We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shabby; and possibly the worst gym I've ever visited.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Willerby
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Shabby; and possibly the worst gym I've ever visited.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

The grounds are actually nice at this hotel; and the room is not too bad. Certainly a bit out-dated, but reasonable enough - although I've enjoyed better, for cheaper.

The decor around the hotel was very shabby though. They'd clearly spent some money re-decorating the main corridor a few years ago, which was 'ok'; and as soon as you went off the main corridors, some were very, very shabby.

The 'Sebastian Coe' gym is possibly the most dreadful gym I have ever visited though. Free-weights up to 20kg (a couple of bags of shopping) and some truly ancient machine which were barely sufficient for a workout even if new.

If you just want a room for the night, then it's fine - although overpriced. If you have any interest in gyms whatsoever though, this is dreadful. The fact is that there are plenty of hotels with much better rooms and gyms for cheaper - so I won't be visiting again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank alexnapierholland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glyn J, General Manager at Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay here.

We are sorry that the hotel was not to your liking and that the gym in our leisure club did not offer you enough resistance and workout, as it normally challenges most visitors.

We hope you will reconsider you decision and return again on a future occasion.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    228
    140
    74
    40
See reviews for
125
213
23
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hull
Level Contributor
114 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

Stayed here recently, just overnight with breakfast.

We have stayed here before but never under the Mercure umbrella. Was disappointed as I recalled it was a nice hotel. Room had a good view of the gardens but the decoration was very tired and in need of a revamp.

The room was clean and bed comfortable with the usual amenities, however, the bathroom was disappointing. The bath and sink were different colours and the toliet had a different coloured toliet seat altogether.

Luckily got a good deal on the B&B price.

The breakfast offered a good selection of food and breakfast staff were friendly.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alizz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glyn J, General Manager at Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for reviewing your trip to Willerby.

Whilst we were sorry that you felt the décor was lacking we are pleased that you enjoyed the room aspect, comfort and cleanliness.

The room you stayed in has been highlighted for a new bathroom suite later in the year.

Your comments regarding breakfast have been shared with an appreciative team.

We hope you will return in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clydebank, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Stayed here for two nights whilst visiting family in Beverley, (accommodation in Beverley seemed very expensive for what was on offer!). The Mercure Grange was a pleasant surprise, easy to find at the end of a quiet lane but right off of the A164 for good access to Hull and surrounding area.

We had been booked originally for the weekend of the heavy snow and when I called to rearrange our stay the receptionist Helen couldn't have been more helpful - I had expected to lose our money as the deal was paid in full upfront.

Well appointed clean and comfortable rooms, nice and quiet and a cracking good breakfast to set us up for the day, wouldn't hesitate to stay here again and highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andysmaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glyn J, General Manager at Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Guests,

What a great headline to your kind comments and scores, thanks.

We are all so pleased that you chose to stay with us rather than elsewhere and that we exceeded your expectations.

Helen will be lifted by your comments about her customer care skills which she is passionate about, as will housekeeping and the breakfast team.

Next time you are in the area please call in.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed here for one night while attending a wedding in the area. Stayed in a suite, room was exceptionally clean and really spacious, bathroom was a bit out dated and could possibly do with an upgrade but still very clean.Breakfast was good and plentiful. Would stay here again if in the area for some reason.

Room Tip: Would definitely upgrade to a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaiser15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glyn J, General Manager at Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thanks for highlighting your stay in Grange Park.

It is always an incentive to receive positive feedback and scores on the experience our guests have, whilst staying with us.

The Suites do certainly give more for a small increment and we are currently adding a number of additional features including a new luxury bed, coffee machine and change of décor, as we are going to offer Privilege and Superior rooms from later this month.

Chef thanks you for mentioning breakfast which he appreciated.

We hope you have another reason to return again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stayed for one night midweek at the Grange Park when we visited for a family event. Our family room was huge and very comfortable.

We drank at the bar and ate dinner in the restaurant (six adults and four children). All the staff were very helpful and accommodating to the various needs of the group.

The food was all tasty and portions were generous. We used the pool briefly and the children loved it as we were the only ones there.

I think that the hotel runs a lot of weddings so the atmosphere might be very different if you stayed then.

We will definitely stay there again next time we come to Willerby.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WalkerFamily709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glyn J, General Manager at Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Walker Family,

Many thanks for reviewing and grading your stay with us.

We are so pleased that you had such an enjoyable stay as we always like our guests to leave here with a good impression.

Your kind comments have been shared with those involved during your stay and they are very grateful.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, Tyne and Wear
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stayed here for two nights in a huge family room. Large double bed ( very uncomfortable though, felt like I was sliding out!) with two single beds for my two boys plus a sofa and usual furniture. Bathroom basic and in need of an update but otherwise clean. Family rooms are simply huge! I agree with other comments that breakfast although nice was a bit basic. More of a small B and B standard, not an international chain. Staff lovely and welcoming and the kids loved the Sebastian Coe leisure facilities. Huge car parking facilities and plenty of room for the kids to kick a football about. I went to university in hull so knew the place really well. Lots of changes and new developments for the better. Loved the old town and museum quarter and new land avenue and princess avenue almost unrecognisable since my university days! Lots of trendy coffee shops and restaurants now. Lovely to be back and the kids loved the deep. Better to pre-book your tickets though as we had a huge wait to get in. All in all I had a lovely time reliving my student days and lots of things to do.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jc0llins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glyn J, General Manager at Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Family,

Thank you for visiting our hotel recently and posting a review.

Your constructive feedback is helpful to us and we will look into the comments you have given us so that improvements where possible, can be made.

Thank you for mentioning the team here as well and the leisure facilities available.

It certainly is good to learn that you were able to relive your students’ days with your family whilst enjoying the ever improving city, which is so worth exploring and does not always receive the press it deserves.

Hopefully you still have more to explore on your next visit to Hull and East Yorkshire.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

"Going to 'Hull' in a handcart" from Norfolk just about sums up one of the most torturous road journeys in the UK. A combination of the A47, A17 and A15 is a monument to the worst of British road planning with only the sight of Lincoln Cathedral and the Humber Bridge to relieve the experience. The city itself has much to commend it though, and the Mercure Grange Park with its 100 rooms is an okay hotel. Very comfortable, warm and welcoming it is surrounded by pretty leafy gardens and boasts an excellent spa with gymnasium under the Sebastian Coe brand (free to residents). As you would expect from Yorkshire folk the staff are friendly without being obsequious. Before I established my own guest house and award winning restaurant I was a hotel critic for airlines and bank privilege programmes so my expectations are frequently unfulfilled, particularly in the catering department. To be fair I only had a couple of breakfasts which were included with the room rate but at menu price these could have cost me £13.50 per person and for that money, I would expect better that an average to poor B+B offering. So if breakfast is a reflection of the standard I'd not hold out much hope for the lunch/dinner menus. I'm also suspicious of too ambitious and expensive a menu in what is obviously not one of Hull's more popular dining venues. So in summing up, the catering department is in need of a real good shake up particularly at breakfast and the bathrooms could do with some fine tuning. Aside from that not bad for the money and a tasteful modernisation of an old manor house in Willerby, a pretty suburb of Kingston-upon-Hull.

Room Tip: Ask for garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TinaPem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glyn J, General Manager at Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Tina,

Thanks for sharing your recent travels and stay here.

We are so pleased that you chose to stay here and thank you for your comments about breakfast which will be addressed.

Willerby is a good location to explore both Hull and the East Yorkshire Wolds.

We hope you will return again when we will try and persuade you eat in the brasserie.

Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Willerby
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Willerby Manor Hotel
4.6 mi away
The Royal Hotel Hull
The Royal Hotel Hull
#8 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,183 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lazaat
Lazaat
#1 of 1 in Cottingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Kingston Theatre Hotel
Kingston Theatre Hotel
#1 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
3.4 mi away
Village Hotel Club Hull
Village Hotel Club Hull
#3 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.0 of 5 bubbles 954 reviews
0.3 mi away
Innkeepers Lodge Hull, Willerby
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel

Property: Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel
Address: Grange Park Lane, Willerby HU10 6EA, England (Formerly Mercure Hull West Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Willerby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Willerby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find a peaceful sanctuary at 4* Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel, a 19th century manor house nestled in 12 acres of landscaped gardens. The red-brick Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel is flanked by rolling lawns and tucked away in chocolate-box East Yorkshire countryside. Stained-glass stairwells and manicured grounds date back to the halcyon days of this 19th Century manor house, nestled in picturesque Willerby just five miles outside of Hull, the city of culture for 2017. Humberside Airport is just 20 minutes away. Invite your delegates to the largest events hotel in East Yorkshire - we can host up to 550 people at a conference. Or make this your mini-break base for Beverley Races or The Deep aquarium - both just five miles away. Kick back and relax in our onsite Feel Good Health Club equipped with an indoor heated swimming pool, sauna, steam room, whirl pool and gym. All bedrooms feature a flat-screen TV and complimentary high speed WiFi. Some of our classic rooms look out over the landscaped gardens or the courtyard. Keep an eye on the kids in our interconnecting rooms. In privilege and superior rooms you can enjoy complimentary unlimited movies, a Nespresso coffee machine, newspaper, robe and slippers. Complimentary high speed WiFi is available in all of our 10 naturally lit meeting rooms, the bar and our lounge. Our landscaped gardens make the perfect wedding snap backdrop. Complimentary high speed WiFi is available throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, ACCOR, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Hotel Hull
Ramada Kingston-Upon-Hull
Kingston-Upon-Hull Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing