We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Weekend - despite the weather”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Capel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Birling House B & B
Ranked #1 of 1 Capel B&B and Inns
Ipswich, Suffolk, UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A Great Weekend - despite the weather”
Reviewed April 30, 2012

Bob made us very welcome with a lovely pot of tea on arrival (the first of many - despite there being really good facilities in the room), he gave us some really helpful advice on where to eat and places of local interest, all of which we were most impressed with.

We had a very comfortable stay and the breakfasts were first class!

As for Bob - you couldn't wish for a more friendly host. Nothing is too much trouble. We wouldn't stay anywhere else now if we are in the beautiful Kent area again! Hopefully, next time the weather will be as good as the B & B. Thanks Bob!

Room Tip: We stayed in the twin room which had extremely comfortable beds and had a fabulous bathroom with sep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SmokyToby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob A, Owner at Birling House B & B, responded to this review, May 4, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind words, the weather could have spoiled your weekend but a sample of Kent's attractions, a great local pub, and an "international" mix of guests at breakfast made it good for all. Come back soon - the weather must improve!
Bob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
55
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fleury en Biere
1 review
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Bob is an incredibly friendly, caring and of course helpful host. We stayed at Birling House 2 nights so we could be close by Pembury college and yet enjoy the best of the surounding countryside. I"m a regular traveller through out Europe, North America and even next week the Premier Inn - Dubai, I can certainly attest to the pleasant, peaceful and outstanding service provided by Bob. It was a real pleasure visiting, we would certainly do it again, many thanks-S

Room Tip: Well sign posted, lovely pub within waking distance, parking available, direct access to public walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve_JR_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob A, Owner at Birling House B & B, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
A stunning review - thank you. I was so pleased that you were able to enjoy some of our local countryside - and the pub ! whilst your daughter was "cramming" at college locally. Good to see you comfortably working using the wireless broadband - its first real test. I hope to see you here again soon, with more time to enjoy our local attractions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough
2 reviews
Reviewed April 13, 2012

After hearing amazing comments about Birling House from my parents, we stayed here over the Easter weekend this year and had a wonderful time! The breakfasts were lovely, with allergies and vegetarian diet very well catered for, and Bob was always willing to chat about the food, our plans for the day and possible places to visit. He was helpful with information about local sights, places to eat and takeaways (which I’m sure we will try out next time) and always had a leaflet to help us out. The room was peaceful and comfortable, the service friendly and welcoming, and we can’t wait to return!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob A, Owner at Birling House B & B, responded to this review, April 15, 2012
Lovely to have you stay here, albeit for a short time. I am glad your visit went well, the new baby performed perfectly, and you had a chance to sample the excellent beers at the local!
See you and your folks here again soon I hope.
Regards
Bob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haddenham
1 review
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We stayed at Birling House just before Christmas and Bob could not have done more to make us feel at home. Nothing was too much trouble, from the welcoming cup of tea on arrival, to booking our dinner reservation for the evening. We slept in the double room which was extremely comfortable. Breakfast in the morning was also excellent. Thank you so much Bob for your hospitality. We would have no hesitation in recommending Birling House to anyone who appreciates a quality B&B and excellent customer service :0).

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alicockrean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob A, Owner at Birling House B & B, responded to this review, January 7, 2012
Thanks for your very kind words, I must say you guys were so chilled out on Sunday morning I was tempted to play Lionel Richie "Easy" CD !! Great to see my guests so relaxed, come back soon.
Bob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bagshot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2011

Visiting our new grandson in Kent. Very lovely house, Good rooms and lovely bathroom (private). Good choice of breakfast. Home made jams and marmalade. Good pub nearby.Owner very helpful. Will return!

Room Tip: Double room bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 752vandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob A, Owner at Birling House B & B, responded to this review, December 18, 2011
Spending your days supporting a daughter with new baby looked tiring - glad you were able to get really good rest and refeshment here! See you again soon .
Bob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2011

We recently visited family in Tonbridge and rather than spend the night on a sofa bed we decided to treat ourselves to a night of peace and quiet. The Birling House sounded wonderful from the reviews it had received and we were not disappointed. It is ideally situated in the countryside but within a ten minute drive of several large towns (plus a fabulous local pub serving great food 5 mins walk up the road). The welcome was warm and genuine and it became apparent nothing was too much trouble.The property has a guest lounge and spacious bedrooms with comfortable beds After one of the best nights sleep in a long time we had a lovely breakfast incorporation many local products. Bob was a great host who could not have done more to make our stay perfect, his attention to detail and a genuine desire to go that extra mile was refreshing.
We look forward to visiting family even more having discovered Birling House.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robski43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob A, Owner at Birling House B & B, responded to this review, November 27, 2011
Thank you for your very kind words, it was lovely to have you here, come for longer next time!
Bob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunstable, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 6, 2011

Bob the owner manged to accomodate 5 of my team whilst they were working away recently. I have never had such glowing reviews about my choice of my B&B. The lads were spoilt with large breakfasts and tea time treats of hot cross buns and crumpets on their return from site each day.
The rooms and facilities were of an extremely high quality & we would not hesitate to recommend. We hope for some more contracts in Kent so we can return!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob A, Owner at Birling House B & B, responded to this review, November 27, 2011
In my first few months running my B&B, it could have been tough giving really useful customer service, to a team so focussed on getting the maximum work done ( in the shrinking daylight hours!), but early big breakfasts and teatime treats proved that the way to a tradesmans heart is via his stomache! These were a lovely bunch of lads, send them back again soon!
Bob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Capel
2.4 mi away
Mercure Tunbridge Wells
5.3 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#2 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
655 reviews
2.3 mi away
Camden Arms Hotel
Camden Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Pembury
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#3 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
845 reviews
5.1 mi away
Travelodge Tunbridge Wells
Travelodge Tunbridge Wells
#11 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
381 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Royal Wells Hotel
The Royal Wells Hotel
#6 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birling House B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birling House B & B

Property: Birling House B & B
Address: Birling House Alders Road | Capel Tunbridge Wells, Capel, Royal Tunbridge Wells TN12 6SR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Royal Tunbridge Wells > Capel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Capel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming Victorian cottage, surrounded by orchards and hop gardens in Kent. We are near Tonbridge, Tunbridge Wells, Paddock Wood, Pembury, and the M25, making London accessible. We have a four star Enjoy England B&B rating, with silver and breakfast awards. Bob, your host, looks forward to welcoming you to this peaceful and tranquil B&B in the Kent countryside. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing