We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing location, unamazing service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Crystal Creek Rainforest Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
brisbane
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing location, unamazing service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2009

Blown away on the journey through the hills of Northern New South Wales, we looked forward to a relaxing 4 days away from the rat race. Crystal Creek is an incredible location, the bushwalks, facilities and grounds have been meticulously designed. What we got from the staff was a lesson in poor service. When you are paying $500 plus per night for accomodation, its a disappointment to get motel service. With no resturant, meals are provided directly to your room. When our breakfast was not delivered the first time, we didn't mind. The second time it was forgotten we enquired and got a condescending & aggressive response. The staff then sealed their ignorance by holding a loud party in their quarters all night for visiting friends.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank retter21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crystalcreekrr, General Manager at Crystal Creek Rainforest Retreat, responded to this review, November 10, 2010
Dear retter21,

We are very sorry that we did not provide the service that we should have and this affected your stay. There is no excuse for poor service and like you we find it unacceptable. The staff member involved has not worked here for a long time now. I would say that 99.9% of our guests are very happy with their stay at the retreat. If you would like to contact me I will be happy to offer you a complimentary night, with excellent service.

Mark van Renen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    16
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
146
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2009

This is a beautiful get away from it all retreat. We had a tree top bungalow with amazing views down to the creek from our bed.

The bungalows were not the newest nor necessarily the most boutique or flashy of any we have stayed but they were so nicely put together and in such a beautiful location you get over it.

The bed was super comfy. The jacuzzi bath with a view of the forest was amazing.

It is self catering-ish. The hampers are excellent and really well sized but its worth taking extra snacks, drinks and bits up from the supermarket as you won't want to leave.

Staff are super friendly and did all our washing for us over night.

We stayed 2 nights and for us this was about right - I think 3 nights and we might have started to get fed up with the solitude.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HilaryLondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
65 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2009

Reception is closed overnight, no roomservice, only self-catering breakfast.. if you love the do-it-yourself way these are really beautiful lodges in the jungle. In our case it was a surprise, but we manage to live 3 days in our own trash on the room :-)

There are some easy, well marked walks through the forest. The swimming holes with hammocks above are a fun idea.

There is a full TV-set on the room, but wireless internet is only available at the reception area.

  • Liked — the jungle feeling
  • Disliked — no services at all
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ACPACPACP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central West NSW
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2008

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon in 07. We could not fault a thing, it was heaven on earth, just beauitful and amazing, it blew us away.

The bungalows are very comfortable for two people and have everything you will ever need. The surround sound system was great, especially when your in the spa. Im a very conservative
person, and i didnt feel like i was on display at all.

The staff where just wonderful and helpful. Your want to get away from it all and just relax this is the place for you.

The overwater hammocks are great, and the walking tracks are great too.

Food hampers where wonderful and pay the extra money and get the seafood platter its iwll last you for two days and its the best prawns i've ever had!! no joke!!
It was cleaned everyday and i just cant complain about ANYTHING!!!

  • Liked — Everything, the atmosphere, the rain, the whole thing, spa, bungalow
  • Disliked — nothing, i loved everything
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank allyfuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aussietraveller00
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2008

We stayed here in late Jan 2008 early Feb 2008. The place is very much as you would expect for this part of the world - peaceful, out of the way and a spot to just sit back and relax and let the world float by for a few days.

As part of the deal we had all dinners included and a lunch on a couple of days - these are packed hampers, so if you want to take a long walk off into the bush you have a ready made lunch with all the trimmings - blanket, plates, knives, forks, glasses etc.

The food was AMAZING!!! I cant fault a single thing about the food, so if you are thinking about taking a car full of food and pop out to the shops then think again, the money is well worth the spend, and it comes prepared, cooked and ready for you to heat for 5 mins and then sit back and eat.

The 'cabins' are very well equipt with a nice size and latest model TV and DVD - you can get some pretty good DVDs from the office, and they are free, and there isnt a bad music selection either.

The in 'cabin' spa and shower are to die for - great water preasure, nice open wet room a lovely sunken spa to soak away in while over-looking the forest.

All-in-all its a great place to stay and unwind for a few days. Not to mention the drive around the country side is some of the best anywhere in the world, so book a couple of nights, forget about the world and enjoy some peace and quiet.

  • Liked — Location, food, peace & quiet
  • Disliked — cant think of anything
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aussietraveller00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2008

I have stayed here with my husband several times now and I would highly recommend it. The staff are very friendly and helpful. They even organised restaurant reservations for us. The reception has CDs and DVDs that guests can borrow which is a nice touch.

We stayed in a creekside spa bungalow. It was very nicely furnished and well maintained. We had a lovely relaxing time.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuseBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upper Crystal Creek
16.9 mi away
Santai Retreat
Santai Retreat
#1 of 5 in Kingscliff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
10.1 mi away
O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa
3.1 mi away
Hillcrest Mountain View Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Mouses House Rainforest Retreat
7.7 mi away
Econo Lodge Murwillumbah
Econo Lodge Murwillumbah
#1 of 2 in Murwillumbah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
7.9 mi away
Binna Burra Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal Creek Rainforest Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Creek Rainforest Retreat

Property: Crystal Creek Rainforest Retreat
Address: 201 Booka Rd, Upper Crystal Creek, New South Wales 2484, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Upper Crystal Creek
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Upper Crystal Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Crystal Creek Rainforest Retreat 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury romantic getaway on the far north coast of NSW Australia, between Byron Bay and the Gold Coast hinterland. Private luxury cabin, bungalow & lodge accommodation with large sunken double spas, fireplaces and heated plunge pools. All individually set on 250 acres of genuine old growth rainforest with World Heritage National Park on three sides, assuring true peace and privacy. 8 Kms of rainforest walks, 400 year old trees, stunning creek & rock pools. Full gourmet dining menu, packages with breakfast and all meals available. Free Wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Crystal Creek Rainforest Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crystal Creek Rainforest Retreat Hotel Upper Crystal Creek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing