We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect retreat - serene”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Crystal Creek Rainforest Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Perfect retreat - serene”
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

This is a great place to relax, unwind and reconnect with your partner. We stayed at one of the creek side spa cabins for seven nights, and we were lucky enough to have almost perfect weather the whole time (and full moon smack bang in the middle of our visit). That meant we went to sleep to the sound of the crek and looking at the moonlight through the trees, and woken up to the songs of the whip birds and currawongs.

Breakfasts were delivered every second afternoon, ensuring we were left alone most of the time.

We chose to purchase dinners for two nights - although delicious we didn't think these were value for money. The breakfasts on the other hand were great (well, except the crumpets one).

The cabin was very well appointed - sound system, very comfy king bed, two-person spa, full kitchen, large hd tv and a great DVD collection available in the games room.

Every afternoon found us on the deck on the day beds overlooking the rainforest, with a champagne in our hands :-)

The staff were extremely friendly helpful and weren't imposing - we only saw them when we sought them out, when they delivered breakfasts and for the cleaning (full refresh on 2nd and 5th days).

There are numerous bush walks (and hammocks over the creek) - and on all our walks we didn't see another guest although over half the cabins seemed to be in use throughout put visit.

Overall a great relaxing place.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OzRichie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    16
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
160
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

What a perfect location. We were given a warm welcome and were shown around our bungalow including a personal guide as to how to work the air conditioners, the log fire and the dvd/sound system (which was very 21st century). Not only robes to lounge around in but luxurious fluffy robes! Complimentary chocolates, a bottle of wine and some free milk (we'd forgotten ours) made us feel extra special. The rainforest view from the spa bath was lovely (especially by candle-light) as was the view from the bedroom/deck. Huge number of blue ray and dvds to play and beautiful walks on location led to a weekend of sleep, relaxation, walking, reading and dvd watching. What a lovely way to relax in each other's company.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna1604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

My husband and I were very lucky to stay in Numinbah Lodge (Mountain Veiw Lodge) for three nights. It was definitely paradise in the rainforest!
The resort is in a true, virgin rainforest location and extremely private. If your looking for a resort out of the way, Crystal Creek is perfect. I've stayed in a few properties that state they are private but you can see other houses in the distance or they are located on small acreage - howerver Crystal Creek is truly remote!
The lodge was open plan and when I walked in, it took my breath away! One side of the lodge is floor to ceiling windows looking out to the valley and the rainforest, the furnishings are homely and inviting and I loved that there were tea lights everywhere. It was quite romantic.
In addition, there was a good size kitchen, large deck, BBQ and the plunge pool!!
The resort offers meals (a set menu, brought to your lodge) but we cooked our own dinners as it is a little bit too far to drive into town for dinner. Plus sitting on the deck looking out was just amazing - the view is just stunning.
The pool is solar heated and Large enough to have a good swim around in. There was nothing better than resting of the wet edge looking out to the rainforest and watching the birds and the very friendly goanna.
We walked down to Crystal Creek - if you have seen the photos of the hammocks over the stream - then its exactly the same in real life!
The creekside cabins are along the stream and looking from the outside seemed very quait and private.
We had a massage booked through the resort. The massue came to the lodge and gave a very relaxing massage. We also did a bush walk and checked out the Games room which had stacks of DVds and plenty of information.
We will be back one day and we woulD highly recommend!

Room Tip: Mountain Lodges both have pools. Numinbah looks through the valley and is at the highest point of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PurpleZoe21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

As a retreat, this is perfect. We were left alone to the degree we wanted-we didn't want crowds, entertainment and noise you'd find at a resort. With a little pre-planning and self-catering was a breeze.
Luxurious lodge with all the mod-cons and the most amazing bath with an equally amazing view from it!
The staff we had contact with were helpful, friendly and polite.

Probably not the place for you if you're not content with your own company. The perfect place for you if you need a complete break from the world!
The walks, the trees, the stars and a very comfy mattress induced total rest and relaxation.
We'll be going back one day!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevrah140908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

The perfect place to stay for a romantic getaway. Soooo private. We stayed here in the luxury rainforest lodge for 2 nights and didn't want to leave. Everything was 10/10 from the bed to the bathroom and the full equiped kitchen. The heated pool was a lovely addition. Nice and clean. Worth every dollar we spent. Will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed 3 nights for a long weekend in "Booyong" - a rainforest canopy bungalow. It was wonderful. Spa bath overlooking the rainforest, log fire, barbeque outside on the deck, beautiful soft bath robes, slippers. We had the option of eating inside or out with 2 table & chair settings.
Waking up to whip birds calling, we didn't want to leave. It was very easy to forget you are only about an hour & a half from Brisbane.
We chose to bring our own breakfasts and ordered two lunches & two dinner hampers. We had brought food for the 3rd night, but we needn't have bothered - the two dinner hampers would have easily covered 3 nights for us. The quality of the food was very good.
Their website does warn about access to the property in that there are some creek crossings - even with the rain these were not an issue in the slightest for our typical sedan.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MegJofOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed at Tamarind and enjoyed every minute. The accommodation is very well appointed - King Size bed, plenty of room, well fitted out kitchen and spa and instructions on how to operate everything.
The food is delivered daily (dinner and breakfast) and is very easy to manage. I'm a bit of a microwave sceptic but the meals have been designed for easy heating, and the food could have been straight from a restaraunt kitchen. If anything, there was probably a little too much for us (we ended up with left over breakfasts) but better to be full than starving. Murwullimbah is only 15 minutes away, so you could eat in town, but then you have to drive home. We found eating in (even "cooking" ourselves) to be excellent and less stressful than waiting in a noisy restaraunt.
There is 3G coverage on site, and Digitial Free-to-air TV, but we found we just used the video library so we could "drop out".
I did the lookout walk and found it quite hard work - the path is not in great condition so I would recommend taking good boots, water and a walking staff. And taking your time (especially if it is warm). But then, had a dip in the creek after it and was well worth it.

Room Tip: If you're not a big eater, think about not having a meal supplied for breakfast, lunch and dinne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edmo1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upper Crystal Creek
19.0 mi away
Peppers Soul
Peppers Soul
#1 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,138 reviews
10.1 mi away
O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa
2.2 mi away
The Mouses House Rainforest Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Binna Burra Mountain Lodge
21.1 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast
3.1 mi away
Hillcrest Mountain View Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal Creek Rainforest Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Creek Rainforest Retreat

Property: Crystal Creek Rainforest Retreat
Address: 201 Booka Rd, Upper Crystal Creek, New South Wales 2484, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Upper Crystal Creek
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Upper Crystal Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Crystal Creek Rainforest Retreat 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury romantic getaway on the far north coast of NSW Australia, between Byron Bay and the Gold Coast hinterland. Private luxury cabin, bungalow & lodge accommodation with large sunken double spas, fireplaces and heated plunge pools. All individually set on 250 acres of genuine old growth rainforest with World Heritage National Park on three sides, assuring true peace and privacy. 8 Kms of rainforest walks, 400 year old trees, stunning creek & rock pools. Full gourmet dining menu, packages with breakfast and all meals available. Free Wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Crystal Creek Rainforest Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crystal Creek Rainforest Retreat Hotel Upper Crystal Creek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing