We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best service ever”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Capel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Birling House B & B
Ranked #1 of 1 Capel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Best service ever”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

From the moment we arrived Bob the owner could not do enough for us. This small B and B is situated in a lovely part of the world with so much to do in the locality. We had a double room with private bathroom opposite. A super comfy bed and lots of choices regarding pillows duvets etc. Several kinds of tea and coffee available in the room along with a good few biscuits. The room was quiet at all times- the other was occupied but we never heard any one. Guests have the use of a lounge and conservatory with an abundance of current magazines and info leaflets. Bob had details of places to eat and it is possible to have a take away in the conservatory. Breakfast was wonderful. Porridge is available as is a full Kent breakfast. (I particularly liked the bubble and squeak!) Bob has the Kent breakfast award which means most produce is very local. The marmalade came from next door- no food miles there! Easy parking. We could not fault the facility.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank waffler_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob A, Owner at Birling House B & B, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
What a cracking review - thank you so much! It was great having you here, and so easy your having local friends to chauffer you to all the best places. I hope to see you back here soon, and I will keep the porridge supply topped up!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
54
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Birling House exceeded our expectations in every way. The whole B&B is spotlessly clean, our double bedroom very spacious with lovely linen and the bathroom was very modern with copious towels. Our room also had tea and coffee facilities and a hairdryer. Bob who owns the B&B is absolutely charming - hugely attentive without being overbearing in the slightest - and provided the most delicious breakfast. He went out of his way to help us find a taxi on the Sunday morning, even offering to drive us himself which was hugely appreciated. We only spent one night after a friend's wedding however wish we could have stayed for longer and will definitely be back! Thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 268505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob A, Owner at Birling House B & B, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you so much for such a lovely review. I am glad that I was able to contribute to a stress free weekend at your friends wedding. Come and stay for a long weekend (at least ! ) to explore some of the amazing places around here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coalville, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Just spent a long weekend with friends here. Absolutely wonderful! Bob has got the formula spot on: clean, smart, comfortable, well provisioned and beautifully presented. We enjoyed the breakfasts, the availability of a private sitting room, the location, and Bob's friendly welcome. Nothing too much trouble - not only did Bob provide plates for our takeaway, he provided a plate-warmer and even switched it on for us at the appropriate time. What a nice guy, what a brilliant place to stay. We'll be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob A, Owner at Birling House B & B, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you so much for such a generous review. I am really pleased that you enjoyed some of Kents best (and secret) attractions, especially Great Dixter in full bloom!
Lots still to see, so come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Everything about "Birling House" is absolutely lovely, including the host Bob. We visited Birling House between Christmas & New Year and due to the weather and not being in the best of health spent a lot of time in our room. The hospitality tray was filled to overflowing with everything you could possibly want, the bed and bedding were so comfortable we wanted to take them with us! The room was tastefully furnished and spotlessly clean as was the rest of the house, Bob obviously takes great pride in his property and supplies a wonderful full English breakfast (which everyone should try.) All in all we highly recommend this period guest house. Thank you Bob for making our stay so enjoyable! Regards Keith & Jackie.

Room Tip: Whatever room you choose you will not be dissapointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KeithOsborne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob A, Owner at Birling House B & B, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you so much for the great review! I am glad that your trip to Kent was not spoiled by a bout of ill health and you were able to indulge in some retail therapy in Tunbridge Wells. Come again in the spring to see more of the local attractions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

The cottage is lovely, retaining much of its original character while also being spotlessly clean, well cared for and with up to date facilities including excellent modern bathrooms. The location was good, we enjoyed feeling as though we were in the countryside, looking out into the hop garden, while being so close to Tunbridge Wells.

We slept peacefully in a very comfortable bed with quality linen. There was coffee, tea, biscuits - and glasses for our wine when we needed them. Bob is a friendly and genial host, and went out of his way to be helpful to us in finding places to eat and things to do over a cold winter weekend. His breakfast cooking was first class - as were the ingredients - sourced locally where possible.

A place to treasure and re-visit - thank you Bob.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAMandS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob A, Owner at Birling House B & B, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
A great review - thank you so much. It really is rewarding to know that you were able to really enjoy your relaxing long weekend here. I trust that returning to work on Tuesday was not too much of a shock! I find it so enjoyable to be able to swap yarns and experiences with my guests and to be as "comfortable" with each other as if it were family (or sometimes even better!!). I look forward to your return. Bob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herefordshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Having spent six nights with Bob in November, we could not have wanted for more. The bedroom was very comfortable and clean, as was the luxury bathroom. Breakfast was as hearty or as little as required and nothing was too much trouble. All the favourable comments written before on TripAdvisor are true - he just made us feel very comfortable and happy to be staying in his lovely cottage. We took his advice for eating at the local Inn and we were pleased with that also. We would not hesitate to stay with him again.

Room Tip: Both rooms very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YvonneandGraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob A, Owner at Birling House B & B, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you so much for such a great review. It was lovely having you stay here for almost a week as that gave me time to "tweak" my menus and visit suggestions based on your feedback. Its so nice to know that you enjoyed your visit and will return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LIMASSOL, CYPRUS
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 21, 2012

We stayed at Bob's 'Little Gem' for 6 nights whilst visiting family nearby, and wished we could have stayed longer.
Bob is a wonderful host, cook, and travel guide, who obviously takes great pride in his b&b.
Our bedroom was very comfortable and spotlessly clean, the bed linen luxurious. Our hospitality tray had everything, and more, that we could have hoped for, we loved the sachets of coffee and the choccy biscuits!!
The bathroom. Well what can we say! It was everything the pictures show, again spotlessly clean with lovely soft towels and a great power shower.
Although we would love to keep this 'little gem' all to ourselves we would thoroughly recommend you pay Bob a visit, you won't regret it.

Thanks for a fabulous stay Bob. We will be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SHEILA B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob A, Owner at Birling House B & B, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the trouble to write a (great! ) review. It was lovely having you here - you certainly managed to fit lots into your visit, with friends / family / shopping / sights and good restaurants all included! I hope you will make Birling house a regular haunt. Bob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Capel
5.3 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#2 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
2.3 mi away
Camden Arms Hotel
Camden Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Pembury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
5.3 mi away
Smith & Western Tunbridge Wells
Smith & Western Tunbridge Wells
#4 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#3 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
2.4 mi away
Mercure Tunbridge Wells
5.0 mi away
One Warwick Park Hotel
One Warwick Park Hotel
#1 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birling House B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birling House B & B

Property: Birling House B & B
Address: Birling House Alders Road | Capel Tunbridge Wells, Capel, Royal Tunbridge Wells TN12 6SR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Royal Tunbridge Wells > Capel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Capel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming Victorian cottage, surrounded by orchards and hop gardens in Kent. We are near Tonbridge, Tunbridge Wells, Paddock Wood, Pembury, and the M25, making London accessible. We have a four star Enjoy England B&B rating, with silver and breakfast awards. Bob, your host, looks forward to welcoming you to this peaceful and tranquil B&B in the Kent countryside. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing