We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent food”

The Falls-view Dining Room
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Canadian
Restaurant details
Brampton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“excellent food”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Dinner was excellent! We ordered the antipasto platter for app., 10 oz. steak & salmon. We were served on time and was very pleased with the experience. There was also a great view of the falls from the dining area.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Shobana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    19
    9
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful but overpriced”
Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

We went to the Falls Inn for our Christmas dinner. It was around $25 - $30 a plate. The dinner was mediocre at best with regards to what was on the menu. But what really got us was the stuffing - it was burnt and instead of making a new batch, the chef just mixed it up to hide the black crust. The only appealing thing about the Falls Inn, besides the view - was the desserts.

Also - this is not a kid friendly restaurant.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ck765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fallsinnwf, Owner at The Falls-view Dining Room, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Hi ck765,

We want to thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are sorry you did not enjoy your visit. It seems from reading the facts in your review that you have been a bit unfair with a couple points. I would like to clear these up for others that read this review.

First off, The Falls Inn & Spa is kid and family friendly. We have and provide colouring books for children to help keep them entertained and our staff have at times retrieved toys from their own car if a child is restless waiting for a meal. The house policy is Children welcome, especially at Christmas. But we will suggest the lounge or early reservations for familys for the comfort of couples dining later in the evening (on nights other than Christmas). Children are expected to understand they are out for a special dinner and dress for that. Running, screaming etc. is not appropreate but I do not remember any issues at Christmas in that regard.

As for the price, I am not sure what you think is a proper price for Christmas at a fine country Inn on a waterfall. Even the local golf courses charge more than this for their weekly Sunday Brunch. And this was Christmas. We feel the price is a very good value all things considered.

Each year Meg and I bring our family and her Mother to the Christmas dinner. As we want to give as much of our staff the night off as we can to be with their family. Going to the dinner allows us to be with our family and be on the job. As all 6 of us ate the buffet and we both worked the evening, I am confused about the burnt stuffing you described. We did not eat burnt stuffing and we helped ourselves in line with all other guests. The chef did not inform us that he was informed of an issue with the stuffing and the servers did not bring this issue to our attention. The review indicates the stuffing was removed and poorly fixed. We were there all night and checked-out each guest personally. We did not witness this, we were not informed by our staff of this and we did not discuss this when any guest paid. I know this review was posted late May, but these issues are not forgot by the owners so I am not sure what would have happened? Again for others reading, here is the menu from our reservation calendar for the meal to compare value for yourself:

Assorted breads and spreads, Garden Salad, Caesar Salad, Coleslaw, Apple Fennel Salad, Greek Salad, Cheese and Cracker tray, Pickle Tray, Smoked salmon and Shrimp Tray, Mussels, Soup of the day, Turkey with stuffing, gravy and cranberries, Roast Beef with horseradish cream, Stuffed Pork Tenderloin with Apple Glaze, Mashed potatoes, Medley of fresh Veggies, Hot pasta Dish, Full Dessert Table - individual crème Brule as well as our flourless chocolate cake, chaffer of apple crisp, pumpkin pie as well as regular goodies.

Of course the facts of the review are oly so important. The important thing is you did not enjoy your visit and we are sorry to hear that. We wish we had discussed the situation with you the night of the event as we were there. We may have been able to satisfy your comments better at that time.

Best Regards,
Dwayne Hallman
Innkeeper,
The Falls Inn & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Real restaurant real eggs not powdered ones.”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

The owner Dwayne actually made the breakfast the first morning,
extra touches made it special.
Unfortunately I ended up ordering TWO breakfasts, which I had no problem taking care of.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank SeekADeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundalk, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great food, great service”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

The staff were very friendly and professional. Both our meals were very good. (steak, & Halibut) The view from the dining room is fantastic.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank tcass_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Amazing Food & Service”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

This is amazing food. Never a bad morsel and service and atmosphere the ultimate. All your desires will be provided.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank RedVixen1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Falls-view Dining Room also viewed

Meaford, Grey County
 

Been to The Falls-view Dining Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing