We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time at el pequeno”
Review of El Pequeno Suites

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chapala
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
El Pequeno Suites
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Chapala
Reviewed June 6, 2014

In the downtown of Chapala I found a most comfortable and restufl refuge when I stepped in El Pequeno Hotel. The owner, Lynn, had helful information throughout my stay. While most buy, in that she does all the upkeep alone, she always took time to answer questions and chat for a few minutes. Lynn and her husband have worked magic with this once-dilapidated grand old home. The building dates back to Chapala's grand days as a destination resort. This home was reclaimed and reborn under their vision. Seeing the 'Before' photos on the made even more grateful for my lovely room. It is the coziest room in the city.
It is my pleasure to add my appreciation and recommendation for the El Pequeno. This hotel is slowly building a strong and deservedly so, reputatation. The room are large and comfortable, and the service is excellent.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank bartmillar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
murray r, Owner at El Pequeno Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2014

Thank you for responding with such a nice review of our hotel. We try to help all our guests feel comfortable in our little piece of paradise, and welcome newcomers to the area. We are glad to answer questions and make recommendations for local services and attractions, again, making the visitor feel comfortable in their new surroundings, and pointing them in the right directions for their own discovery of what the lake and city have to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (55)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 55 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2014

This little hotel was perfect! So clean, comfy bed, beautiful Mexican decor, and a great location within walking distance to everything. It was so comforting to have Lynne and Murray there to answer my many questions - it was like staying with friends! I would have enjoyed a tv some evenings, but on the other hand it was a good opportunity to do a lot of reading. Perfect place for someone like myself travelling alone, I always felt safe. I feel i had a true "Mexican" experience in my month there.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank dallas k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
murray r, Owner at El Pequeno Suites, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2014

So nice to here that single women traveling alone can feel secure here in our little hotel. Being across from the police station helps a lot with this feeling. Hard to say if the most compliments we get are about the beds or the location, but thanks for mentioning them in a wonderful review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

This hotel was perfect for my two-month stay. It provided security, friends, walking distance to activities, a great view, and a healthy environment. As soon as you leave the hotel you are immersed in Mexican culture, with the local police on the corner, the market, gym, laundromat, esthetician, bars, and even the Oxxo serving Mexican goods in Spanish. My favourite meals were the local tacos and a flan for breakfast. This experience is so different from the resort lifestyle because it takes conscious effort to engage in a different culture. You never knew why the church bells were ringing, or what the loudspeakers were advertising. Then if you are feeling you need some gringo company there is the American Legion around the corner or the tennis/volleyball courts. Lynne and Murray looked after me as though I was one of the family, proving to be the safety net for me to explore and grow.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lynn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
murray r, Owner at El Pequeno Suites, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2014

Thanks for saying you felt like family here. We try to make all our guests feel welcome and provide the type of information we once were asking ourselves. It sounds like your two month stay with us was a joy for you and it was for us to host you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

My husband and I had a wonderful time in Ajijic and Chapala. The hotel is very safe as it is kept locked (guests have a key, of course) and is right across from the police station. It is conveniently located only a block from the lakefront and two blocks from the square. Murray and Lynne were so friendly and helpful and went out of their way to give us useful information about relocating to the area. The hotel is immaculate and very attractively decorated. You can't go wrong if you stay here!

Room Tip: They have two rooms downstairs and two on the second floor. We stayed on the first floor in the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
murray r, Owner at El Pequeno Suites, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2014

Thanks for the glowing review, so glad you had a good time here and we hope to see you again. Yes, one of the things guests say the most about is our location and the secure feeling here. IT FEELS LIKE HOME. is something we hear frequently.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

This tiny hotel has it all. El Pequeno is in a great location, clean, beautifully decorated and very comfortable. Our hosts were delightful and helpful. It's got a great location in a very safe neighborhood. The place to stay while visiting the area. Highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are comfy and large with very nice common kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank SDnative57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
murray r, Owner at El Pequeno Suites, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

Thank you for the great review and choosing our little hotel over all the others. It is an important decision as to where you want to spend your vacation time, glad you chose us. We enjoyed meeting you and the time you were here. Please come back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Small is indeed beautiful in this case. We liked the decor, the terrific bed, the quiet neighborhood and the location near to everything we wanted in Chapala. The ambiance was a lot like a B & B, although the brekkie was self-catered.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
murray r, Owner at El Pequeno Suites, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

Thank you for the review David,
Indeed we get a lot of compliments on the sleep quality here in our little hotel. The ease of getting to almost everything is another thing many guests find attractive about staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Very friendly and helpful hosts. Most comfortable bed with lots of hot water. Safe neighborhood, across the street from the police station. Easy walk to lake and to the market. Will definitely return.

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Wgh2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
murray r, Owner at El Pequeno Suites, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2014

Thank you for the great review and staying with us for your valuable vacation time. A lot of our guests rave about the beds in our little hotel, as well as the convenient location to almost everything. We also enjoy the endless supply of hot water here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chapala
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa San Francisco
2.6 mi away
SR Hotel & Suites
SR Hotel & Suites
#4 of 4 in Chapala
7 reviews
3.9 mi away
Real de Chapala
Real de Chapala
#1 of 7 in Ajijic
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Hotel Danza Del Sol
Hotel Danza Del Sol
#2 of 7 in Ajijic
345 reviews
23.2 mi away
Hotel Hacienda del Sol
4.6 mi away
Hotel Casa Blanca
Hotel Casa Blanca
#3 of 7 in Ajijic
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Pequeno Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Pequeno Suites

Address: Calle Zaragoza 313 | Corner of Zaragoza & Ninos Heroes, Chapala 45900, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Chapala
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Chapala
Price Range: $15 - $50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Pequeno Suites is a grand 75 year old Mexican home that has been completely modernized into a cute little guesthouse with four guest rooms, located in the most convenient part of Chapala. With only four guest rooms, a guest's kitchen, common areas, and the English speaking owners' apartment on the third floor it feels comfortable like home. As one guest put it in one of many amazing reviews of our property - "just like home only cleaner". We offer private rooms with adjoining bathrooms in a smoke free environment to the adult traveler. On the first floor there are two hotel rooms with one double bed each (max.occ.2) best suited for stays of less then two weeks. On the second floor next to the kitchen there are two suites, these rooms are large enough to have a sleeping area with one double bed (max.occ.2), and a sitting area, and a private refrigerator, they also include use of the shared kitchen, and rooftop patio(mirador). Together, the shared kitchen for our long term guest's exclusive use and the neighbouring comfortable rooms provides everything needed for a multi-month stay. Presenting an affordable solution to those who are considering retirement in the area and wish to stay long enough to become familiar with lakeside before investing here. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing