We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birling House at Easter - an excellent stay!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Capel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Birling House B & B
Ranked #1 of 1 Capel B&B and Inns
Loughborough
2 reviews
“Birling House at Easter - an excellent stay!”
Reviewed April 13, 2012

After hearing amazing comments about Birling House from my parents, we stayed here over the Easter weekend this year and had a wonderful time! The breakfasts were lovely, with allergies and vegetarian diet very well catered for, and Bob was always willing to chat about the food, our plans for the day and possible places to visit. He was helpful with information about local sights, places to eat and takeaways (which I’m sure we will try out next time) and always had a leaflet to help us out. The room was peaceful and comfortable, the service friendly and welcoming, and we can’t wait to return!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob A, Owner at Birling House B & B, responded to this review, April 15, 2012
Lovely to have you stay here, albeit for a short time. I am glad your visit went well, the new baby performed perfectly, and you had a chance to sample the excellent beers at the local!
See you and your folks here again soon I hope.
Regards
Bob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
55
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haddenham
1 review
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We stayed at Birling House just before Christmas and Bob could not have done more to make us feel at home. Nothing was too much trouble, from the welcoming cup of tea on arrival, to booking our dinner reservation for the evening. We slept in the double room which was extremely comfortable. Breakfast in the morning was also excellent. Thank you so much Bob for your hospitality. We would have no hesitation in recommending Birling House to anyone who appreciates a quality B&B and excellent customer service :0).

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alicockrean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob A, Owner at Birling House B & B, responded to this review, January 7, 2012
Thanks for your very kind words, I must say you guys were so chilled out on Sunday morning I was tempted to play Lionel Richie "Easy" CD !! Great to see my guests so relaxed, come back soon.
Bob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bagshot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2011

Visiting our new grandson in Kent. Very lovely house, Good rooms and lovely bathroom (private). Good choice of breakfast. Home made jams and marmalade. Good pub nearby.Owner very helpful. Will return!

Room Tip: Double room bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 752vandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob A, Owner at Birling House B & B, responded to this review, December 18, 2011
Spending your days supporting a daughter with new baby looked tiring - glad you were able to get really good rest and refeshment here! See you again soon .
Bob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2011

We recently visited family in Tonbridge and rather than spend the night on a sofa bed we decided to treat ourselves to a night of peace and quiet. The Birling House sounded wonderful from the reviews it had received and we were not disappointed. It is ideally situated in the countryside but within a ten minute drive of several large towns (plus a fabulous local pub serving great food 5 mins walk up the road). The welcome was warm and genuine and it became apparent nothing was too much trouble.The property has a guest lounge and spacious bedrooms with comfortable beds After one of the best nights sleep in a long time we had a lovely breakfast incorporation many local products. Bob was a great host who could not have done more to make our stay perfect, his attention to detail and a genuine desire to go that extra mile was refreshing.
We look forward to visiting family even more having discovered Birling House.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robski43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob A, Owner at Birling House B & B, responded to this review, November 27, 2011
Thank you for your very kind words, it was lovely to have you here, come for longer next time!
Bob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunstable, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 6, 2011

Bob the owner manged to accomodate 5 of my team whilst they were working away recently. I have never had such glowing reviews about my choice of my B&B. The lads were spoilt with large breakfasts and tea time treats of hot cross buns and crumpets on their return from site each day.
The rooms and facilities were of an extremely high quality & we would not hesitate to recommend. We hope for some more contracts in Kent so we can return!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob A, Owner at Birling House B & B, responded to this review, November 27, 2011
In my first few months running my B&B, it could have been tough giving really useful customer service, to a team so focussed on getting the maximum work done ( in the shrinking daylight hours!), but early big breakfasts and teatime treats proved that the way to a tradesmans heart is via his stomache! These were a lovely bunch of lads, send them back again soon!
Bob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidmouth
2 reviews
Reviewed October 15, 2011

Such a wonderful find. We stayed here for two nights when needing accommodation for a wedding nearby. Extremely comfortable rooms with such attention to detail. Herbal teas and chilled water in our room were much appreciated as an addition to the normal tea/coffee facilities. How lovely to wake to such a tranquil view of the country side, listening to birdsong. On rising we were presented with a fantastic breakfast where dietary needs were taken into consideration.
Great walking on doorstep so would love to go back.
I'm very fussy but I'd thoroughly reccommend this establishment.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob A, Owner at Birling House B & B, responded to this review, November 27, 2011
Many thanks for your lovely comments. Researching and obtaining the appropriate foods to meet your dietary needs proved very easy, and will stand me in good stead for the future. It was a very enjoyable stay from my perspective too! Come back soon
Bob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2011

A relatively new entrant to the B&B market, we found this place based on a recommendation of a competitor which was full. Good thing as we had a fantastic stay.

The beds and the bedding were of very high quality which is not that easy to find. The quality of the beds allowed us to have one of the best night sleeps during our 2 week visit to England.

This was followed up by an excellent breakfast, combined with the hospitality of our host made Birling House a memorable stay.

We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FiresAndKnives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob A, Owner at Birling House B & B, responded to this review, November 27, 2011
Really glad you found Birling House and did some good business locally. Thank you for the encouraging review, I look forward to your return.
Bob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Capel
2.4 mi away
Mercure Tunbridge Wells
5.3 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#2 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
653 reviews
2.3 mi away
Camden Arms Hotel
Camden Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Pembury
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#3 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
844 reviews
5.1 mi away
Travelodge Tunbridge Wells
Travelodge Tunbridge Wells
#11 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
381 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Royal Wells Hotel
The Royal Wells Hotel
#6 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birling House B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birling House B & B

Property: Birling House B & B
Address: Birling House Alders Road | Capel Tunbridge Wells, Capel, Royal Tunbridge Wells TN12 6SR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Royal Tunbridge Wells > Capel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Capel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming Victorian cottage, surrounded by orchards and hop gardens in Kent. We are near Tonbridge, Tunbridge Wells, Paddock Wood, Pembury, and the M25, making London accessible. We have a four star Enjoy England B&B rating, with silver and breakfast awards. Bob, your host, looks forward to welcoming you to this peaceful and tranquil B&B in the Kent countryside. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing