We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secluded Rainforest Retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Crystal Creek Rainforest Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Sunshine coast
Level Contributor
101 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Secluded Rainforest Retreat”
Reviewed June 14, 2012

This is not a resort, apart from cleaning, you look after yourself. You can order wonderful, generous, BBQ baskets for dinner & breakfast. Believe me, there was plenty for dinner and lunch the next day and 1 breakfast basket did us two mornings. Our cabin was elevated, secluded, private and fully self-contained,We had lovely private rain forest views from our balcony and from full length windows in the bedroom and Spa bathroom, very romantic with candles at lit at night.
You could immerse yourself in the forest with only the birds and wildlife for company.
The room was great, we really had a lovely restful time. If you want to watch a movie there is a big selection at the resort and a giant flat screen TV in the room.
Take a walk through the creek and around the property, its a good fairly hard walk so a walking pole is a good idea. There are leeches YUK!! Wear long socks ,high boots & spray with RID.
I did bring a few leechy companions home as I wore walking sandals, as I thought that was sensible as it was a walk crossing creeks, big mistake.
Apart from these unwanted friends its a lovely restful place, if someone isn't screaming about leeches between there toes!!
Definitely go for a walk at night, the glowworms, phosphorescent fungus and the magnificent stars are really worth the short walk down to the creek, at the resort.
We loved our romantic sojourn at the retreat and will definitely return.

Room Tip: we just asked for privacy & elevation
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    16
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
150
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

we were treated to a couple of nights here by some friends as a wedding present and what a gift!! this place is luxury at its best. we had a huge glass retreat set in the forest. completely private and secluded. the walks are great, the wildlife is abundant, the birds are varied (take binoculars) the river is restful and the accommodation, well that was truly wonderful, from the glass walls which bi-fold open onto the large, well furnished deck. the two-way fireplace and the internally wired-for-sound audio-visual set-up. the outdoor shower and the underfloor heated bathroom. the extremely well kitted out kitchen and the complete relaxation of the place. if you can't shut down and chill out then this might not be the place for you. if you like to relax in the beautiful rainforests of northern NSW in romantic and very sexy accommodation with the feel of pure luxury, then stay here. i have no idea whet it cost as it was a gift, whatever it was, i loved it.. the games room and enormous dvd collection was pretty cool too.

Room Tip: they all looked pretty gorgeous to us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rogeryoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
172 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Perfection. What can I say? Every claim that the owners make on their website is met and more. We stayed in one of the new mountain view villas so had 100% privacy and seclusion as expected in a building that features such stunning design elements that we wanted to replicate it all in our home! Great bed, shower, toiletries, kitchen, champagne and chocolates on arrival.... The couches were perfect for lazing away on reading for hours and the huge LCD TV with great surround system and the massive DVD library made the evenings a joy catching up on all of the latest releases and old classics. There really is simply nothing that hasn't been thought of right down to the private plunge pool and retractable moon roof above the bed to watch the stars. The timber finishes are warm and timeless and the marble bathroom has to be seen to be believed. The rainforest on the property is great to hike in and of course, it's not too removed form Murwillumbah for a quick trip to town if required. But why would you remind yourself that the outside world exists when you're in paradise. While it's not cheap, I don't believe I have ever stayed in a better place and relaxed so much. If you have any desire to stay in a semi wilderness retreat for some absolute seclusion and peace and quiet, don't miss Crystal Creek!

Room Tip: The mountain lodges cost more, but if you want absolute seclusion it's the best option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bckpckrau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2012

After having CCRR bookmarked for that special occasion for a couple of years, I figured we needed to visit whilst expecting our first child, as who knows when we'd be able to squeeze in an adults-only holiday once baby arrives!

We booked the Tamarind Spa bungalow, which although by no means "cheap" was one of the cheaper accommodation options. Just prior to arriving, I worried it wouldn't be special enough and enquired about paying more to upgrade our room. An upgrade was not available for the dates we wanted due to the retreat already being booked out, but we needn't have worried - the tamarind spa room was just lovely, and met all our needs. My favourite thing about the bungalow is it sits right near the creek - waking up to the sound of the morning birds and the babbling of the creek below will stay with me forever. We also had a breakfast hamper each morning (I recommend the rhubarb and marscopone crumpet breakfast!) and dinner one night, all of which was delicious. The dessert cake with the dinner was a particular highlight (we had a chocolate cake which we warmed up and served with the accompaning raspberry coulis whilst watching a movie on the huge TV).

Although the retreat was booked out the time we were there, the layout of the retreat is very private so we hardly saw another guest. No phones, no internet, no people - it was bliss!

Service was polite but unobtrusive, exactly what you want for this kind of holiday. There was a small technical problem with our bungalow which staff took very seriously - I actually think taking the problem seriously says more about the quality of the accommodation than not having a problem at all, as I have stayed in so-called "five star" accommodation before and made to feel like a whinger when I have pointed out something I wasn't happy with - and sure enough it was solved the next day.

On leaving, I was already trying to calculate ways to return.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cyclechicMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2012

We got married here and took the Wedding Package that Crystal Creek offer. The staff set up a white clothed table scattered with rose petals, a vase of roses, rose petals on rainforest floor in shape of a heart and 12 pole candles/bamboo torches underneath an ancient tree beside a gushing creek in the rainforest. They supplied a bottle of champagne and glasses too, and even lit our glasshouse terrace with 100 candles.

It was so beautiful, like a dream, and far surpassed all our expectations. It was truly magical. We had our parents there to celebrate with us for the ceremony and lunch. They were in awe of the set-up. The staff were incredibly efficient, accommodating and did everything possible to make our ceremony and time at Crystal Creek absolutely perfect.

We stayed in Satinash which has the most amazing rainforest views and great bed and spa and couch. Actually, all of Satinash is great. Crystal Creek have gone the extra mile to make staying there utterly bliss.

This place is extremely well maintained and very professionally run. We were so impressed with everything. Very romantic and very luxurious. We cannot wait to go back. I cannot imagine a more romantic, special and beautiful place to get married. We are so happy we got married here.

Room Tip: Satinash has incredible rainforest views from the living areas, deck and bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank misstravel39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

We made a last minute decision for Christmas 2010to stay in Glass House Terrace. Travelled from Sydney by car and went to the resort. The experience started from the entrance itself. Its raining heavily and there lot of little creeks which we need to cross. On entrance of the resort we were mesmerised by the beauty of the rain forest. The hosts were amazing and they took us to our room via golf cart.
There are no words to describe how fantastic the Glass Terrace is.. Its full of glass and beautiful views. Everything inside consists of top quality items. The photos do not do enough justice of the resort. you have to experience it to see how good it is. The bed is fantastic. The spa is superb, you can lit the candles in the spa and there are lights outside the spa which can be switched on to enjoy the forest at night. Its the best place to stay and its completely secure and heaps of privacy. There is a full kitchen and BBQ as well.
Its raining completely for the two days we stayed there and we enjoyed every movement of it. My wife has to literally drag me to the car (or else I am not leaving that place). Please go and enjoy...

Room Tip: Glass Terrace is beautifull
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jampala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2012

I have stayed at Crystal creek twice with my partner now and the rooms are simply divine. The surroundings are beautiful, the dining offered is top shelf, it doesn't take you long to realise you have found a very special place for a romantic getaway.

We have stayed twice and on our most recent visit we decided to give the new Mountain view lodges a try (our first visit was spent at the ceder lodge). We had been watching the construction of the new lodges eagerly on the website and were very excited to be able to finally have a few days off to make the journey.

Our first visit, at ceder lodge, was during March a few years ago, and the experience was perfect. The heated plunge pool, the beautiful rainforest walks, extravagant rooms, it ticked every box. This was a lot to live up to but paying around $600 per night for the new lodges we were expecting the same and then some.

Unfortunately there are two major flaws in the new lodge we stayed at. The pool is solar heated (something we didn't notice on the website when booking - but evidently it is there) and so over the course of two nights/three days we spent 0 time using it (half the reason we booked the prestige room, of course without a pool we could have paid much less for one of the standard rooms). It was freezing the whole time. Sure there is an explanation for why it is solar powered, but it doesn't make it better when the weather is overcast/raining the whole time (which being a rainforest is pretty often I would imagine).

The second problem was the aircon made a constant static humming noise, something that might bother a bad sleeper like myself. We had to turn off the aircon at night, which evidently didn't really matter as the room stayed quite cool throughout the night, but might cause issues in summer.

All in all I am quite picky but at $600 a night I think I am allowed to be. At the end of the day we will certainly return because the place is still amazing, but I would recommend the ceder lodge over the new lodges if you like the idea of using your private pool. The mountain view lodges certainly do have the advantage of offering a beautiful landscape. If you love a scenic experience, do the strenuous walk to the lookout point, or head up to Springbrook mountain for a day and you will see views that blow your mind.

Room Tip: Ceder lodge is my pick!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nvanjole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upper Crystal Creek
16.9 mi away
Santai Retreat
Santai Retreat
#1 of 5 in Kingscliff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
10.1 mi away
O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa
3.1 mi away
Hillcrest Mountain View Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Mouses House Rainforest Retreat
7.7 mi away
Econo Lodge Murwillumbah
Econo Lodge Murwillumbah
#1 of 2 in Murwillumbah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
7.9 mi away
Binna Burra Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal Creek Rainforest Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Creek Rainforest Retreat

Property: Crystal Creek Rainforest Retreat
Address: 201 Booka Rd, Upper Crystal Creek, New South Wales 2484, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Upper Crystal Creek
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Upper Crystal Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Crystal Creek Rainforest Retreat 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury romantic getaway on the far north coast of NSW Australia, between Byron Bay and the Gold Coast hinterland. Private luxury cabin, bungalow & lodge accommodation with large sunken double spas, fireplaces and heated plunge pools. All individually set on 250 acres of genuine old growth rainforest with World Heritage National Park on three sides, assuring true peace and privacy. 8 Kms of rainforest walks, 400 year old trees, stunning creek & rock pools. Full gourmet dining menu, packages with breakfast and all meals available. Free Wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Crystal Creek Rainforest Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crystal Creek Rainforest Retreat Hotel Upper Crystal Creek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing