We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FABULOUS LOCATION. Must visit for mountaineers. You can hardly find place like this anywhere else.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mountain Hotel Sliezsky Dom
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“FABULOUS LOCATION. Must visit for mountaineers. You can hardly find place like this anywhere else.”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

General Comment:
The hotel is located at altitude of 1670 meters above see level on so-called „Tatranska magistrala“ which is amain mountainh path in High Tatras. The location of the hotel is second to none for summer or winter mountain activities (no skiing there!!) as you are really located in the muntains. Best place for starting hiking tours and it is a great place for skialpinists as you have a lot of nice paths within your reach. It is also a “base camp” for tours to the mountaing Gerlach - highest Slovak peak.
The closest village is 7 km down the valley and hotel is located in the most protected area of the Hight Tatras and therefore access by your car to the hotel is very limited and very expensive (I personally like it so there is only a 4-5 car. You need a special permisson (there is only limited number of these) and parking costs EUR 11 per night. Moreover during the winter the access roadto the hotel is untreated so you really need an 4x4 and snow chains to get to the hotel. I defnitely recommend to leave your car on a parking place down in the Village of Tantranska Polianka and call the hotel for shuttle service. The hotel do provide shuttle service and I recommend you call them about an hour before you arrive, otherwise you will wait approx. 45 minutes for a shuttle (ride to the hotel takes approx. 20 minutes).

The hotel is officially a 4 star but do not expect a 4 star level of comfort or service. Despite the staff and management is doing its best, mere location of the hotel and related restrictions (e.g. remote location with limited access by your car, no night life or noisy activity outside of hotel, etc.). Therefore if I was a manager I will make it a nice 3star hotel specially oriented for hikers, skialpinists, climbers and other mountainers.


PROS: Locaton, location, location. You cannot find a better located hotel in Slovakia if you really love mountains. Remote location (could be CON for someone), night starview, ability to to any
Great and very friendly staff. Especially receptionist Lenka and chef Danny were great. Food quality is great if the Danny is cooking, otherwise average.
Welness centre with great scenic view over mountains
Limited acces by car (yes it is PRO as there is no traffic aound hotel)
WIFI connection (may look like something normal but at his location it is a PRO)


CONS: Nothing serious really.
Sleep quality (matraces are very soft whoch I do not like). If the restaurant is full, there are long waiting times for the food.
Very small bar
No room for smokers
Sometimes smelly steam sauna

Room Tip: Take a room with valley view. You will have a chance to see a sunrise which is just breathtaking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 161Globetrotter2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    29
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
16
24
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Me and my mate we booked this hotel throught hotels . Com.
As soon we entered the hotel we found only one receptionist behind the desk and many people waiting in sort of queue, very slow service.
After waiting on check in approx 25min we get the key from our room. We entered to our room and found the room in terrible state, window broken and heater broken as well , we contacted reception and they said that maintainence will fix it for us , but they fixed that window with tape and we weren't happy with that and we asked for another room. After 30 mins they found other room. Between that time we went for dinner to restaurant . Restaurant was totally full and only 2 waiters on floor serving guests. We ordered main course (haulusky) and desert (sulance) , service was mega slow and we were waiting for taking orders 20mins. After we made order we were waiting to food arrived another 45mins and instead of main we received desert , in sulance I found nut shell. After another 30mins we received mains and that one wasn't great either my friend found hair in his dish. Hygiene standards are very down or none in that place , in room is not hot water . Courtains having stains . All very dirty and hospitality service below standards. This hotel got standards of bed& breakfast establishments not 3* . Only what was good was breakfast bit small but nice . Not recommending this hotel to anyone it's better to book hotel in strbske pleso rather to stay at sliezsky Dom .

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Babika222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitra, Slovakia
Level 6 Contributor
582 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

This is deffinitely ugliest looking hotel in mountains of High Tatras. Inside it is not so bad, but not anything more than average. As a base for tourists and rock climbers it is ok, but a bit overpriced for not much value. If you have to hike in nearby mountains it is ok for short stay.

Room Tip: front side
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hmyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We went for a weekend and our aim was to hike. The location of the hotel is amazing, all looks new or almost new. We reserved a standard front view room, and it was fine, only it was much smaller that on the photos. :-) but comfortable. We hiked all Saturday and then jumped into jakuzzi. The only negative impression was the price for food which was twice as expensive and not so good than in Koliba in Stary Smokovec, where we went for lunch, after trying the hotel restaurant, however I personally can recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ola070707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

While the view offered at this hotel is truly outstanding and the hotel itself is beautiful, we left after one night after two.
It all began with a call to the hotel an hour before we arrived (upon the request of the hotel) to tell them we want to park by the hotel. The receptionist just said flatly that we made no reservation. He did not even try to assist, let alone the fact that we were not told to reserve a space. Anyway, we were told a car would come down to take us.
Needless to say, after waiting 15 minutes, no car arrived. A different receptionist then told us by phone (all calls at our expense!) That we could just come up by car!
We arrived at the hotel only to be greeted by the sour receptionist. Later that evening we went down to dinner. We were greeted by a very rude waitress and ordered our food.
Upon receiving the food (20 minutes after ordering!) We discovered only one soup wa served. We had to wait an additional 5 minutes for the second soup. We then commenced waiting for the main courses..we waited an hour and a half!!!!! After said time my wife went to find the waitress. When my wife approached the waitress she was yelled at(!!!) By the waitress!!
We then decided enough was enough and informed the front desk that we would be leaving the hotel the following morning.
We were asked what we wanted as compensation (I would think they might think of a way on their own) but replied we wanted none. We were offered a feeble apology.
That's all folks. Bottom line - do not come here.

Stayed August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank shedadom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Had there beautiful weekend. View from the whirlpool to the mountains was unforgettable. There is many things to do, i took ice climbing course. Staff were very gentley. Food was very good. They had excelent vines for good prices.I hope i will come back soon.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mejra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for one night, and it was a great stop on our short trip around Slovakia. It is situated in a beautiful environment 1,670 meters above sea level and right next to a mountain lake with a large waterfall. It is possible to drive and park right by the hotel, but be prepared to pay quite a high nightly fee (11 EUR/car/night in June 2012).

The hotel was recently fully renovated. We had a nice room (although a bit on the smaller side) with "front" view and a beautiful bathroom with a spacious shower. The hotel also has a wellness center with great views (however we didn't have a chance to use it) and a nice restaurant, which serves moderately priced good food, as well as great draught beer :) The breakfast however was a disappointment, the buffet is not very rich and it was quite empty when we ate (approx. 1.5 hours before the end of breakfast).

All in all, if you're looking for comfortable accommodation directly IN the High Tatras, then definitely go for this hotel.

Room Tip: The "front" rooms offer nicer view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michal K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tatranska Polianka
5.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Kempinski High Tatras
3.1 mi away
Grandhotel Stary Smokovec
Grandhotel Stary Smokovec
#1 of 1 in Stary Smokovec
211 reviews
5.7 mi away
Grandhotel Praha
Grandhotel Praha
#1 of 9 in Vysoke Tatry
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Hotel Crocus
Hotel Crocus
#3 of 8 in Strbske Pleso
92 reviews
3.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Bellevue
Grand Hotel Bellevue
#2 of 9 in Vysoke Tatry
84 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hotel Lomnica
Hotel Lomnica
#1 of 6 in Tatranska Lomnica
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Hotel Sliezsky Dom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Hotel Sliezsky Dom

Property: Mountain Hotel Sliezsky Dom
Address: Tatranska Polianka 32 | Vysoké Tatry, Tatranska Polianka 062 01, Slovakia
Location: Slovakia > Presov Region > Tatranska Polianka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tatranska Polianka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mountain Hotel Sliezsky Dom 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The mountain hotel Sliezsky Dom, with its altitude of 1,670 m.a.s.l., is the highest situated mountain hotel in Slovakia. Thanks to its position, it is also a favourite starting point for not only trail trips and hikes, but also for the climbs to the highest peak of Slovakia named Gerlachovsky Stit or Gerlach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, HRS, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Mountain Hotel Sliezsky Dom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing