased that you enjoyed some of Kents best (and secret) attractions, especially Great Dixter in full bloom!
Lots still to see, so come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Everything about "Birling House" is absolutely lovely, including the host Bob. We visited Birling House between Christmas & New Year and due to the weather and not being in the best of health spent a lot of time in our room. The hospitality tray was filled to overflowing with everything you could possibly want, the bed and bedding were so comfortable we wanted to take them with us! The room was tastefully furnished and spotlessly clean as was the rest of the house, Bob obviously takes great pride in his property and supplies a wonderful full English breakfast (which everyone should try.) All in all we highly recommend this period guest house. Thank you Bob for making our stay so enjoyable! Regards Keith & Jackie.

Room Tip: Whatever room you choose you will not be dissapointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KeithOsborne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob A, Owner at Birling House B & B, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you so much for the great review! I am glad that your trip to Kent was not spoiled by a bout of ill health and you were able to indulge in some retail therapy in Tunbridge Wells. Come again in the spring to see more of the local attractions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Capel
5.3 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#2 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
2.3 mi away
Camden Arms Hotel
Camden Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Pembury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
5.3 mi away
Smith & Western Tunbridge Wells
Smith & Western Tunbridge Wells
#4 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#3 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
2.4 mi away
Mercure Tunbridge Wells
5.0 mi away
One Warwick Park Hotel
One Warwick Park Hotel
#1 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birling House B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birling House B & B

Property: Birling House B & B
Address: Birling House Alders Road | Capel Tunbridge Wells, Capel, Royal Tunbridge Wells TN12 6SR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Royal Tunbridge Wells > Capel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Capel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming Victorian cottage, surrounded by orchards and hop gardens in Kent. We are near Tonbridge, Tunbridge Wells, Paddock Wood, Pembury, and the M25, making London accessible. We have a four star Enjoy England B&B rating, with silver and breakfast awards. Bob, your host, looks forward to welcoming you to this peaceful and tranquil B&B in the Kent countryside. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing