We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beaut Retreat is not a Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Crystal Creek Rainforest Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We recently had a couple of nights at the retreat. The quality of our accommodation was excellent. We stayed in one of the Glass Terrace bungalows looking straight out at the rain forest and Mt Springbrook. We felt enclosed by the rainforest, the birds and “forest critters”, in complete privacy but with ready access to Reception and a games room.

The bungalow has obviously been well used but it has been maintained scrupulously, it was very clean and exceptionally comfortable with a number of luxurious touches. The provision of tea, coffee, toiletries, etc was good quality and generous. We had one evening meal and two breakfasts which were delivered to the bungalow in the afternoon to be available for us to access whenever and however we chose. Again the quality was excellent and the quantities very generous.

The retreat makes much of their minimum intrusion into the environment. This means that the facilities such as roads and paths are very basic. The access road of approximately 1 km is a weathered gravel surface of pretty well one lane. On our departure we met an oncoming vehicle which, to my great relief, reversed some distance back down the hill to find a space to allow us to pass. Similarly, even getting safely out of our parking facility each time involved some challenge. We had not planned to undertake major walks and had chosen to pack normal day shoes and street casual clothing. We were ill equipped to extend our exploration of the site beyond very close locations around the creek and the orchard. Granted there had been some decent brief rain recently. Fortunately, it was not unpleasant to retreat to the pleasures of the bungalow to spend the time.

Provided potential visitors prepare for a beautiful stay at a retreat rather than a resort they should have a wonderful time.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank croosin001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (205)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 205 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2012

The proposal package was an absolute winner - took the bride to be on a "walk" in the rainforest and "stumbled" within 5 minutes across a table with champagne, chocolates, flowers etc in the rainforest under a massive old tree and by the creek surrounded by candles.

Whilst we were down there the staff put tealights all over the room so when you get back (hopefully after a "yes"!) just as the sun is setting the room looks superb.

Mind, it looks superb anyway - they leave one of those "Top Luxury Lodges in Australia" books on the coffee table and no wonder because they are in it!

Just go. Its fantastic. It certainly isn't cheap, but in international terms for the experience I think it is absolutely worth it.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Waddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

What a lovely place to stay. So peaceful and relaxing. Loved the heated floor in the bathroom what a luxury in winter. Views of the rainforest and the mountain were breath taking. Was really nice to stay in this rainforest wonderland only managed the rainforest walk as we were still getting over colds. What a lovely place to celebrate our 33rd anniversary. We will be back for a longer stay next time.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kajoba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

We stayed at the retreat enroute from Brisbane to home with high expectations having read about the retreat with admiration in previous years. We wer NOT disappointed ! Crystal creek delivered 'in spades' with quality accommodation, attention to detail and discreet service [if & when required].
We look forward to our next visit and to be able to stay even longer next time.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BowerBirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Great place, awesome service, pictures of the place warms the heart.

Room Tip: All cottages are designed to be private, get the bbq packs - watch out the bush turkeys will eat you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeyF1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

A wedding anniversary weekend in February was the reason for the trip and we couldn't have chosen better. This place is truly amazing. Whist not so far from where we live, it felt as though we were miles from anywhere. The hammocks suspended over the creek were so much fun and I could have lazed there all afternoon. We arranged to get a massage each as well, we are still talking about that, just wonderful. There is a small kitchen which allows you to get gourmet but there are BBQ packs available if you don't get time to pack an esky. The spa in your room and the gorgeous home made bath salts, the deck chair lounges on the verandah, the comfy couch, the peace and tranquility will have you wondering "how soon can we get back here?"

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank worldwanderer75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

This is not a resort, apart from cleaning, you look after yourself. You can order wonderful, generous, BBQ baskets for dinner & breakfast. Believe me, there was plenty for dinner and lunch the next day and 1 breakfast basket did us two mornings. Our cabin was elevated, secluded, private and fully self-contained,We had lovely private rain forest views from our balcony and from full length windows in the bedroom and Spa bathroom, very romantic with candles at lit at night.
You could immerse yourself in the forest with only the birds and wildlife for company.
The room was great, we really had a lovely restful time. If you want to watch a movie there is a big selection at the resort and a giant flat screen TV in the room.
Take a walk through the creek and around the property, its a good fairly hard walk so a walking pole is a good idea. There are leeches YUK!! Wear long socks ,high boots & spray with RID.
I did bring a few leechy companions home as I wore walking sandals, as I thought that was sensible as it was a walk crossing creeks, big mistake.
Apart from these unwanted friends its a lovely restful place, if someone isn't screaming about leeches between there toes!!
Definitely go for a walk at night, the glowworms, phosphorescent fungus and the magnificent stars are really worth the short walk down to the creek, at the resort.
We loved our romantic sojourn at the retreat and will definitely return.

Room Tip: we just asked for privacy & elevation
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upper Crystal Creek
12.8 mi away
ecOasis Resorts
ecOasis Resorts
#1 of 1 in Uki
108 reviews
15.1 mi away
Nirvana By The Sea
Nirvana By The Sea
#3 of 12 in Coolangatta
435 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hillcrest Mountain View Retreat
Hillcrest Mountain View Retreat
#1 of 1 in Upper Crystal Creek
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa
9.2 mi away
Amazing Wollumbin Palms Retreat at Mt Warning
2.2 mi away
The Mouses House Rainforest Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal Creek Rainforest Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Creek Rainforest Retreat

Address: 201 Booka Rd, Upper Crystal Creek, New South Wales 2484, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Upper Crystal Creek
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Upper Crystal Creek
Price Range: $353 - $451 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Crystal Creek Rainforest Retreat 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury romantic getaway on the far north coast of NSW Australia, between Byron Bay and the Gold Coast hinterland. Private luxury cabin, bungalow & lodge accommodation with large sunken double spas, fireplaces and heated plunge pools. All individually set on 250 acres of genuine old growth rainforest with World Heritage National Park on three sides, assuring true peace and privacy. 8 Kms of rainforest walks, 400 year old trees, stunning creek & rock pools. Full gourmet dining menu, packages with breakfast and all meals available. Free Wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Crystal Creek Rainforest Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crystal Creek Rainforest Retreat Hotel Upper Crystal Creek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing