We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful but 'could be much better' !!”
Review of AYADA Maldives

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
AYADA Maldives
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Maguhdhuvaa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 16, 2012

how to start , where to start , good first or bad first,
lets start with bad
cause it was difficlut for us to choose a hotel staying here in Germany.

before me and my sister we made our mind to travel maldives with our parents we google a lot about place then we choosed this hotel called Ayada,as we were very impressed by the pictures posted on their website.
but then,was so nervous because of all its negative comment on trip advisor
we stayed there for almost a week.

i was shocked thrilled and amazed its heaven on earth
we were told ayada means moon island so true, look at the beautiful gardens
structure layouts evrythng is amazing.

the best part was asian restaurant
its the best place in island to try some asian flavor
there is a secret of this experience we were been invited by their cutely dimpled executive pastry chef and handsome turkey service manager
yummmmyyyy i still loved the food :-)

diving centre was the best experience we both sisters had , very well trained staff and experienced .


we went to this white restaurant name ocean house
sad... experience. they need some more experience chef there to manage it better, service was low during entire meal.

there is one loving place called zero degress restaurant because this
island is close to zero degree
very nice place only problem there is chef cant speak english
at nite we have disco to enjoy
Dj was great he is my friend in facebook now.

magu was over all good but sad to say its turkish food every sunday ,
monday,tuesday,wednesday,thursday,friday,saturday
did i vist maldives to eat turkish food???????????
the menu is always turkish food when ever i visited,it made me feel as if I'm in turkey..

and never ending thanks to sweet intelligent Cathy magu restaurant Philippine hostess,she always took care of my parents, afra server is also very kind,

New year was also good , management gave us free show of island dance and show we clicked lots of pictures

breakfast was having good selection amazing breads and breakfast items
missing was variety of cheese and olives
oh when it comes to breads please try evry bread you can as much as u can
you cannot get breads better then these
we are germans and we love breads
desserts were exceptional too , standards were par above the 3 star michelin restaurant.
Executive Pastry chef sanjit gupta is very interesting person , a very special thanks to him and his team.
he is sweet smart clever and he knows what he is doing.
he made me eat his dessert and i gain weight but I loved it so much :)
he made a special dessert for us every night ,which was very lovely of him. thank you.
all of them were outstanding
my mother just missed to ask baked yoghurt recipe
try his baked yoghurt

lets come to room
clean neat
only problem is room boys are not well trained
they are friendly and very much ready to help us
over all it was great team
our room man wasim is a nice boy
he always took care of our rooms

by the way there is friendly doctor from abroad
he is nice
he gave me free advice to loose weight and it is working

overall i love this place and i say everyone to visit ayada maldives our moon
island.
thank you all and I will be back only for the yummy desserts. :))

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank VVV143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,625)
There are newer reviews for AYADA Maldives
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

389 - 395 of 1,625 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2012

We stayed 4 nights during the new years break and the resort's both beach villas and ocean villas are amazingly nice designed and decorated to comfort the guests in everyway.. All the villas gives the maximum privacy, so its very nice to hang out in your private area of the villa. The rooms have all kinds of luxury and the pools in the villas are very nice and clean, they actually cleaned them every day during our stay. The butlers and the staff are extremely kind and helpfull in any request. The food are amazing and the BIG POOL has great view during the day and night. Also awesome spa and other facilitiess.. We have a 13 month old baby and he also loved the beach and the pools, and the whole resort was child friendly besides the the great kids center. we could not get enough of our stay in ayada resorts and planning to go again on our next trip.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank yasum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Came here for a short vacation. First time in the Maldives, so we were really
excited. The villas are amazing. Take a look at the photos, and you’ll see why. It’s
a bit of a long way to get to from Male, though.

The resort opened a few months ago, so there are a lot of things still missing. I
don’t know why they opened so early.

Where to begin?

Dived with the dive centre. The dive staff were great. It was nice that they had
a multi-lingual staff. The staff spoke Korean, English, Turkish (?), and French.
There might have been a Maldivian staff member too. Not too sure. Very friendly,
professional, and accommodating.

There was one thing though. The tanks. Our tank was never full. Heard from
other divers that their tanks were also never full. Not sure who fills the tanks, but
customers are paying for a lot of money. The least they could do is give us a full
200 bar tank.

The instructor tried to change it to full tank, but we said it was okay. We didn’t
want to cause more work. Next time, why not avoid that by filling the tanks
completely in the first place?

But other than that, the dive centre was the only really good part about the trip.

Next is the food. Ayada claims that they are 5 star plus. We certainly paid 5 star
plus worth of money to stay here at the end of the year. The food at the main
restaurant is below par. I’ve had better food at 3 star resorts.

The salad and grill station are nice. The dessert is okay. But their fruit selection
was laughable. One night all they had was apples. Apples, apples, and more
apples. I love apples. But this is a tropical island. Where are the pineapples the
mangos, papayas, dragon fruits? Maybe even some coconut would be nice.
Great selection of bread though!

Another thing I NEED to mention is the water pumps don’t work. We were
without water for a good day. What kind of operation doesn’t provide fresh
running water to their guests? Plus, there was no communication or apologies
from the management staff. The least they could do is inform the guests that
the water is broken, apologize, and give us an estimate time as to when it will
be fixed. It was a very frustrating game…not being able to use the bathroom for
fear that there might not be any water to flush the toilet. What is this? A five star
resort? More like a house of torture.

Next was the main entrance. I think the island only has one dock. One dock for
everything.For receiving guests, receiving and sending cargo, and sending out
diving.There should be an additional dock for receiving goods. It’s hectic and

confusing. I felt crowded on that dock with all the workers trying to unload
things.

They also spray this horrible fog pesticide almost everyday. They say it’s for
mosquito, but it smells like gas. Can’t be good for the guests. Maybe spray it less
often, or use some other method? Didn’t come to the resort to develop asthma.

New Years Eve. Decoration was below par. I think my three year old niece
could do a better job at decorating the place. I’ve been to other resorts in the
Maldives during Christmas and New Years. This is the only place that didn’t have
decorations. And what they did have up was pathetic. Tacky, cheap balloons. The
bar was empty for most of the night. When it did pack up, some of the Turkish
staff were extremely unprofessional and behaved inappropriately. And so were
some of the Turkish guests. Hitting on all the women – staff and guests. This isn’t
ClubMed. It’s not a night club. It’s 5 star resort. And the staff should act like it.

Overall, Ayada is a work in progress. I heard from the other guests that the
company is Turkish owned, and is an architecture, and not a hospitality company
And that this is their first resort. Seems like they don’t really know what they’re
doing.

There was one family, from Spain or Italy, I think that went to a nearby resort
everyday because they weren’t happy here. It’s disheartening when you see
other guests leaving this resort for another. I think I should’ve done the same.

Would I recommend Ayada? Absolutely not.The only redeemable quality was
the few Maldivian staff who were very friendly and helpful and the dive centre
and watersports. Consider yourself warned. If it’s bad food, no water, staff who
can’t speak English, that you’re looking for, Ayada is the choice for you. But if that
isn’t your cup of tea, I’d look into going to another atoll or at least another resort
within the atoll.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank WP965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2011

We just returned from our 4 night stay at Ayada and we were there 3 weeks after their opening. Overall I would sum up the experience of our stay as a resort with lots of potential to be a great resort, but fell short of our expectations in many areas. We have stayed at a few other resorts in Maldives and compared to other places, Ayada is well behind the curveball.

We arrived late night in Male and we were met by the Ayada staff at the arrival and helped with our check in for the domestic flight and made sure we were looked after until the departure gate. Upon arrival at the domestic airport, again we were met by the staff, helped with our baggage’s and whisked away to the boat that was waiting and the one hour boat ride went smooth. The transfer arrangements was arranged and looked after nicely by the staff.

When we arrived we were met by our butler and went through the check-in procedure at the reception. It was 2am and would have been nice if we were taken to the villa directly and offered in villa check-in. it took about 20 minutes at the reception going through check-in and all we wanted to do was to head to the villa.

We stayed at the water villa and it is done very nicely. Nice and spacious with good Turkish theme interiors and plunge pool. We noticed on the first day that the water in the plunge pool was quiet dirty and they never cleaned it throughout our entire stay. Needless to say we never got in that plunge pool throughout our stay.

Service is where they let us down big time. We bumped into our butler a few times and that was the only time we saw him and the one thing we asked him to arrange, to arrange an in-villa breakfast for one day and he forgot to do that and we had to call in-villa dining in the morning to place the order for the breakfast. The room boy service was mostly fine except on one occasion where they forgot to leave extra toilet paper. We thought it was a small mistake and called the reception around 9PM to bring in a roll of toilet paper, no one brought it. We woke up next day and called the reception again around 8am to send it with someone quickly and half hour went by and no one brought it. My wife lost her patience and called the reception again and told them that this is the worst service we have seen anywhere and then finally in another 15 mins we finally received it. We quite frankly were speechless by that kind of service in a place where we were paying $1K plus per night. Being a relatively new resort, we understand there are gonna be some hiccups but we felt very disappointed. There were no beach bags in the villa, we had to carry our stuff in a plastic bag we brought with us. This is probably gotta be the only resort we have stayed where they don’t have a guest beach bag. We didn’t see the in-villa dining menu in our villa and we rang the in-villa dining to ask for one and we never received it for our entire stay.

Food was another major let down for us. We had the half board package and both breakfast and dinner buffet was served at Magu restaurant. Breakfast buffet spread was very limited and I have seen better buffet spread in a four star business hotel. Dinner buffet spread was on the same standard with limited options and the quality of the food wasn’t that good. Overall a huge let down for us compared to the other resorts we have stayed in Maldives.

The one aspect we were really satisfied was with the dive shop. It was run by a very helpful and professional team of people and we had a great time doing snorkeling/diving. We did a few dives and went on a few snorkeling trips and the whole team was very helpful, courteous and a great bunch of people. The corals around the resort was some of the best we have seen in Maldives and there are some really good spots to dive in around the resort. Big kudos to the whole dive school team.

Overall our stay in Ayadha could have been great, but ended up being a very normal and disappointing stay.

Room Tip: Water Villa's further down the jetty.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
34  Thank global_traveller112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 4 days ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Se ficarem em bangalôs com vista para o nascer do sol, peçam o 520 (o último, mais privativo por som...
  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank vfilg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed 5 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maguhdhuvaa
18.9 mi away
Outrigger Konotta Maldives Resort
Outrigger Konotta Maldives Resor...
#3 of 3 in South Huvadhoo (Gaafu Dhaalu) Atoll
138 reviews
17.2 mi away
Park Hyatt Maldives Hadahaa
Park Hyatt Maldives Hadahaa
#1 of 1 in Hadahaa Island
698 reviews
25.6 mi away
Amari Havodda Maldives
Amari Havodda Maldives
#2 of 3 in South Huvadhoo (Gaafu Dhaalu) Atoll
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 mi away
Robinson Club Maldives
Robinson Club Maldives
#1 of 1 in Villingili
321 reviews
Show Prices

Been to AYADA Maldives? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AYADA Maldives

Address: Magudhuvaa Island, Gaafu Dhaalu Atoll, 20050
Phone Number:
Location: Maldives > South Huvadhoo (Gaafu Dhaalu) Atoll > Maguhdhuvaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Maguhdhuvaa
Price Range: $476 - $1,745 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — AYADA Maldives 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted the 'Leading Water Villa Resort' in the world at the 2014 World Travel Awards, Ayada Maldives is a luxury private island resort offering a truly luxurious retreat with a genuine Maldivian style. Set in the relatively unexplored Gaafu Dhaalu Atoll in the south of the country - just a few kilometres from the equator - the island offers 122 spacious villas and suites, with private pools, butler and thoughtful five-star detailing. Traditional thatched-roof water-villas stand on stilts over the resort's peaceful lagoon, while beach villas offer absolute privacy amid tropical greenery alongside powder-soft palm-lined white beaches. Food lovers can explore the six restaurants and bars, while those seeking complete relaxation will find their haven in the large spa set in beautiful tropical gardens which boasts a Turkish Hammam as well as a Vichy Shower and eight private treatment villas. The resort is noted for its gardens and tropical greenery and is ringed by a pristine coral reef where dolphins are frequent visitors. The active can explore the area on a host of excursions that include visits to the equator, local villages and fishing trips, while at the resort they can play tennis or badminton, take up watersports, learn yoga or simply hit the 24-hour gym. Outstanding diving and snorkeling opportunities surround the island on reefs that have barely been visited by humans while some of the country's best surfing breaks are just a quick speedboat journey away. Weddings take place just before sunset in the private wedding chapel set in a tree-lined garden or on the beach -a gazebo draped with flowing material. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TravelClick, Agoda, TravelUp, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Prestigia, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your AYADA Maldives reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayada Maldives Hotel Maguhdhuvaa
AYADA Maldives Maguhdhuvaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing