We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hillcrest Mountain View Retreat
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Econo Lodge Murwillumbah(Murwillumbah)(Great Value!)
$86
$83
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$223
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Bay of Palms Resort(Elanora)(Great Value!)
$103
$96
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Best Western Kennedy Drive Airport Motel(Tweed Heads)(Great Value!)
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$68
$66
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Town Palms Motel(Murwillumbah)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (189)
Filter reviews
188 results
Traveler rating
176
11
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
176
11
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bwonderful hostsmt warningfree range eggsself contained cottagedouble spagiving guestsrelaxing weekendpaul craigfridge was stockedtotal relaxationscrumptious breakfastday bedpeace and quietsuperb stayamazing weekendhomemade jams
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
144 - 149 of 188 reviews
Reviewed January 22, 2014

My partner and I did a last minute booking for my birthday(a card and chocolates greeted me in our room) for 2 nights that was over new years, What a lovely hidden gem!...A beautiful spot made even more pleasant by tracy and clive who welcomed us into their home and made us feel special, so many little things that make a stay special and very helpful with where to go and things to see locally....loved clives breakfast and his home made jams could easily earn him another income, will be heading back before the year ends.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nett64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HillcrestRetreat, Owner at Hillcrest Mountain View Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Glad you enjoyed your birthday break with us ... don't forget for your return visits to book directly with us for the best rates and availability not always shown on booking engines :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Big Skies, and Tranquility.
Tracey just adds that 'special touch', from welcome to departure, it is all about 'service'.
Clive adds his extensive knowledge of the area, giving guests his first hand knowledge and suggestions for the intrepid tourist,
but you can just 'hang out' around the pool and take int he exceptional scenery,
Did I mention how peaceful it is?
Clive is also the 'Breakfast chef', do you like Eggs ? , he'll do them just they way you like them, (fresh from their own hens), Bacon , mmmmm Crispy, Fresh fruit, (and even Coco Pops).

If you are looking for that peaceful, quiet moment in your life , think Hillcrest. Sure its a few miles from somewhere , but isn't that what you need?

Room Tip: The Cottage
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TinDingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HillcrestRetreat, Owner at Hillcrest Mountain View Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Glad you enjoyed your stay with us recently .. yes Hillcrest is a very special and peaceful place which is why we love it here - it's great to feel like you're right out in the country-side, but as it's only an easy 12 minute drive from the centre of Murwillumbah and centrally located to a host of things to see and do, we really feel like we have the best of both worlds :)

Don't forget, for the very best rates and availability book directly with us at Hillcrest Retreat :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

My wife and I have just recently spent a wonderful weekend in the private cottage at Hillcrest Mountain View Retreat. The cottage is very spacious and well appointed. It also has it's own private garden, verandah and a superb couples spa. After a hectic overseas holiday we needed some real peace and quiet to wind down and ease back into the 9 to 5. We found it here. We both loved the country atmosphere and welcomed being left to ourselves.

It was easy to arrange a deep tissue massage with "Happy Hearts" and even a private art class for several hours with Barbara Suttie and my wife enjoyed both so much. Clive and Tracy were brilliant hosts. Special thanks to Tracy for the Sunday paper too, was great to read while Rita had her art lesson. We brought our own breakfast hamper but you can order one if needed. A few excellent BBQ breakfasts later and we felt ready to tackle the city again.

We had dinner one night at Nam Yeng Vietnamese & Thai in Murwillumbah which was very reasonably priced for such amazing food (thanks to Clive for that tip).

We tend to explore different places to stay and eat but it's safe to say we'll return here one day soon. A sincere thank you.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glen-and-Rita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HillcrestRetreat, Owner at Hillcrest Mountain View Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2013

So pleased that you enjoyed your short stay in our little Cottage and Barb will be delighted that Rita enjoyed her art class :) We look forward to welcoming you back to Hillcrest one day .. there will definitely be a bottle of bubbly in the fridge to say a big "thank you" for leaving the cottage so beautifully clean and tidy too!

Don't forget to book directly with us for best rates and availability not always shown on booking engines.

Have a lovely and safe Christmas too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

We stayed at the Hillcrest for two nights and would have enjoyed to stay longer. The house is located on a hill, surrounded by paddocks in the vicinity of Border Range and Lamington National Parks. Very quiet and tranquil. Our room was lovely, the bathroom had a comfy bathtub. Everything was squeaky clean. Clive and Tracy were great hosts and very knowledgeable about the area. Clive served us a sumptuous and delicious breakfast. We can absolutely recommend Hillcrest.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelbugHamburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HillcrestRetreat, Owner at Hillcrest Mountain View Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2013

Thank you for your lovely comments .. so glad you enjoyed your short visit to our wonderful part of the world :) Hope to welcome you back to Hillcrest in the not too distant future - Don't forget that we offer the best "direct booking " rates on our own website and that frequently on-line booking agencies show us as being full when we do in fact have vacancies (because we don't list with them)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

We wanted privacy in a beautiful setting, in a fully self-contained cabin, and this was exactly what we got. My partner and I do not get to see each other much, and we felt like just hanging out, cooking some gourmet delights with some awesome wine and views. The local town of Murwillumbah fully catered for our grocery needs, and Clive and Tracy fully catered for everything else. We were left alone, with some fresh home made bread and fresh eggs! Yum. Fulfilled a much needed romantic space.
Thank you Clive and Tracy

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shirley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HillcrestRetreat, Owner at Hillcrest Mountain View Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Delighted that you enjoyed your short break in our Cottage ... remember to check our excellent standby specials on our own website for your return visits :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews