We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“this place is amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Crystal Creek Rainforest Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 10, 2014

If you want a place to unwind and relax with your special someone. . . this is it!
We spent 5 wonderful nights here celebrating 10 amazing years as husband and wife (away from 4 lively children!)
We did all the walks, hiked Mt.Warning (a highlight), visited byron bay and did a beautiful scenic drive. The bungalow exceeded our expectations in the way of privacy, peace and quiet.
Very clean and well maintained.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank esther Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (188)
There are newer reviews for Crystal Creek Rainforest Retreat
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 189 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2014

We visited CCRR for our 20th anniversary..... Is was simply perfect. Beautiful, isolated and private. CCRR is on and old banana farm under the shadow of the Springbrook plateau. The owners are doing a fantastic job in regenerating native rainforest. There are few places where you can walk in world heritage quality Forest and have the track to yourself... This is one of them. After that activity, you return to pure luxury. Everything was provided. The staff were helpful, friendly and when you wanted, not there.

Thanks to one and all.

Room Tip: We were in the rainforest canopy bungalows... They are totally private and worth it.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScottMob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

I am staying with my boyfriend this Friday to Sunday for our anniversary. We are both really looking forward to it! So far in making the booking, organising our stay and giving us information the staff have been lovely and very helpful.

Hopefully it will be an amazing stay for our special occasion. I will come back after and leave a detailed review on how everything was!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank AA_Gynther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Fantastic location. We booked into Kamala, a canopy bungalow, for our honeymoon. Kamala was secluded but with amazing views.

The bed, bathroom and massages arranged by the resort were all superb.

The cottage was well equipped with the exception of a dishwasher; even though we didn't generate a lot of washing up, we would expect this to be included for this type, quality and price accommodation.

Room Tip: The creek side bungalows looked a bit dark. Kamala was fantastic.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

We just stayed here at one of the spa cabins and it was absolutely gorgeous. The cabin is all glass at the back and side so you feel completely part of the rain forest which is beautiful. It is a completely tranquil setting. The spa bathroom is a wonderful experience. We only stayed one night but will definitely be back!

Room Tip: We stayed in Quandong cabin
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful romantic rainforest retreat great for couples looking to get away and relax. Great games room and plenty of choices for movie nights!

I booked our accommodation via the link from the Bluesfest website so I was under the impression that it would be close enough to the festival not a good hours drive and even longer each way with the traffic & fog, so not great to be advertising five star bluesfest acc when they have nothing to do with the festival and no festival transport that is available in that area. We stayed in the creek side cabins for 6 nights at $500 I think they are extremely over priced for what they are small bedroom, kitchen & lounge cabin. We couldn't park our car near the cabin like the other cabins you see driving up to the retreat it's a good 80m walk on uneven ground to cart your luggage and shopping we had a buggy to take our luggage to the room but not on departure because we needed to check out at 8am to make our flight and no one answered the door it took numerous times ringing the bell to get someone to come out after everything was already in the car.
The shower did leak a lot of water & the spa needed the aircon on to see out the window which I didn't like having the aircon blowing on you in the spa to stop the windows fogging. There is poor lighting in the bedroom we also had a few 8 legged friends in the bedroom mind you it was a great bed to sleep in. I would have liked to do some washing but there is no laundry facilities in the cabin or at the retreat and the nearest town is 25mins away.

I really liked how the cleaners came in the afternoon and don't really disturbed your stay. On our first night we went for a night walk which was magical to see the glow worms, they have a few walking tracks. The cabins are very private and peaceful with the sounds of the rainforest at your backdoor.




Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Krystle O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crystalcreekrr, General Manager at Crystal Creek Rainforest Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Dear Crystle O,

We are very sorry that you did not enjoy all the aspects of your stay with us. Just to clarify we do not advertise on the Bluesfest web site, your booking came to us via a third party; the Byron Bay Accomm web site. We are not in the Byron shire, we have very high occupancy all year round and do not associate ourselves with the Bluesfest.

That said, we had a few other couples staying at the retreat who attended the Bluesfest; they had made themselves aware of our location and were very happy with their stay. You stayed in our Creekside Spa Cabins and paid $395 per night, (not $500 per night). The Creekside Spa Cabins have an internal size of over 80 m squared plus a covered deck, they are a complete self-contained private cabin, individually placed within the rainforest and at $395 we consider them fair value for money.

Guests can only park at two out of seven cabins and bungalows at the retreat and most of our guests appreciate the peace and quiet of not having cars driving around all over the retreat. Most of our guests park their cars on arrival and do not get back into them until they depart, making the most of their time on this amazing rainforest property; giving them great value for their holiday. We have a sign in reception clearly stating that reception hours are 9 am to 7 pm and advising guests that if they are leaving early to please come to the reception, the night prior to departure, to let us know, settle your account and for us to take the bulk of your luggage to your car, with the buggy. I was in the shower when you rang the bell at 8 am, so it did take me a few minutes to get down to reception. Unfortunately we are in a rainforest and the high humidity does cause the windows to fog up but without the high humidity we would not be a rainforest.

I note that you did enjoy some aspects of your stay and it is a pity that we were not what you were looking for during your Bluesfest holiday.

With very best wishes

Mark van Renen
General Manager
Crystal Creek Rainforest Retreat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Beautiful natural surroundings, staying in luxurious bungalows. Stunning crystal clear rockpools and rainforest trekking for all (easy to the not for the faint hearted)! Staff were lovely. We couldn't ask for anything more, except to stay longer! ! :)

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosestar_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upper Crystal Creek
12.8 mi away
ecOasis Resorts
ecOasis Resorts
#1 of 1 in Uki
89 reviews
19.0 mi away
Peppers Soul
Peppers Soul
#1 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,229 reviews
10.1 mi away
O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Binna Burra Mountain Lodge
2.2 mi away
The Mouses House Rainforest Retreat
21.1 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal Creek Rainforest Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Creek Rainforest Retreat

Address: 201 Booka Rd, Upper Crystal Creek, New South Wales 2484, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Upper Crystal Creek
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Upper Crystal Creek
Price Range: $357 - $417 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Crystal Creek Rainforest Retreat 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury romantic getaway on the far north coast of NSW Australia, between Byron Bay and the Gold Coast hinterland. Private luxury cabin, bungalow & lodge accommodation with large sunken double spas, fireplaces and heated plunge pools. All individually set on 250 acres of genuine old growth rainforest with World Heritage National Park on three sides, assuring true peace and privacy. 8 Kms of rainforest walks, 400 year old trees, stunning creek & rock pools. Full gourmet dining menu, packages with breakfast and all meals available. Free Wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Crystal Creek Rainforest Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crystal Creek Rainforest Retreat Hotel Upper Crystal Creek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing